We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Mexican Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Vato Tequila and Taco Bar

El Vato Tequila and Taco Bar
1010 S Miami Ave, Miami, FL 33130
(305) 523-2393
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #421 of 3,429 Restaurants in Miami
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Great atmosphere outside. Good Service. We looked all week for a good Mexican place on our trip and this hit the mark! Fair prices as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    6
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very fresh, near authentic Mexican food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We don't live in Miami, but this place makes us wish we did! We have been searching for good Mexican food since we moved I Florida and we have found it! We will definitely be eating here the next time we're in Miami!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
130 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Fun, funky, and good food, too.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were in the mood for Mexican food, and my husband remembered seeing this place when we had walked around the night before. He also remembered it mentioned in an Internet search for vegetarian food. We went on a Monday night, so we practically had the place to ourselves. It may not always be like that, but for us, the service was extremely attentive without being pushy. There were lots of veggie choices. I had a vegan quesadilla, with vegan cheese and soy "ground beef." Not like anything I've had the opportunity to eat before. It was yummy. My husband had a vegetarian burrito that he said was delicious. There is a sports car parked in front of the big screen TV, which was playing a Miami Heat game. Funky lighting, comfortable banquettes, and outdoor seating if you want it. In summary, a really nice place.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We loved this place. The food is a-w-e-s-o-m-e. We loved the quesadillas. They use prime and organic ingredients and you can tell, the food melts in your mouth. Service is top of the notch. Great value for money too. The area is also very nice and a good break from the craziness of South Beach. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Not many choices on the menu , good place to go but don't expext much from the food. My experience in this place is average to low.... You can find better food for sure...

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Vato Tequila and Taco Bar also viewed

 

Been to El Vato Tequila and Taco Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Vato Tequila and Taco Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.