We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A life saver” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Miami Brickell

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Miami Brickell to your Saves list
Aloft Miami Brickell
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 SW 2nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33130 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$10 Breakfast Credit
Ranked #46 of 113 Hotels in Miami
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A life saver”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Loved it
Aloft is very trendy
Staff Nice/ Helpful
The outside siting area is very nicee
I fell in love when i saw the lobby and the bar
My room was nice and clean
Valet parking..not free but worth itt

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftBrickell, General Manager at Aloft Miami Brickell, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Jesse,

I wanted to take a moment to personally thank you for your wonderful review.You called us "a lifesaver" and it made our day!

We are so happy to hear that you "fell in love" with our Re:mix lounge and W XYZ bar. This is exactly how we want all our guests to feel when they walk in our hotel.

We take a lot of pride in the cleanliness of our hotel, and we thank you for your comments.

Our staff will be thrilled to hear you felt they were "friendly and helpful." They work hard each day finding new ways to make our guests feel welcome and valued.

Again, thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Humberto Fermo
General Manager of Aloft Miami Brickell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    101
    44
    19
    11
See reviews for
27
74
16
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed here for a 2 week and i MUST say had a great time staying at this hotel. Not only the fact that the front desk was very friendly. They all helped me out in what i needed. Two girls from the front desk Yolanda and Nicole were great and very helpful they helped me out making a reservation and as well booking my flight to go back home. Also, Hotel was a great location because i have my daughter who is staying at the CAMDEN apartments that is just a walk away. And the fact i didnt have a car.. There was a bunch of resturants and shops that were walking distance. The Room was very clean and had alot of space. There wasnt anything bad to complain about my stay. Everyone at the hotel greeted me all the time, Everyone was very helpful. I am pleased with choosing this hotel. I WILL DEFIANTLY COME BACK ON FEBUARY.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftBrickell, General Manager at Aloft Miami Brickell, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Raul,

What can we can say, but thank you! We really appreciate that you took the time to write such a thorough review.

We have been hard at work training our new front desk team, and we're so thrilled to hear Nicole and Yolanda made your stay so memorable. We are proud to hear our team members were eager to go beyond their call of duty and truly do whatever was necessary to make your stay the best it could be. We will make sure to share your kind words with Nicole and Yolanda, as well as our entire team.

Thank you for mentioning our central location and how close we are to shops, dining, and more. When you stay with us, you are less than a 5 minute walk away from over 30 restaurants, shops, parks, and bars.

I noticed you mentioned you were without a car during your visit, and that you enjoyed easy access to everywhere you wanted to go. While our amazing location gives you access to so many options, we know that there are also wonderful places to visit in other parts of the city. We've created a new page on our website detailing all the transportation options available to our guests during their stay, in case you'd like to venture beyond Brickell during your next trip. This new page can be found at http://www.aloftmiamibrickell.com/miami-transportation

Our spacious and clean rooms are point of pride for us and we appreciate your comments.

We're thrilled you will be joining us again in February, thank you for choosing us.

Looking forward to your visit,

Humberto Fermo
General Manager of Aloft Miami Brickell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed for three nights in early January 2014. The location is great for walking to many restaurants and bars as well as a Publix and LA fitness. Hotel room was good. A newer, good bed and shower. Small but clean and quiet.

Decent check-in process, friendly front desk folks and security guard but the staff weren't really familiar with the SPG platinum level; not a big deal. Valet was a bit surly and I heard the rubber coming off the tires of my Hemi Challenger rental as it went up into the garage. Hey, I'd probably do the same (and later did) with a car like that!

As far as the "hip" or "chic" factor, well personally that doesn't affect my hotel decision at all. Quiet, clean, comfortable bed is what matters to me and you will find this at the Aloft.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftBrickell, General Manager at Aloft Miami Brickell, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Jeff,

Thank you for taking the time to write about us. We really appreciate your kind words on our "great" location. We love that our guests can experience so much our city offers just a block away from our hotel.

We take a lot of pride in our hotel and its level of cleanliness, and are thrilled it showed during your visit. The oversized showerhead and signature bed you mentioned enjoying are all brand new and available in every room in our hotel.

