We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay-especially if you're under 30” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Miami Brickell

Save Saved
You added Aloft Miami Brickell to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aloft Miami Brickell
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 SW 2nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33130 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #53 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Okay-especially if you're under 30”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We are two adults in our mid-thirties. We stayed prior to a cruise, and, in the interest of honesty, booked as it was one of the last availalbe places in our price point (still understandably crazy) during ULTRA.

Check in/out - very different staff experiences. Arrived quite late, no smiles, greetings, 'how are you's'. Two desk clerks where it was like you could see them mentally flipping the coin for who would have to check us in. No information about the hotel provided - answered any questions with minimal interest. Directions on where to finr Mary Brickell were "go right". Terrible first impression - felt we weren't up enough on their 'hip' rating to warrant service. However, very pleasant and helpful check out clerk - tried to get us a taxi, and stayed on the line for about 20 mins. Not hisfault - TIP-for a taxi on a busy weekend, walk a few blocks with your luggage down to the gas station and wave one down. What might have been over an hour of frustrated calls solved in five mins.

Rooms-beautifully decorated and surprisingly spacious. Hallway areas are very dark, probably for 'cool' atmosphere (honestly, a bit try-hard). Large flat screen, super comfy bed, clean, and a complimentary fridge. No balcony - you likely have to ask for one. No views to speak of (they do not promote this, but keep your imagination in check).

Atmosphere-hotel feels like a youth hostel, but with 4* rooms. Very concrete, sparse. Breakfast offerings are available, but only saw hungover folk using the overpriced option. Plenty of places nearby. Around 9pm, cocktail bar in the lobby was underway - very young crowd, loud. Didn't bother us at all, but it's definately not a place to enjoy a relaxing drink.

Area-Mary Brickell Village is within walking distance - it's like an open air mall of sorts with multiple restaurants. McDonalds and Wendys are a shorter walk away (a block or so). Convenience store is a block away, with a decent selection of booze - stock up here for your fridge in the room. A more casual taco and a sushi place are also just down the block.

Do you book here?
If you're getting a good bargain, and are looking for a place with convenient walking distance to food, and don't mind the hostel vibe, sure. If you are looking for more upscale, classy, and near beach not so much.

Room Tip: You have to request a balcony room. Away from elavators to avoid late night noise from partiers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    37
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
5
29
9
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had a great experience and were well taken care of! We recieved all the attention in the world and the staff was simple wonderful! especially Mr Kervin Charles/ Thanks for all your kind attention, help and advices!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftBrickell, General Manager at Aloft Miami Brickell, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Taliboo,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Kervin and our team are thrilled we were able to make your stay so memorable!

We're looking forward to your next stay. Until then, be well.

Warm regards,

Humberto Fermo
General Manager, Aloft Miami Brickell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Staff said they overbooked their hotel and we reserved 2 double beds for 1 room. When checking in we were informed of this and they gave us a king bed room for 4 people. We asked for blankets or a cot, we were handed 2 sheets and were told they ran out of "extra" blankets because "other guest need them too." $10 breakfast buffet is a rip off. For paying so much per night it should be included. Positive note : vallet service was fast. It was very clean.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftBrickell, General Manager at Aloft Miami Brickell, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Kurav4n,

We are so sorry to hear about your recent experience with us. We take the happiness of our guests seriously, and have looked into your comments.

We keep records of anything that could affect our guest's experience, but we could not locate any records regarding the overbooking you mentioned. We did have a guest who accidentally booked a single room when they wanted a double, but no records of overbooking on our end.

If we made a mistake, we always want to make it right. Please contact our Front Office Manager, Shawnee Wolfs, with your information so we can see exactly what room type you booked and what you were given. Her email is shawnee.wolfs@aloftmiamibrickell.com

Regarding breakfast, part of our brand standard is that we must offer guests rates that include breakfast and those that do not. For this reason, we cannot make breakfast complimentary. We do offer in addition to the $10 buffet, hot made-to-order items and you can purchase individual items like cereal and oatmeal without having to buy the $10 buffet.

Again, please accept our apologies regarding your stay. We hope you will contact us so that we can look into this matter right away. We always want to do right by our guests, and hope this letter shows you we are listening and that we care.

Thank you again for sharing with us.

Sincerely,

Humberto Fermo
General Manager, Aloft Miami Brickell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Typical Aloft. Great for trendy hipsters. Not so much for my elderly in-laws (70 somethings). Music was quite loud in the small lobby and the bar was very lively. Several guys playing an enthusiastic game of billiards. I expected this, but they didn't , so they were looking at me with one of those "what were you thinking" looks :). They would have fit in better at the Courtyard Marriot or something like that. Anyway staff were awesome!! Check-in was very professional and efficient. We were in our room within ten minutes of arriving. Room was great for our one night stay before catching a cruise boat. Well decorated, well equipped and quiet with comfortable beds. We chose this hotel for its location because we read it is a quick three block walk to the village with lots of restaurants, shops, etc. It is, but we arrived at 10:00 p.m. on a Saturday night, and the restaurants were all very busy with long lines for tables. We walked around for a while looking to get in somewhere for a late dinner, but finally gave up and were forced to settle for a quick pizza at a local fast food joint. The morning staff were extremely courteous and helpful. Complimentary coffee. Small selection of breakfast items buffet style is available at the hotel for $10. A la carte items are also available for purchase. Offered a great shuttle service to the Port of Miami for $10 per person. All in all a good stay, but would still try to scout a better location for a return visit to Miami.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftBrickell, General Manager at Aloft Miami Brickell, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Avani,

Comments like yours really make our day! Thank for taking the time to share with everyone the wonderful experience you had at our hotel.

