We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foyer and Service fine” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Miami Brickell

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Miami Brickell to your Saves list
Aloft Miami Brickell
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 SW 2nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33130 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #51 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Deepest Sussex
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Foyer and Service fine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We received very good service and liked the boutique feel of the hotel. We weren't so enamoured with the room. The bed was comfortable but the room was dark especially the bathroom, which was very dark. Neither if us liked the separate shower and toilet area. If you had to use this in the night you inevitably wake your partner fumbling around for the light switch. If you don't switch on the light is it horribly dark, and I had a very scary moment when I couldn't find the door to get out of the toilet. There were no plugs in either the washbasin or the tub. More light in the shower area and a door to the whole wash area would improve the room. Although we ate locally, the cost of taxis, if you don't want to drive, can really mount up. We spent $84 on a trip to Miami Beach and back and a short journey to a local restaurant.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftBrickell, General Manager at Aloft Miami Brickell, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Gingerpip,

Thank you for your review. We really appreciate our guests, and were so happy to hear about your recent experience.

As a team we pride ourselves on our hospitality. We were thrilled to hear you experienced "very good service" during your stay. Many of our guests comment on the unique design of our hotel, we are so glad the boutique feel made your trip more enjoyable.

We noticed your mentioned a pricey taxi bill, and we'd like to share a couple of tips to make your future stays more enjoyable. Our Welcome Desk Talent are always available to you to guide you in the right direction when it comes to getting around town. We're 1 block from the train station where you can catch a bus directly to the beach. Unlimited 1 day passes are only $5. There is also the free Metromover and Trolleys, both one block away that will take you to local restaurants, museums, Biscayne Bay, American Airlines Arena, and more!

We want you to know we hear your concerns about the lighting, and we're currently exploring different lighting options.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Humberto Fermo
General Manager, Aloft Miami Brickell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    56
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
9
38
12
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Hotel is located in Brickell which is a great location. Easy to walk around and great atmosphere in the evening with lots of great restaurants. Hotel is modern and clean, staff is friendly. Rooms are modern and simple.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftBrickell, General Manager at Aloft Miami Brickell, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Jasinonline,

We really appreciate that you took time out of your day to share your experience on TripAdvisor- Thank you!

In your review, you mentioned how everything is walking distance from our hotel. While this is certainly true, we also have more conveniences we thought you might enjoy on your next visit.

As we are only 1 block from the Metrorail, our guests can take public transportation to anywhere in the city including taking the train directly into the airport! We are also just 1 block from the free Metromover, which has several routes all around Brickell. Head to museums, Biscayne Bay, Port of Miami, Bayside Marketplace, American Airlines Arena, and more. All for free and in just minutes inside the air-conditioned train!

We hope our comments show just how much we appreciate you and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you,

Humberto Fermo
General Manager at Aloft Miami Brickell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I'm historically a big Starwood guy, now splitting time with Marriott. The rate here is certainly good but the property is off the beaten path and gets a lot of use. My room reeked of cigarette smell, i had not had such a situation in many years. While guests will smoke, the housekeeper should have DNR'd this room.

Like another guest, construction and city noise awoke me in the morning, but that comes with the territory. The property itself is not bad, nice pool area, balconies with no real view but still nice, pocket fitness facility with new equipment.

Its a 10 minute walk to Mary Brickell Village but why would you want to go there?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftBrickell, General Manager at Aloft Miami Brickell, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Manny,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate input from our guests and were glad that on the whole you had a positive experience.

We would like to sincerely apologize for the cigarette smoke smell in your room. You are totally correct that our housekeeping staff should have alerted us of this. Our hotel rooms are 100% non-smoking and we do heftily fine any guest that lights up. Due to your review, we have reviewed our smoking policy with housekeeping staff so that we can be sure this will never happen again.

We do hope you will give us another try. We are also just a block away from the free MetroMover which takes you to American Airlines Arena, Biscayne Bay, Port of Miami, and plenty of dining and shopping spots not in Mary Brickell Village.

Thank you,

Humberto Fermo
General Manager at Aloft Miami Brickell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This was my first stay in an Aloft and I was impressed. The hotel is clean and has some style. The location was convenient for me to work in Brickell.

The gym area is very small but similar to most hotel gyms. The pool is probably 20-25 yards and could be used for swimming laps if you removed the center rope.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftBrickell, General Manager at Aloft Miami Brickell, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Joe M,

Thank you for your review. We really appreciate that you took the time to share on TripAdvisor your wonderful experience at our hotel.

You mentioned our Re:charge gym in your review, we hope the information here will enhance your next visit. The equipment is new state-of-the-art LifeFitness equipment that connects to your Apple or Android device. You can enjoy music or a run through the streets of Paris. We also offer free headphones and ice water right in the gym itself. They are often missed by our guests, and we wanted to point them out in case you also did not see them.

Again, thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you soon,

Cordially,

Humberto Fermo
General Manager of Aloft Miami Brickell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

It resembles a high-end hostel and the managers are passive aggressive. We stayed for a double bachelorette party and were only really in the hotel to sleep. We arrived back at the hotel at 5AM and by the time we were ready for bed it was 6, by 9AM there was incessant hammering that wouldn't let us go back to sleep. I was later informed that it was due to work in the "big boss' office," so I requested a discount since the main purpose of a hotel is to rest... long story short I was made to believe I would be getting $100 back, only to find out that the "total" the manager was referring to was on the room and not, as I clearly had understood total to mean, off of the final price. When I called back he was rude and condescending. For this price, stay somewhere that doesn't resemble a hostel and that cares about it's customers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftBrickell, General Manager at Aloft Miami Brickell, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Meg T,

We apologize you were woken up by hammering, we can understand the inconvenience as you were up late the night before. Our Welcome Desk Team did their best to remedy the situation for you, we are sorry it was not enough.

