We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life Changing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pritikin Longevity Center & Spa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Miami
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pritikin Longevity Center & Spa
Save
You added Pritikin Longevity Center & Spa to your Saves list
8755 NW 36th Street, Miami, FL 33178   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Executive Physical
Ranked #1 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Miami
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Life Changing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We came with modest expectations and mixed comments from people who had been here before. After two days we were hooked to the life changing programs, lectures, exercise programs, medical consultations and an exceptionally caring staff. We had little time for enjoying the beautiful 'campus" as all our days were filled with lessons which have changed our life.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
23
52
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dix Hills, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I just returned from my third visit to Pritikin. Many of the guests come here yearly for "tune-ups." Many people come alone but there's a good mix of couples and singles. I've heard so many stories from people who no longer needed heart surgery after a month at Pritikin, people who were able to get off their medication, etc. Most of the guests come for two weeks and I think that's preferable. However, I was there for one week. The educational aspects of the center are first and foremost. Lectures take place most of the day (after a morning of exercise under the care of exercise physiologists with years of experience.) You may think you know everything about eating right, but these lectures leave you feeling like everything you knew was just not enough. The food is very good, despite no salt, sugar or fat. It takes a day or two for your taste buds to begin tasting the food rather than the salt. The medical staff has everything down pat. I highly recommend a private session with the physical therapist - he's amazing. I can't say enough about Pritikin and its education. This is not a place to go for weight loss, although it does happen. It's a place to go to ensure that the rest of your life is healthy and long. And who doesn't want that?!

Room Tip: You don't need a suite at the spa. You're never in your room.The rooms at the Lodge are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Instead of a cruise this year my wife and I decided to return to Pritikin Longevity Center. It was a brilliant decision. Instead of fat and caloric overexposure (not to mention overflowing toilets etc) we discovered fabulous cuisine, a great and energizing exercise program and fascinating entertainment in the form of lectures. PHD Dr. Jay Kenney is funnier than Chris Rock and more informative than your best college professor. And the food is spectacular. Removed two blood pressure meds in the first week with the lowest readings in 40 years. Oh yes, it's located at the Blue Monster golf course at Doral. Saw Tiger! We feel renewed and invigorated.

Room Tip: Find out what Trump has put his magic hands on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HubertW_GM, General Manager at Pritikin Longevity Center & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Good day,

I couldn't have said it better myself, A cruise vacation cannot compare to the HEALTHY vacation you experience here at Pritikin Longevity Center, Its Life Changing! I am happy to know that you had such a wonderful experience. We wish you the best of success in continuing the Pritkin program at home and look forward to being able to host you and your family again soon.

Hubert Wewer, GM
Pritikin Longevity Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

An eye opening education to a new way of eating. It's an experience that will change the way you look at food. Learn facts from fads. The staff of doctors and exercise specialists are exceptional. The day is busy going from exercise class to doctors appointments, lectures and cooking classes. The spa is a must.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Once I understood the philosophy and the science behind it, the Pritikin way is just common sense. Exercising and eating right has never been this rewarding. The education I received will influence my cooking as well as my choices. I wish the medical community recommended this experience to everyone.

Room Tip: I've stayed at Lodge 2 for both visits..perfect accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The Pritikin Longevity Center and Spa surpasses all the health oriented journeys I have taken ...and I have taken many! Library of Congress calls me for a diet book! It has taken me too long to learn a life style that is healthy, normal, delicious and exciting! I wish I had discovered this years ago, but I am finding that anytime is a help and the program is maintainable at home. This is our first week and already we are changed for the better. Losing 2 pounds in 2 1/2 days has been a side benefit. I know my blood sugar and blood panel with be improved. The activities are fun with choices such as zumba, aquatics, yoga or relaxing in this beautiful Doral Resort in addition. The daily workouts are with supportive personnel and excellent equipment in the gym! The teachers are doctors and specialist. They challenge your thinking and enlighten! I also value the medical aspect of the program. Love the food without salt and sugar...energy level is up and we are feeling great....will come back for refreshers to maintain this healthy life style! Thank you Pritikin!

Room Tip: Any room here at the Doral Golf and Country Club is great. You are never in your room so go with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I came to Pritikin without knowing much about the place. I wanted some sunshine and heard I could lose a few pounds along the way. The gift that I received here was knowledge. Knowledge about how I can improve and maintain excellent health for the rest of my life. To say I was surprised by much of what I learned here would be an understatement. I thought I was living a relatively healthy life, making good choices... but now I know what I need to do to properly take care of myself going forward and more importantly, how to do it. The entire staff, the medical, nutrition, cooking and fitness experts are all wonderful and truly committed to what they do. The guests I met here have been warm and friendly. Coming here on my own was not a problem at all. This trip was a perfect blend of fun, fitness and learning - a very pleasant surprise! I am leaving here feeling better than I have in years !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pritikin Longevity Center & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pritikin Longevity Center & Spa

Address: 8755 NW 36th Street, Miami, FL 33178
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Miami
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pritikin Longevity Center + Spa has two main purposes- getting you back your health and off your medications. Whether you suffer from high blood pressure, diabetes, are seeking a weight loss spa, or you are just looking for a healthy vacation, we can help. Located on 650 tropical acres in Miami, Florida, at the Pritikin health resort and fitness camp, you will attend informative lectures, establish a fitness regime that works for you, and choose from a plethora of fitness and educational options from hands on cooking classes, yoga to kickboxing, and Zumba, all within the tropical setting and lush landscaping of our beautiful grounds.While you are relaxing at the pool under the bright Florida sun, or enjoying a delicious and healthful meal at our restaurant, you will be in good hands. Pritikin's board certified physicians will teach you eye opening facts about the typical diet, why it doesn't work, and what you can do to improve your quality of life. Our results have been proven- by the end of your stay, you will be armed with the tools to affect a dramatic lifestyle change. Needing a vacation has never been more literal. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pritikin Longevity Center & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.