We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Miami Brickell

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Miami Brickell to your Saves list
Aloft Miami Brickell
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 SW 2nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33130 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cyber Monday Exclusive
Ranked #49 of 129 Hotels in Miami
St. Johns, FL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel because of its close proximity to the Chilean Consulate where my husband had business, and its price. We travel extensively, and stay almost exclusively at Sheraton hotels. This is our first experience with the Aloft brand. This hotel is up to Sheraton's standards with clean, comfortable rooms, and friendly, helpful staff. Everyone speaks English and Spanish, with Spanish being the primary language heard. With SPG Platinum status, we upgraded to a suite on the 8th floor, which gave us a sitting room, separate bedroom and two balconies. Every room in this hotel has a balcony. With the sliding glass doors open, there is nice cross ventilation for fresh air. The street noise - nearby construction and elevated train - is loud, but not obnoxious. Close the doors, and the noise all but disappears. Service is excellent. The included breakfast is a Continental-style buffet with assorted breads and pastries, cold cuts, fresh fruit, and a coffee/tea bar. There is no self parking. At $22/night, parking is expensive, but is in line with the standard rate for this area where available parking is at a premium.

The hotel has a loft-vibe, which is the signature of the brand. That being said, it is not my aesthetic, appealing more to young professionals than those of us who are middle-aged and used to slightly more upscale and plush furnishings. The rooms and common areas are darker than we prefer. The color scheme is muted with splashes of color - plum, teal, cranberry... I do like that there are no spreads on the bed - just a comforter sandwiched between crisp, clean sheets. The bed is comfortable. Other than not being my style, the only negative I have is the absence of drawer space in which to store small items such as underwear, socks, etc. Hanging space is adequate.

All in all, a comfortable hotel in a prime location for business. We'll stay here, again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Cartin, Starwood hotels at Aloft Miami Brickell, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Penny L, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We truly appreciate your detailed comments on your recent stay. Its great to hear you had an enjoyable experience during your stay and found our hotel clean with comfortable rooms and friendly staff. We appreciate your feedback on the parking and the drawer space in the guestrooms. We too hope to see you again during your next trip to the Brickell area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    50
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
9
33
10
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

For Miami, it was a bargain. We had tickets to see the Eagles at the AA Center and found the price of Aloft to be more than attractive. I knew this hotel, according to my husband, was billed as a hipster hotel with an attractive price. It's new, which to me meant clean and not overly used. That was true. We hit lots of traffic on the way down and were dangerously close to missing much of the concert, so we gave our car over to the valet and hustled in to check in. And waited. And waited. And waited. The only guy working the bull-pen style check-in desk had two tipsy girls flirting with him and it was clear even my huffing and puffing wasn't having an effect. The guy was enjoying himself too much to multitask. When we finally ran up to the room and ran back down to get a cab, the valet told us that a Friday rainy night in Miami didn't bode well for a cab. Sorry. Well, I stuck my arm out in true NY fashion and hailed one inside 5 minutes. A G&T at the bar later that night set us back $11, but the room was clean enough for one night without a "frill" in site. The price is right on what you get.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F. Lauderdale
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We decided we were going to stay overnight in Miami as we had a party to go to at the SLS South Beach. We stumbled upon the Aloft and made reservations as its a new hotel and brand we hadn't yet stayed at.

This hotel definitely has a modern, contemporary, fun vibe. The lobby area is great with the w xyz lounge, a pool table, a snack shop, and TVs. There is also a flashy ticker that runs along the wall. On Thursdays they have a DJ in the lobby and happy hour which was cool. The bartender was horrible though, we had to wait 20 minutes for 2 drinks and the bar wasn't packed at all. She then messed up an order for a dirty martini twice, pouring way too much vermouth! I usually would never send back a drink, let alone twice but the drink was literally undrinkable.

