We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little find....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Miami Brickell

Save Saved
You added Aloft Miami Brickell to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Aloft.com
and 8 more sites!
Aloft Miami Brickell
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 SW 2nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33130 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #65 of 131 hotels in Miami
Miami
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A little find....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

With some friends we decided to spend a weekend in Brickell to enjoy the nightlife without having to drive home late at night. Aloft Hotel was in the perfect location at the right price.

The hotel is quaint, youthful, the decor is modern and very pleasant. We liked the amenities in the room especially the coffee/tea maker, the free coffee in the lobby - the only thing we all did not like was the bed pillows - they must go !! please replace them with pillows that by morning will not cripple the neck -)

Otherwise loved the hotel, the bar, music and pleasant staff.

Room Tip: Many rooms seems to have a unique layout - most rooms appeared good, views varied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Cartin, Starwood hotels at Aloft Miami Brickell, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. Its great to hear you enjoyed our hotel and found its location convenient. We appreciate your feedback on the pillows. Again, thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    14
    13
    3
    5
See reviews for
3
20
4
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I am a fan of the W hotels so I kinda knew what to expect upon arrival. It is located in a central location downtown in Brickell. Brickell is a new development area downtown so there is some construction going on but you can walk a few blocks to some really cool shops, bars, and trendy restaurants.

The Hotel: I requested the 14th floor (for the view) days before arriving. I got it. Check in was at 3pm and I arrived at noon.... not a big deal. My room wasn't ready yet so they took my #, I left for lunch, and a few hours later I received a call stating everything was ready to go. Nice friendly staff at the check in. Lovely and well decorated lobby and bar area. Trendy outside patio area where folks hung out at night with a few cocktails. Small but very chic little hotel.

Pros:
Room: Nice and comfy. Everything was clean, well decorated, and the view was great from the 14th floor. I loved the modern furniture and the art and lighting in the room ( especially over the bed) Nice collection of lotions and body washes in the shower. Nice plasma on the wall, very modern glass shower. Loved it.

Cons:
Valet: The hotel is small and so is the valet area. It was a headache getting in and out of the place. I'm not sure how they could fix it but they should have thought about that before buying that particular lot. Is it enough to choose a different hotel next time? No. I could deal with the valet. The decor, staff, and location sort of made up for that.

Room Tip: The hotel is located a great spot downtown.No need to drive. Just keep your car in valet and foot it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Cartin, Starwood hotels at Aloft Miami Brickell, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Nicholette80, thank you for your thorough review. We are happy to hear you liked our location and enjoyed our comfortable, clean and modern hotel. We appreciate the feedback on the valet. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Brickell area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Brand new building. Modern, Minimalist design means no drawers, no dresser, no closet door, no door to bathroom vanity area, "mood" lighting (not bright esp for reading in bed).Small room. Great for one person, but for two....not so much. We stayed 3 nights and got used to the design/nature of the quarters. Ice available in main lobby only or by room service.
Very young staff, very friendly and quite helpful. Our AC was not cooling the room on the first night and the front desk had it corrected upon request. Very comfortable king bed. Unfortunately, we could hear our neighbors' TV at bedtime thru the wall.
Parking - valet only at $22/day. It has a pool, but we didn't check it out.
Has a young, hip vibe. Price point was quite for that area of Miami. We chose tis hotel because its location is close to family living in Brickell and would stay there again because of that.
.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We booked this room over the phone with a starwood agent for two nights. This hotel is modern and clean. In a nut-shell the service was poor, very poor. The valet here is slow. So if you have somewhere to be leave your room 15 minutes early. I am use to valet guys running and having a sense of urgency. This was not the case here at all. My husband and I were in town for a wedding and needed to be on time. We asked if we could go get our own car and the valet guy told us we weren't allowed up on that level of the parking deck. This was our first stay at Aloft but not our first Starwood Hotel. I totally understand that the rooms are half the price of the W or Sheraton but geez. My husband went downstairs and asked for a recommendation on dinner places and the guy at the desk said he didn't know of any...we also asked for a wine opener and they said we couldn't take it to our room but to bring the bottle downstairs and they would open it. I hate to complain but that was just weird to me. Lastly when it was time to check out my bill was over double what I had booked it for. I was then told to provide proof so I went and got my iPad. Once I showed them, they DID change it. But they didn't even wait for me to walk away before they started debating on how I booked at that price. I overheard the manager say, "Well if she has proof we have to honor it..." That just rubbed me the wrong way because had I not had the email who knows what would have happened. The only good things I can say are probably the most important and what people normally look for. It was clean, room was spacious, awesome shampoo and body wash :), pretty city views and the breakfast was not too shabby. If you are looking for service look elsewhere. We would probably stay again, and not expect the "W" experience and service...maybe motel 6 service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Cartin, Starwood hotels at Aloft Miami Brickell, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for your review DR2011. We’re glad you found our hotel clean, rooms spacious and liked our bathroom amenities. We do apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We appreciate your feedback on the valet and the service and will ensure this information gets passed along to the right team. Again, thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Not to be all negative, the rooms were spacious and cozy, fantastic
They need to improve the food selection. Self service is reasonably priced, but not enough items to choose from.
Major issue: bar hours. 5 to 12 are still "work hours" for a lot of people (especially during Art Basel). Getting back to the hotel at midnight and being unable to have a close-up glass of wine or cocktail is very frustrating. And asking about a beer for lunch and being sent to the CVS is ridiculous, makes it feel like a cheap hostel.
Finally worst part of the experience: Waiting for a taxi for 45 minutes is UNACCEPTABLE. And it happened twice!! Yes, I understand than taxis are out of the hotel reach, and Miami is very particular regarding the taxi service, especially during Art Basel, but any hotel that tries to be somewhat "up-scale" should have one reliable taxi company that responds immediately and can provide a taxi within minutes (what about a shuttle service to another hotel or spot with frequent taxi stops?). Not having control over that service, particularly being in an isolated spot, again makes it feel like a cheap hostel.