Thank you for mentioning that the rooms are quiet, we know that is a concern for many travelers. While our lobby can be bustling, we've made sure no guests would be disturbed by having our hotel rooms begin on the 7th floor.

We will share your positive comments with our security and front desk staff. In the interest of superior guest service, we do have a newer front desk team. We apologize that they were not as familiar with the SPG platinum level as they should have been. Without valuable input from guests like you, we could not continue to improve and excel.

We so appreciate your understanding regarding the valet. Our garage does tend to produce tire squeals at low speeds, but that is no excuse for a surly valet. Rest assured we will be speaking to the valet team to ensure that every guests receives a warm welcome and departure.

Thank you again for your kind words, we do hope to see you again soon.

Cordially,

Humberto Fermo
General Manager of Aloft Miami Brickell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddle River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I am a Starwood Preferred Guest and MAN do I have a bone to pick with them on this one!!!
I chose this hotel based on the pictures on the website. Talk about FALSE ADVERTISING!!! This hotel is in the ghetto. I was charged $359 - I could have stayed at the Marquis! We called pretending we were looking for a room after we checked in, and the rate quoted was $99. That would still be a lot for this place. I can't believe Starwood would put their signature on this dump.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftBrickell, Owner at Aloft Miami Brickell, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Susann,

We were very disappointed to see your review. After numerous in-person, over the phone, and email conversations with you regarding your stay, you never came close to the comments you mentioned here.

You did mention to us that you felt misled by Starwood's website and their customer service rep. We can understand your frustration, that when asking for luxury 4 and 5 star accommodations a Starwood representative directed you to our hotel without explaining that our brand is select service and would not offer amenities you were looking for like room service. Unfortunately, we were not on that call with you and when we tried to compensate you for this upon check-out you were not interested.

Every photo on Starwood's website, with the exception of one were of our hotel. No false advertising was intended nor occurred. In fact, we worked quite diligently to get the 1 incorrect photo replaced immediately, and spoke many times with Starwood to make sure they were explaining quite clearly what they were offering guests.

To say that we are a "dump" and "in the ghetto" is extremely inaccurate and kind of mean. You mentioned many times in person and in writing that your issue was with Starwood and that everyone on our staff treated you kindly during your stay. We were disappointed to see that you only mentioned negatives here on TripAdvisor.

We take pride in our customer service, as well as our brand. As a select-service hotel in the financial area, we offer our guests ‘style at a steal’ with modern amenities. The week of Christmas and New Year’s is one of the most popular times to stay in our city. During this busy time, we offered competitive rates for the season and enjoyed a 97% occupancy because of this. You booked a Standard King room, our most basic room category and the only room category offered without a balcony for $279 a night. The hotels you mentioned offer rates much higher than ours, especially during peak times like the night of your stay. While our rates do change based on the season and availability, we have never offered the public a $99 per night rate.

While a select service hotel might not be for everyone, we hope looking back you can appreciate the positives of your stay and the value our brand offers. We take the happiness of our guests extremely seriously and did everything in our power to address the concerns you expressed.

Regards,
Humberto Fermo
General Manager of Aloft Miami Brickell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hillsborough nc
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Know what you are getting. In some strange attempt at contrived hipness, the lobby serves as a bar/nightlife hotspot, and it really does feel like the hotel itself is an afterthought. It is extremely loud, understaffed, and the people who work there are very rude. It's like Aloft tried to "reinvent the wheel" and hired people with no experience in the hospitality industry with the end result being that they just aren't hospitable.

Oddly, one of the biggest problems for me was that the entire property is drenched in some kind of signature cologne, similar to an Abercrombie & Fitch. It is inescapable. You can smell it--no joke--as you're walking up the sidewalk half a block away. If you like the idea of staying upstairs at a loud nightclub, you'd probably love this place, but if what you're looking for is a comfy, neutral zone, with not too much noise, not too many smells, look elsewhere.

PROS
It wasn't *all* bad--the bed was comfortable, and the coffee was the best coffee of any hotel I've ever stayed at, and it was free. I appreciated having a fan in the bathroom, a total rarity even at much nicer hotels than this one. I also appreciated having no pet fee.