Upon check-in, our Welcome Desk Talent sent a complimentary bottle of champagne to your room as a nice gesture to celebrate your occasion.

The next morning when you called inquiring about the hammering, our team did everything in their power to stop it immediately. You were offered a discount of $40, not $100, which was refunded immediately. We were also willing to move your room, but your stay was only for that day.

When you called inquiring about your refund, you spoke to our Front Desk Manager. She informed you that the $40 had been refunded and asked about your TripAdvisor review. We were hoping to discuss it with you, but you hung up on her. You called again and our Front Desk Manager again spoke to you. She explained that the $40 had already been refunded to your card, and when she attempted to ask about the review you again hung up on her.

We aim to please each and every one of our guests. Unfortunately, if you will not speak to us there is very little we can do for you.

We hope that now that time has passed, that you can see that our team did the best we could for you and we had nothing but the best intentions.

Should you wish to discuss this matter with us further, please do not hesitate to call us.

Regards,

Humberto Fermo
General Manager of Aloft Miami Brickell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The aloft isnt a bad hotel it just isnt a great hotel. For starters its in an emerging area of Brickell which is not a far walk from restaurants and most businesses but is a little seedy. The hotel is also trying very hard to be hip. When we arrived music in the lobby was blasting so loud that the guy at the reception had to ask me to repeat "where are the elevators?" 3 times before understanding me. The room - though a little spartan - was quite nice and well appointed (and actually quiet). Very comfortable bed. Bottom line is if someone puts you up here (I was there for a conference) its fine but I wouldnt seek it out unless you get a great rate.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftBrickell, General Manager at Aloft Miami Brickell, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Jsjstravel,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your input.

As a brand, Aloft Hotels, do have music playing throughout the lobby. We did notice our Welcome Desk Talent was having trouble communicating with our guests, so we have lowered the speakers considerably in their area.

Thank you again for your review, we hope you will give us another try.

Warm regards,

Humberto Fermo
General Manager at Aloft Miami Brickell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The staff was moderately polite and friendly, didn't go over and beyond, but were pleasant enough. As usual with an Aloft, it's no frills....no restaurant, no spa, ect. The room was boring, but clean and big enough. Parking was $22 per night, pretty expensive. They could have easily had on-site parking, seemed they just wanted to charge a fee. The location was the highlight, it's not South Beach, but it's in the stylish Brickell area. The area is safe and a close walk to restaurants and night life. I'd stay here again, especially for the price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftBrickell, General Manager at Aloft Miami Brickell, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Bob6104,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled you would stay with us again and that you loved our "stylish" and "safe" location. Brickell is definitely the go-to neighborhood for locals due to its abundance of great restaurants, shops, and bars.

We appreciate your comments on our staff. While "moderately polite and friendly" and "pleasant enough" might be good enough for some hotels, we hope to wow you on your next visit. We've hired a Hospitality Manager and are hard at work training our staff on ways they can surprise and honor our guests by going above and beyond. We may be a "select service" hotel, but we aim to offer each and every guest superior service.

In regards to your commentary on our parking, we can understand your point of view. As our parking structure is limited and difficult to maneuver, offering valet was the most convenient and safe option for our guests. We can understand that $22 for valet is not the usual outside our city, but it really does go toward the cost of valet staff, security, and insurance. We would like to note it the nearest hotel to us offers self-parking for $18, and that we are one block away from Brickell station. It's a great option when traveling without a vehicle, as it's only $2.50 from the airport to our hotel, and you can get around almost anywhere in the city using our public transportation.

Again, a big thank you for taking the time to review us. We hope to see host you again soon!

Kind regards,

Humberto Fermo
General Manager at Aloft Miami Brickell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Miami Brickell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Miami Brickell

Address: 1001 SW 2nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Miami Brickell 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate your style at Aloft Miami-Brickell! Set in the financial district and minutes from Downtown, Port of Miami, Miami Beach, and major attractions like American Airlines Area and Bayside. Walk & explore -only a block from Brickell Metro train station and Mary Brickell Village (shopping, restaurants, nightlife, groceries).Our new Brickell hotel is unlike any other hotel in the Miami-Brickell area. You can mix and mingle over drinks and appetizers at our in-house W XYZ Bar. Relax in our Re:mix lounge, while shooting a game of pool and listening to some tunes. Plan a meeting in Tactic, our sleek meeting space, and come check out our beautiful Backyard for outdoor events!Rest easy, our guest rooms start on the 7th floor. Featuring loft-inspired rooms and suites with ultra-comfortable signature beds, oversized showerheads, custom amenities by Bliss Spa, and more. Every guest enjoys a 42" LED TV, desk with ergonomic desk chair, and connectivity station to maximize work and play.About Us:Aloft Miami-Brickell opened in August 2013. This vibrant and fresh hotel brand is a vision of W Hotels and part of Starwood. Offering 'Style at a Steal' this select-service hotel features loft-inspired rooms and suites set in a fresh and vibrant atmosphere. Offering 'Style at a Steal' this select-service hotel brand is doesn't feature room service, but does feature:(All items open 24 hours unless otherwise listed)* Re:fuel Grab & Go Snack Station- featuring healthy snacks, light meals, and sweet treats. * Re:mix Lounge- featuring mood music, a pool table, comfortable seating, and board games. * Re:charge Gym- connect your iPod/Android to brand new Life Fitness equipment, free weights, and yoga mats.* In-Touch Business Center- Check emails, print directions, or just surf the web.* W XYZ Bar- enjoy signature cocktails and appetizers. (5pm-12am)* Splash Pool- take a dive, swim some laps, or simply catch some rays. (6am-11pm)* Tactic Meeting Room- available for rent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aloft Miami Brickell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Miami Brickell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.