We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a Long Life, Well-Lived!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pritikin Longevity Center & Spa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Miami
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pritikin Longevity Center & Spa
Save Saved
You added Pritikin Longevity Center & Spa to your Saves list
8755 NW 36th Street, Miami, FL 33178   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cooking Like a Pro
Ranked #1 of 35 Specialty lodging in Miami
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“For a Long Life, Well-Lived!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I have visited Pritikin at Doral twice: once with my husband and once with my mother. I would like to return annually if I can. Pritikin has a staff of highly credentialed experts who explain how to avoid (or reverse) "diseases of affluence" like obesity, high blood pressure, type II diabetes, coronary artery disease, and so on. For the more fit guests, there are opportunities for focusing on maximizing athletic performance, along with diagnostics for resting metabolic rate, DEXA scanned body composition, etc. It's best to elect the two week stay to get all the information, live the lifestyle, and get trained on how to keep things going when you return home.

The workout menu (in addition to the basic cardio and resistance training: zumba, yoga, tai chi, spinning, aquatics, etc) and specialty training compliments the steady servings of meals and snacks. Optional additional consultations with exercise physiologists, nutritionists, physiotherapists, medical doctors, even psychologists will keep you busy! Try to find time for one of the excellent spa treatments (masseurs are out of this world!) and to learn new skills in the daily cooking classes.

And, fully educated and armed for a renewed life, leave with lower cholesterol (mine dropped 60 points), lower blood pressure (I went from stage 1 hypertension to drug free 115/70) and weight loss momentum!

The price for two weeks in the "slow season" was less than our bill at Canyon Ranch for five days-- Pritikin was a much better and lasting value for me!

Room Tip: Happily, the rooms are being upgraded by the new Doral management (which is separate from the Pritik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
11
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I found the Pritikin Longevity Center by accident when I had a few days to kill in-between meetings in Miami. The first time I only stayed a few days and fell in love. I was instantly welcomed by staff and other guests and did not feel awkward or alone in any way. In fact, I made friends I keep in touch with to this day. This time I came back for two weeks to kick off the new year--and my 50th year of life. I needed to make permanent lifestyle changes so that I would be around for my kids and have a vibrant "second half." Although it was an investment, I figured it was less trouble and certainly less expensive than a nervous break-down. So, with family approval, I headed out. This facility is a life-long health curriculum based on the latest nutritional and exercise facts and research with cutting edge medical professionals and researchers leading the classes. On top of that it includes a lovely spa, delicious healthy low-salt and low-fat meals, and personalized fitness training. I have been here just a week, and I feel more energetic than I have in years, my fitness clothes are getting too big, and I have met incredible people from all over the world who make this pilgrimage regularly to ensure a long and energetic life. My "brain fog" is gone, and all of my vital stats (though they were not yet in the danger zone) have gone down drastically in one week. I feel hopeful and positive for the first time in a while. You want to be pampered and lazy? Go to a regular 'ole spa, then head back to your stressful, unhealthy life. If you want to achieve things you never thought you could, and be pampered, spoiled, listened to, validated, and energized--go to Pritikin! Best investment I ever made.

Room Tip: The Doral Resort, where Pritikin is located, has been purchased by Trump International and is underg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The most incredible two weeks of my life -- fantastic staff, incredible opportunities to learn from experts in their fields, and just this warm -- highly motivating environment created by truly passionate people who just want to help me to succeed and improve my life. I am especially grateful to the fitness team, the cooks and servers, the doctors and nutritionists -- each of you made a tremendous difference in my experience -- but more importantly in how I will live life from this point forward. Truly a stellar program -- from start to finish. Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

