We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Atmosphere Horrible Service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Devon

Devon
11715 Sherri Lane, Kendall, Miami, FL 33183
305.275.0226
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Devon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #111 of 3,658 Restaurants in Miami
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 88th Street, 117th Avenue
Description: Devon Seafood + Steak offers the area’s freshest premium seafood, Prime steaks and an impressive wine selection. We work with quality fishmongers, water men, ranchers & artisan producers to create dishes that are excellent from the start, using fine ingredients that separate the good from the great. Enjoy seamless service in a classic, upscale atmosphere that sets it apart from other Kendall restaurants.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous Atmosphere Horrible Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Booked this restaurant for a party of 16. We had dined here previously and thought this would be a wonderful place to bring our friends. We were 8 couples. No problem with placing our orders and had asked for each couple to be given a separate check before orders were even placed. Took a long time to get our food. Food was okay, presentation was nice but that was it .Not as great as it was on the two previous occasions we had dined here. No one asked if we wanted coffee or dessert which surprised us. It took over an hour for us to get our 8 checks. We asked for the manager, who was not really nice or understanding, when he was first approached. He said all restaurants were like this, which is untrue. We dine with large groups once every two months at other restaurants and have never had a problem like this. The manager was not even able to resolve the check issues. All the had to do was ask each couple what they had ordered and then check it off against their master list. Which would have been an easier and faster way to solve the issue. We even noticed another couple that was seated after we had asked for our checks, and by the time we were given our checks they were eating dessert. This shows how slow they were. Obviously the manager and wait staff need additional training in handling large groups. None of us will ever dine here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    18
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“"Best South Miami Dade Restaurant"-News Times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Devon's is the best... Forget the rest.
South Miami-Dade restaurant bar has been set very high for all other Restaurants in thisSouth Miami Area. The Restaurant just recently appointed as new General Manager, Devon's Executive Chef, Scott Barrow. This restaurant offers the area's freshest premium seafood, an impressive wine selection, and Prime Steaks. Lets not forget sinful desserts. Their fine ingredients separate the good from the great. The restaurant until now was managed by Mr. Jason Snelson, who just received a well deserved promotion. Along with Mr. Snelson, Mr. Jeff Merritt, the Bar and Beverage Manager, and Assistant Manager Mr. Brandon Kaleck have done an spectacular job; to well deserve the News Times vote as the Best South Miami-Dade Restaurant. We can't get enough of Devon's every experience is like new. This time around we had the Ace Team of Carlos and Daniel on the Terrace as we came for the Fabulous Sunday Brunch 10:00 am -2:00 pm. Can't go wrong. All bottles of wine and Champagne $100.00 or less are all day at Devon's half price. The brunch selection is out of this world, and nothing like it in the South Miami-Dade area. The bathrooms are impeccable. Hospitality is the " Secret Ingredient" and with lots of helpful friendly faces and the freshest quality food, you can't go wrong. We are confident that our Chef and new General Manager Mr. Barrow will take us to bigger an better venues, due to his extensive experience. We have always found Devon as a home. We will be returning soon. Congratulations and good luck!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Happy Hour Delights!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stopped by at the advice of my "chef" daughter for a quick snack! Each person in our party ordered something different on the hour hour $6 menu.....absolutely marvelous! Dined outside on the deck enjoying the fountain springs. Best idea fora very tasty snack as you shop! Thanks Lady Jade!

No military discount though... ;(

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great place for drinks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We came to try out Devon's on a Friday and Saturday night at the Palms in Kendall. They offer complimentary valet parking, which is nice since parking is pretty hard to find on a Friday and Saturday night.
The inside has a modern feel to it. It is divided into the bar area on the left as you enter and the dining area on the right as well as seating outside that overlooks the lake.
On Friday night we were meeting up with friends for drinks. We did not have reservations, but found seating at a high top table by the bar, which was just what we needed. While we waited for our friends to arrive the waitress took our drink order. As soon as our friends arrived she came to take their order as well. She helped answer questions regarding the drink menu as well as desserts. We ended up getting an apple croustade, which was just what my sweet tooth needed. We had a great time and the service was very good.
Saturday night we came to have dinner with friends. We did make reservations this time and were seated within about five minutes of arriving. The waiter explained the specials for the night and answered our questions regarding the menu. The food itself was okay, but my husband and I were not that impressed. We ordered the lobster roll as an appetizer. It was okay. I ordered a steak entrée, but was not that thrilled with the taste. For the price, the portions and taste did not impress me.
Overall, I would say we would definitely come back to have drinks and dessert, but not sure about dining here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscania, Italy
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Food was VERY good. Service Excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We went to this place to ck it out since is a new addition to the area.
Modern decoration. Great and big wine list. Big. Nice. A little noicy since all the noices and voice carry all around the restaurant.
The place is big but a little bit too dark for our taste. It is difficult to read the menu so bring a small flashlight.
We were pleasantly surprise to see that they were participating of Miami Spice. Portions were big and the food was very good.
The biscuits they serve are to dye for. Warm and straight from the oven. They gave us too little butter.
The lobster bisque was delicious. The pork chop was in the Miami Spice but not on the regular menu. It was big, juicy, tasty. Very good. The scallops and risotto were delicious.
Our server was very nice, service-oriented, well trained. The hostesses did not welcome us or say goodbye at the end,simply ignored us.
It is a good place to go and the food was excellent. Will go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Devon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.