The room was crisp and modern, we were on the 13th floor (of 14) and had a great view of Brickell and downtown Miami. I loved that the rooms also came with a balcony but was surprised there were no chairs on them. The bed was comfortable, and in true W style the bliss amenities were in the bathroom and shower. They give complimentary bottled water which is a refreshing touch. A large flat screen is mounted on the wall and a great workstation and chair are in the room as well. The bathroom was really modern and spa inspired. All in all, I liked this hotel but the service could be stepped up. I called for a cab and instead of just calling one to the hotel I was told I'd have to call. Not a big deal, but little things like that & extensions of service make for a better experience. Other than that I'll definitely explore other aloft hotels in the future when traveling.

Room Tip: Request high floor, DJ on Thursday nights in the W XYZ lounge, Great happy hour
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Excellent new hotel in the downtown/Brickell area. Great rooms (many with balconies), excellent customer service, and value pricing make this a great choice in the area. There are also many restaurants within walking distance, as well as a large Publix grocery store. I'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Cartin, Starwood hotels at Aloft Miami Brickell, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Tal99. Thank you for your review. Happy to hear you found our hotel excellent with great rooms and a great location. We also hope to see you back soon. Again, thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capital Region, Venezuela
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

A very nice hotel in downtown Miami! Everything is new, modern and very comfortable. The personnel was always helpful and nice. Loved to have constant access to a snacks, coffee or fruit in the Re Fuel area.
Can't wait to visit again! Highly recommended!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Very modern Hotel, the customer service was great. Location very accessible from and to airport, restaurants , and downtown Brickel which is a gorgeous place. I wouldn't say is a vacation Hotel, is most likely business place. 51" TV screen!!! and free WIFI

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Cartin, Starwood hotels at Aloft Miami Brickell, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your review Julio M. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at the Aloft Miami Brickell and liked our great location and hotel amenities like free WiFi. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Brickell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Distrito Federal, Venezuela
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This was probably the best option regarding location/price/quality. Will definitely go back when in miami! The rooms are super nice and the view is awsome. PArking is easy and the service is the best. Make sure to take your sport clothing since is really nice to go out for a run in that area!

Room Tip: just call, the guys in the counter are really nice and will give you a better room is they have it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Miami Brickell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Miami Brickell

Address: 1001 SW 2nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Miami Brickell 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate your style at Aloft Miami-Brickell! Set in the financial district and minutes from Downtown, Port of Miami, Miami Beach, and major attractions like American Airlines Area and Bayside. Walk & explore -only a block from Brickell Metro train station and Mary Brickell Village (shopping, restaurants, nightlife, groceries).Our new Brickell hotel is unlike any other hotel in the Miami-Brickell area. You can mix and mingle over drinks and appetizers at our in-house W XYZ Bar. Relax in our Re:mix lounge, while shooting a game of pool and listening to some tunes. Plan a meeting in Tactic, our sleek meeting space, and come check out our beautiful Backyard for outdoor events!Rest easy, our guest rooms start on the 7th floor. Featuring loft-inspired rooms and suites with ultra-comfortable signature beds, oversized showerheads, custom amenities by Bliss Spa, and more. Every guest enjoys a 42" LED TV, desk with ergonomic desk chair, and connectivity station to maximize work and play.About Us:Aloft Miami-Brickell opened in August 2013. This vibrant and fresh hotel brand is a vision of W Hotels and part of Starwood. Offering 'Style at a Steal' this select-service hotel features loft-inspired rooms and suites set in a fresh and vibrant atmosphere. Offering 'Style at a Steal' this select-service hotel brand is doesn't feature room service, but does feature:(All items open 24 hours unless otherwise listed)* Re:fuel Grab & Go Snack Station- featuring healthy snacks, light meals, and sweet treats. * Re:mix Lounge- featuring mood music, a pool table, comfortable seating, and board games. * Re:charge Gym- connect your iPod/Android to brand new Life Fitness equipment, free weights, and yoga mats.* In-Touch Business Center- Check emails, print directions, or just surf the web.* W XYZ Bar- enjoy signature cocktails and appetizers. (5pm-12am)* Splash Pool- take a dive, swim some laps, or simply catch some rays. (6am-11pm)* Tactic Meeting Room- available for rent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Aloft Miami Brickell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Miami Brickell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.