The program is right on and will definitely make you live longer. Do not go with an expectation for service to match the high price of the program. You are paying for the information. If you go expecting deplorable service and very run down rooms, then you will have no problems. They need to have some sort of polishing orientation for the service and restaurant staff. I am sure you would agree waiting 2.5 hours for dinner on a number of occasions is unexceptable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HubertW_GM, General Manager at Pritikin Longevity Center & Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
I would like to thank you for your comments. As expressed personally when you and I spoke during your stay we acknowledge and apologize for the fact that there were longer than usual waits during the holiday dinner, when guests were taking their time enjoying the evening and dining leisurely.
It is unfortunate that your positive experience in the program was impacted by the challenges you encountered in the dining room.
We addressed the matter with our staff and are confident that there are no other occasions with such an unacceptable wait time.
We are happy that you experienced the benefits of our life saving program and are sorry that your dining experiences overshadowed the knowledge you gained while staying with us.
We are very proud of our team, which we consider a family, and are thankful that you gave us the opportunity to further improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I recently spent a week at the Pritikin Longevity Center & Spa in Miami, Florida and thoroughly enjoyed the program. Once cleared by the doctors, the exercise classes, yoga and Tai Chi is fantastic. The food is great - for no salt, no sugar, almost no fat. I was a little disappointed that they use splenda in certain dishes - however the daily menu page indicates which dishes have splenda. This week was a great kick start to a healthy lifestyle and the afternoon lectures were informative - all science based which appealed to me. While the program is excellent the resort -Dural - is sadly in need of a complete overhaul. The resort was recently purchased and is undergoing renovations. I changed rooms after the first night to get away from a mouldy/musty smell that most of the guests in my lodge (#2) also complained about. The other downside to the resort is that it isn't cleaned thoroughly. A plate of crumbs was left outside the Yoga studio almost for the entire week I was there. I treated myself to a massage in the spa, and it was worth it. The Pritikin Center is separate to the Dural resort - so it gets a bit confusing as to who is responsible for the upkeep and cleanliness of all the spaces. Above and beyond all of this, if you need to change your lifestyle to improve your current health or need a kickstart and are willing to adopt this very strict but healthy way to eat, then I would recommend this program. In my short week, my LDL cholesterol had a significant reduction.

Room Tip: The lodge rooms are closest to the renovations so while these are underway, staying in one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PritikinCenter, General Manager at Pritikin Longevity Center & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Pritikin Program. We are very happy to hear you had a positive experience kickstarting a healthy lifestyle. We have spoken with both the staff here at Pritikin and Doral to ensure the issue you had with the plate outside the yoga studio does not happen again.

We are all looking forward to the completion of the resort renovations which will include a comprehensive transformation of the facilities which will include 640 completely remodeled guestrooms; revamped main building, lobby, fitness center, ballrooms, pool and spa and more!

The new guestrooms will be adorned in a chic palette of elegant neutrals accentuated with Mahogany wood and gold leaf Spanish revival details. Furnishings will be comprised of lush fabrics and classic herringbone and geometric patterns for additional glamorous touches.

Thank you,
Hubert E. Wewer
General Manager
Pritikin Longevity Center + Spa at Doral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I have been here for 5 days and already we are feeling better, blood sugar in normal ranges, all blood factors are in range and weight is down. The education is better than anything you can read or hear. Everyone would benefit by attending Prikitin.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The program is second to none - the education is phenomenal and the staff are wonderful. Very patient and kind, willing to answer any questions you have. The food takes a bit to get used to, but once you adjust it's wonderful too. Highly recommend for anyone looking to improve their health and quality of life.

Room Tip: Ask if there are any groups visiting or tournaments and ask to be placed in a lodge or room away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pritikin Longevity Center & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pritikin Longevity Center & Spa

Address: 8755 NW 36th Street, Miami, FL 33178
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Specialty lodging in Miami
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pritikin Longevity Center + Spa has two main purposes- getting you back your health and off your medications. Whether you suffer from high blood pressure, diabetes, are seeking a weight loss spa, or you are just looking for a healthy vacation, we can help. Located on 650 tropical acres in Miami, Florida, at the Pritikin health resort and fitness camp, you will attend informative lectures, establish a fitness regime that works for you, and choose from a plethora of fitness and educational options from hands on cooking classes, yoga to kickboxing, and Zumba, all within the tropical setting and lush landscaping of our beautiful grounds.While you are relaxing at the pool under the bright Florida sun, or enjoying a delicious and healthful meal at our restaurant, you will be in good hands. Pritikin's board certified physicians will teach you eye opening facts about the typical diet, why it doesn't work, and what you can do to improve your quality of life. Our results have been proven- by the end of your stay, you will be armed with the tools to affect a dramatic lifestyle change. Needing a vacation has never been more literal. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pritikin Longevity Center & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.