CONS
-Corridors WAY too dark. We stayed in room 716 which was an extremely dark offshoot of the main corridor and I actually didn't feel safe going to and from my room alone. There is no swiping of cards to get into the elevator, so anyone could be lurking there--with the hotel-elevator-stalking-rape in South Beach taking place earlier this year, you'd think a brand new hotel would have thought to introduce some security measures. Yes, there is a really nice area 4 blocks from the hotel (Mary Brickell Village) but the hotel itself is right on the border of a bad neighborhood. The morning we left, we saw a not-even-trying-to-hide-it, thigh-high-patent-booted prostitute working on the corner 1 block away. ***Put in some more light fixtures, please. Try to imagine just for a second that you are a woman.***
-Valets were very nice but understaffed, working in way too small a space, and there is no self-park option. We ended up paying $22/day for the required valet AND paying for street parking all day long so we could actually get where we needed to go. A total waste of money.
-You have no stair access to your room. Rooms start on the 7th floor and stairs are only for emergency exit, not accessible to go up. Bad news if you're traveling with a dog or anyone with motion sickness problems. More bad design.
-Bathroom door is heavy and loud to close, and if you want to turn the light on, this automatically starts the fan as well, so if you want to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night, you either have to pee with the door open (and the curtains open to be able to see) or turn on the very bright light/very loud fan. These rooms will work for a couple with total intimacy but if you need privacy, stay elsewhere.
-There are huge balconies for every room but they have no furniture so we didn't use ours at all.
-This is not a full-service hotel. No restaurant, no room service, and they won't bring something to your room if you need it. You go to them; they don't go to you.

Just know what you're getting, and if you're used to staying in places like Sheraton, Hyatt, or comparable, don't assume that an Aloft will be a stand-in for those brands. It is its own kind of thing, which I'm sure works for some people but definitely didn't work for us. I expect an apology when there is a screw-up and that is not how this place rolls.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftBrickell, General Manager at Aloft Miami Brickell, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Jody,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. We value your feedback and know that it is through comments like yours that we can continue to improve and excel. We appreciate that although you had some negatives to mention, you also took time to highlight the positives of your stay.

We can appreciate that our lobby is unique and not for everyone. We have taken the noise level into account, and that is why our guests can rest easy knowing the closest guest room is 7 floors away.

We truly apologize if you received service that was anything other than kind and helpful. Hospitality isn't just an industry term for us, we believe in creating a culture of service and are very dismayed to hear your experience with our front desk was not positive.

As for the "signature cologne" comments, we are pretty puzzled as we don't have one. We don't use heavily perfumed cleaning products, nor has anyone ever mentioned this before. We researched your comment with our housekeeping staff, but cannot explain this mysterious scent you mentioned covered entire city blocks.

We're happy to hear you found our signature beds so comfortable, they can be found in all our rooms. Thank you for mentioning that the complimentary in-room coffee was 'the best coffee in any hotel you've stayed.' This coffee is also standard in every room, and it's sustainable too! It's only a small part of our effort towards taking care of our planet.

I know you mentioned the hallways were too dim for your liking. We use eco-friendly lights and energy-efficient window coverings to create the design of our hallways, but apologize if our lighting design made you feel unsafe. In the interest of security we cannot discuss all the security measures in place at our hotel, but we can tell you that we take safety very seriously. What we can mention are some visible security measures on our property like security guards 24 hours a day and a myriad of monitored security cameras, as well as a second deadbolt in your room provided for extra peace of mind. We are 1 block away from the high-end shopping and nightlife destination you mentioned, Mary Brickell Village, and can assure you that our neighborhood is highly sought after. We cannot speak for the clothing choices of the resident you mentioned, but I think it's fair to say Miami residents tend to show more skin than most.

Parking is challenge in Miami in general, and finding free parking is almost impossible. Our nearest competitor offers self-parking for $18, we offer valet for $22. We apologize that paying for parking was inconvenient for you, we understand and have tried to offer the most fair rate we can.