We have shared your warm sentiments with Kervin and our Welcome Desk team. They were so happy to hear they made your trip so memorable.

We can't wait to host you both again soon!

Have a wonderful day,

Humberto Fermo
General Manager, Aloft Miami Brickell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This hotel exceeded our expectations. From the moment we arrived the staff greeted us as if we were royalty. The room exceeded our expectations. The staff were amazing, incredible room, and the food next the hotel was fantastic! The staff worked with us to have the best experience in our lifetime, especially Kervin Charles. His service beats anything I've ever experienced before. We can't wait to visit again in the future. Thank you for making this vacation something we could never forget!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftBrickell, General Manager at Aloft Miami Brickell, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Gilbert,

Providing wonderful moments for our guests is the best part of our day by far. We're thrilled to hear Kervin made your trip so special, and we have shared your kind words with him.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our hotel. We really appreciate it!

Sincerely,

Humberto Fermo
General Manager, Aloft Miami Brickell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I stayed at Aloft Miami Brickell and got the 5 star service treatment thanks to Kervin. My wife and I was wondering how you did it. Thanks for going out of your way to make our stay one we will remember and cherish. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deepest Sussex
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We received very good service and liked the boutique feel of the hotel. We weren't so enamoured with the room. The bed was comfortable but the room was dark especially the bathroom, which was very dark. Neither if us liked the separate shower and toilet area. If you had to use this in the night you inevitably wake your partner fumbling around for the light switch. If you don't switch on the light is it horribly dark, and I had a very scary moment when I couldn't find the door to get out of the toilet. There were no plugs in either the washbasin or the tub. More light in the shower area and a door to the whole wash area would improve the room. Although we ate locally, the cost of taxis, if you don't want to drive, can really mount up. We spent $84 on a trip to Miami Beach and back and a short journey to a local restaurant.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftBrickell, General Manager at Aloft Miami Brickell, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Gingerpip,

Thank you for your review. We really appreciate our guests, and were so happy to hear about your recent experience.

As a team we pride ourselves on our hospitality. We were thrilled to hear you experienced "very good service" during your stay. Many of our guests comment on the unique design of our hotel, we are so glad the boutique feel made your trip more enjoyable.

We noticed your mentioned a pricey taxi bill, and we'd like to share a couple of tips to make your future stays more enjoyable. Our Welcome Desk Talent are always available to you to guide you in the right direction when it comes to getting around town. We're 1 block from the train station where you can catch a bus directly to the beach. Unlimited 1 day passes are only $5. There is also the free Metromover and Trolleys, both one block away that will take you to local restaurants, museums, Biscayne Bay, American Airlines Arena, and more!

We want you to know we hear your concerns about the lighting, and we're currently exploring different lighting options.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Humberto Fermo
General Manager, Aloft Miami Brickell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Miami Brickell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Miami Brickell

Address: 1001 SW 2nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Miami Brickell 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate your style at Aloft Miami-Brickell! Set in the financial district and minutes from Downtown, Port of Miami, Miami Beach, and major attractions like American Airlines Area and Bayside. Walk & explore -only a block from Brickell Metro train station and Mary Brickell Village (shopping, restaurants, nightlife, groceries).Our new Brickell hotel is unlike any other hotel in the Miami-Brickell area. You can mix and mingle over drinks and appetizers at our in-house W XYZ Bar. Relax in our Re:mix lounge, while shooting a game of pool and listening to some tunes. Plan a meeting in Tactic, our sleek meeting space, and come check out our beautiful Backyard for outdoor events!Rest easy, our guest rooms start on the 7th floor. Featuring loft-inspired rooms and suites with ultra-comfortable signature beds, oversized showerheads, custom amenities by Bliss Spa, and more. Every guest enjoys a 42" LED TV, desk with ergonomic desk chair, and connectivity station to maximize work and play.About Us:Aloft Miami-Brickell opened in August 2013. This vibrant and fresh hotel brand is a vision of W Hotels and part of Starwood. Offering 'Style at a Steal' this select-service hotel features loft-inspired rooms and suites set in a fresh and vibrant atmosphere. Offering 'Style at a Steal' this select-service hotel brand is doesn't feature room service, but does feature:(All items open 24 hours unless otherwise listed)* Re:fuel Grab & Go Snack Station- featuring healthy snacks, light meals, and sweet treats. * Re:mix Lounge- featuring mood music, a pool table, comfortable seating, and board games. * Re:charge Gym- connect your iPod/Android to brand new Life Fitness equipment, free weights, and yoga mats.* In-Touch Business Center- Check emails, print directions, or just surf the web.* W XYZ Bar- enjoy signature cocktails and appetizers. (5pm-12am)* Splash Pool- take a dive, swim some laps, or simply catch some rays. (6am-11pm)* Tactic Meeting Room- available for rent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Aloft Miami Brickell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Miami Brickell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.