Room Tip: Bring your own beer! And your own car. Of course, if you drive you can't drink, but by the time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Cartin, Starwood hotels at Aloft Miami Brickell, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review. We’re glad you found our guestrooms spacious and cozy. Also, we appreciate your feedback on the available items at our Re:fuel area, the W XYZ Bar hours, and your experience with a taxi. We truly value our guests feedback and want you to know we are always working on ways to improve our hotel and our guests experience. We will be sure to share this information with the right team at the hotel. Again, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice place, nice people. Well located, quiet, comfortable rooms, nice gym, great service. Breaksfast not included but small shop serves for the purpose... Place with microwave complementary. Internet complementary.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fruit Cove, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel because of its close proximity to the Chilean Consulate where my husband had business, and its price. We travel extensively, and stay almost exclusively at Sheraton hotels. This is our first experience with the Aloft brand. This hotel is up to Sheraton's standards with clean, comfortable rooms, and friendly, helpful staff. Everyone speaks English and Spanish, with Spanish being the primary language heard. With SPG Platinum status, we upgraded to a suite on the 8th floor, which gave us a sitting room, separate bedroom and two balconies. Every room in this hotel has a balcony. With the sliding glass doors open, there is nice cross ventilation for fresh air. The street noise - nearby construction and elevated train - is loud, but not obnoxious. Close the doors, and the noise all but disappears. Service is excellent. The included breakfast is a Continental-style buffet with assorted breads and pastries, cold cuts, fresh fruit, and a coffee/tea bar. There is no self parking. At $22/night, parking is expensive, but is in line with the standard rate for this area where available parking is at a premium.

The hotel has a loft-vibe, which is the signature of the brand. That being said, it is not my aesthetic, appealing more to young professionals than those of us who are middle-aged and used to slightly more upscale and plush furnishings. The rooms and common areas are darker than we prefer. The color scheme is muted with splashes of color - plum, teal, cranberry... I do like that there are no spreads on the bed - just a comforter sandwiched between crisp, clean sheets. The bed is comfortable. Other than not being my style, the only negative I have is the absence of drawer space in which to store small items such as underwear, socks, etc. Hanging space is adequate.

All in all, a comfortable hotel in a prime location for business. We'll stay here, again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Cartin, Starwood hotels at Aloft Miami Brickell, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Penny L, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We truly appreciate your detailed comments on your recent stay. Its great to hear you had an enjoyable experience during your stay and found our hotel clean with comfortable rooms and friendly staff. We appreciate your feedback on the parking and the drawer space in the guestrooms. We too hope to see you again during your next trip to the Brickell area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aloft Miami Brickell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Miami Brickell

Address: 1001 SW 2nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 131 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Miami Brickell 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate your style at Aloft Miami-Brickell! Set in the financial district and minutes from Downtown, Port of Miami, Miami Beach, and major attractions like American Airlines Area and Bayside. Walk & explore -only a block from Brickell Metro train station and Mary Brickell Village (shopping, restaurants, nightlife, groceries).Our new Brickell hotel is unlike any other hotel in the Miami-Brickell area. You can mix and mingle over drinks and appetizers at our in-house W XYZ Bar. Relax in our Re:mix lounge, while shooting a game of pool and listening to some tunes. Plan a meeting in Tactic, our sleek meeting space, and come check out our beautiful Backyard for outdoor events!Rest easy, our guest rooms start on the 7th floor. Featuring loft-inspired rooms and suites with ultra-comfortable signature beds, oversized showerheads, custom amenities by Bliss Spa, and more. Every guest enjoys a 42" LED TV, desk with ergonomic desk chair, and connectivity station to maximize work and play.About Us:Aloft Miami-Brickell opened in August 2013. This vibrant and fresh hotel brand is a vision of W Hotels and part of Starwood. Offering 'Style at a Steal' this select-service hotel features loft-inspired rooms and suites set in a fresh and vibrant atmosphere. Offering 'Style at a Steal' this select-service hotel brand is doesn't feature room service, but does feature:(All items open 24 hours unless otherwise listed)* Re:fuel Grab & Go Snack Station- featuring healthy snacks, light meals, and sweet treats. * Re:mix Lounge- featuring mood music, a pool table, comfortable seating, and board games. * Re:charge Gym- connect your iPod/Android to brand new Life Fitness equipment, free weights, and yoga mats.* In-Touch Business Center- Check emails, print directions, or just surf the web.* W XYZ Bar- enjoy signature cocktails and appetizers. (5pm-12am)* Splash Pool- take a dive, swim some laps, or simply catch some rays. (6am-11pm)* Tactic Meeting Room- available for rent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Aloft Miami Brickell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Miami Brickell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.