It's true we don't offer room service, as a select service hotel we pass those savings on to our guests. Our Re:fuel Snack Station does offers snacks, sweets, and fresh salads and wraps 24 hours a day. In addition, our guests can enjoy many late night eateries just a couple blocks away.

Again, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope that our response has helped clarify some things for you, as well as showing how much we do truly care about our guests. Please accept our sincere apology for the sub-par service you mentioned. We hope that you will give us another chance soon.

Kind regards,

Humberto Fermo
General Manager of Aloft Miami Brickell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portimao, Portugal
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was our last stop before leaving Florida after a 3-week vacation, and was the only hotel with blackout curtains. However, the sink area is just an extension of the bedroom, so it is impossible to get up during the night to use the bathroom without tuning on the light and waking your partner. The toilet is in a separate area after the sink, but requires sliding a heavy door to close it off and a light that automatically triggers the exhaust, so that the bedroom becomes not only too bright to sleep, but also too noisy. Personally, I like privacy!!

The lobby is hustle-bustle, a tad too noisy in an attempt to be hip. Great location, walking distance to the train and Mary Brickell Village, with all of its shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobe Sound, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at this property for a birthday weekend with friends. It was the weekend between Christmas and New Year's so rates were extremely high all over Miami Beach and Downtown. This hotel was reasonably priced at under $200 a night. It was well kept but our AC unit didn't work very well. Our room was musty and smelled like a wet dog. Everyone was very friendly and the bar had a nice happy hour. Parking was Valet only and cost over $20 per night. That was reasonable and expected for Miami but worth mentioning in case someone is visiting and not expecting it. The hotel is within walking distance from plenty of shops, restaurants, bars and grocery stores. It's also very close to the Metro Rail although we took cabs instead. The front desk is happy to call a cab for you but it takes 15-30 minutes so plan accordingly. It's not 5 star by any stretch but it's a great affordable hotel with a fun Miami Vibe.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#36 of 113 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 1,146 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Miami
Hyatt Regency Miami
#49 of 113 in Miami
3.5 of 5 stars 1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Coral Way
Hotel Urbano
Hotel Urbano
#38 of 113 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#35 of 113 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 2,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Miami Brickell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Miami Brickell

Address: 1001 SW 2nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 113 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Miami Brickell 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate your style at Aloft Miami-Brickell! Set in the financial district and minutes from Downtown, Port of Miami, Miami Beach, and major attractions like American Airlines Area and Bayside. Walk & explore -only a block from Brickell Metro train station and Mary Brickell Village (shopping, restaurants, nightlife, groceries).Our new Brickell hotel is unlike any other hotel in the Miami-Brickell area. You can mix and mingle over drinks and appetizers at our in-house W XYZ Bar. Relax in our Re:mix lounge, while shooting a game of pool and listening to some tunes. Plan a meeting in Tactic, our sleek meeting space, and come check out our beautiful Backyard for outdoor events!Rest easy, our guest rooms start on the 7th floor. Featuring loft-inspired rooms and suites with ultra-comfortable signature beds, oversized showerheads, custom amenities by Bliss Spa, and more. Every guest enjoys a 42" LED TV, desk with ergonomic desk chair, and connectivity station to maximize work and play.About Us:Aloft Miami-Brickell opened in August 2013. This vibrant and fresh hotel brand is a vision of W Hotels and part of Starwood. Offering 'Style at a Steal' this select-service hotel features loft-inspired rooms and suites set in a fresh and vibrant atmosphere. Offering 'Style at a Steal' this select-service hotel brand is doesn't feature room service, but does feature:(All items open 24 hours unless otherwise listed)* Re:fuel Grab & Go Snack Station- featuring healthy snacks, light meals, and sweet treats. * Re:mix Lounge- featuring mood music, a pool table, comfortable seating, and board games. * Re:charge Gym- connect your iPod/Android to brand new Life Fitness equipment, free weights, and yoga mats.* In-Touch Business Center- Check emails, print directions, or just surf the web.* W XYZ Bar- enjoy signature cocktails and appetizers. (5pm-12am)* Splash Pool- take a dive, swim some laps, or simply catch some rays. (6am-11pm)* Tactic Meeting Room- available for rent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aloft Miami Brickell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Miami Brickell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.