We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME Encounter with a European Eagle Owl” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zoological Wildlife Foundation

Zoological Wildlife Foundation
16225 Sw 172nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33187
+1 305-969-3696
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 119 Attractions in Miami
Type: Zoos
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Zoological Wildlife Foundation has the only zoo in South Florida with as many animal encounters. We carry dozens of exotic species at our facility with many available for interactive activities involving our guests. The five acre zoo houses everything from domestic animals and primates to large predatory birds and mammals. Some of our popular selection of exotic zoo animals are Gibbon Apes, Sloths, Lemurs, owls, snakes, Anteater, Lions, Snow Leopards, and mischievous Capuchin monkeys - like those used in many movies. The Zoological Wildlife Foundation offers intimate tours and private encounters by appointment. Contact us to schedule a special tour with our exotic animals! It's an experience you will never forget. Tours must be prepaid and booked in advance in order to guarantee your desired date and time. Contact us for more information or to arrange a private custom tour.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AWESOME Encounter with a European Eagle Owl”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My wife loves owls so when I came across Zoological Wildlife Foundation’s Encounter with a European Eagle Owl I couldn’t resist booking our family the tickets for her birthday.

This was an Awesome Experience for my family and me, the staff was very courteous and knowledgeable and made my family feel very welcomed from time we arrived until we left. The one on one encounters definitely intensify the experience and my son cannot stop talking about holding a baby monkey and my wife can’t stop talking about holding an owl!

At first the price can seem intimidating but the experience turned out to be priceless… this is not your run of a mill zoo it is much more and my family is already talking about going back.

This is a real private tour, you are not combined with other families or groups. Your scheduled time is just that and the one on one with the staff taking you to each animal educating along the way was better than my previous city zoo experiences.

If you don’t try an encounter at ZWF you are missing out! Thanks ZWF for the great memories and making my wife’s birthday unforgettable!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria T, Manager at Zoological Wildlife Foundation, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for your review! We love to hear feedback from our guests. I am glad we were able to make an unforgettable experience for you and your family! Your comments are greatly appreciated and we hope you may visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    34
    14
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hands on Experience with Animals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My husband and I visited Zoological on our Honeymoon at the start of December 2013. This was one of our favourite moments of the trip.

This is definitely a "To Do", an experience animal lovers will never forget.

Our one on one guide was with Catherine who was fantastic. She provides you with information on each of the animals, but it is also clear how much she and the foundation cares for the animals.

We were able to have up close and personal encounters with the baby monkeys, lemurs, Sam & Samantha the toucans (Sam was one of our favourites :) ), cassowary babies and our encounters were with the sloth and the tiger cub.

We went to LA Zoo at the end of our trip and most of the animals looked sad. At Zoological the animals are looked after and you know that the money you're spending is actually looking after them.

Thank you to the team at Zoological, it was wonderful to meet the animals and see just what you are doing to help them. A special memory for us we will always remember.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria T, Manager at Zoological Wildlife Foundation, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for choosing to visit ZWF on your Honeymoon and all of us at ZWF would like to congratulate you both on your marriage! We thank you for acknowledging the hard work and dedication we put in to the animals and facility, and we are glad you enjoyed your unique up close and personal encounters at ZWF. It is wonderful to hear that your visit to our facility was one of the highlights of your trip. We hope you may visit us again in the future for another one of a kind experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Up close and personal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We had a great time. Very hands on. Our Guide Ally was awesome. The zoo is fine. This was an experience pn a different level. Holding and touching animals. You must experience this.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria T, Manager at Zoological Wildlife Foundation, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for for recent visit and review! It is important to us that every guest enjoys their experience and gets a unique interaction with our animals, to make this facility a very one of a kind adventure! Thanks for visiting us, and please do come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievable!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I can't praise the ZWF enough! We had a fantastic experience. Our guide Ally was great and the owner Marco spent some time with us as well. You book as a private tour and get information about each animal you visit. You are able to interact with many different animals including feeding, petting, holding, etc. It was a once in a lifetime kind of experience and it was much cheaper than you would expect something this cool to be. Worth the trip and worth every penny (all of which helps care for the animals) If you are anywhere near Miami, go visit the ZWF! You will NOT be disappointed!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria T, Manager at Zoological Wildlife Foundation, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you your comments! Our facility is always “undergoing transformation” as we continue to make our establishment better for our guests and for our animals. We thank you for your visit as it does play a large role in the enhancement of our facility. Please do visit us again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We're from St. Petersburg, FL. Having visited many zoo's, the ZWF was like no other. You get up close and personal to several exotic animals with an extremely knowledgeable and personable tour guide. Ally, our tour guide, welcomed us and was very friendly. She made sure we immersed ourselves into the experience, educated our group and also made it very memorable. Her dedication to the animals was very apparent and even made us feel very comfortable around them as well. We got to interact with many animals including a toucan, lemur, and anteater. All of which were very adorable! I strongly recommend visiting the foundation! We visited the foundation on 1/4/13.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria T, Manager at Zoological Wildlife Foundation, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for your recent review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience at our facility! Thank you for acknowledging the dedication our guides have to the animals and guests. Our tour guides have a strong passion for animals, and enjoy educating guests as well as providing a safe and fun experience for each patron. We do hope you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zoological Wildlife Foundation also viewed

 

Been to Zoological Wildlife Foundation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zoological Wildlife Foundation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.