We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Naoe Miami

Naoe Miami
Courvoisier Centre, 661 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131
+1 305-947-6263
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Naoe Miami is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #181 of 3,658 Restaurants in Miami
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: SE 8 Street
Description: Chef Kevin Cory specializes in natural Japanese cuisine at NAOE(R). Every Monday through Saturday, Chef Kevin Cory serves a unique Chef's Choice menu starting at $200 per person. As the menu is prepared specially each day, please clear any special requests 10 days in advance. Reservations are required and exclusively accepted online via OpenTable. Please allow two to three hours of your time for the dinner.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I went here for my birthday dinner on July 6 and we were blown away. A good friend got us a last minute reservation and we were so lucky! Best sushi experience in North America. Chef Kevin Cory is amazing (sit at the counter so you can watch him work) and Wendy is a consummate hostess.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    5
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Words can't even describe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

I am blown away. This is not just a dinner. This is an absolute experience. The chef is a true artist and culinary genius. 10 course meal crafted for the pallet. Each bite gets better and better. The sake is out of this world and the two waitresses were so knowledgable. Going to naoe makes any other restaurant you go to seem so mass produced. This is a meal specifically crafted for the 16 diners that come in a night. We spent about $500 so do be prepared.
However worth EVERY penny!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallandale
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“I Wish There Was A Rating For Restaurants of Legendary Caliber”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have been enjoying the epicurean art of Kevin Cory since his days at Siam River. I knew I was on to someone special then and time has proven me right. I have worked as a chef at a 5 star restaurant under a 2 star Michelin chef, eaten at many of the best restaurants in this country and have had sushi experiences in Japan and I can honestly say that my dining experiences with Kevin, and particularly at Naoe, surpass all of those.

First of all there is the quality of his ingredients. Many things are flown in daily from Japan and I believe he serves sake that you cannot get elsewhere (I am not a sake fan, so I can't elaborate on that aspect).

Second is the his artistic vision. Kevin creates very unique and differentiated offerings based upon exquisite flavors and extraordinary texture combinations. Not only are they a sensory & taste delight for your palate but also for your eyes. Incredible creations.

Third is the hospitality. Unlike so many of the talented and successful chefs & restaurateurs I have encountered over the years, Kevin does not seem to possess any arrogance in spite of his extreme talent. He comes across very sincere, humble and appreciative. Very refreshing in this time of celebrity chefs and their overblown egos. When you dine with Kevin at Naoe, you are welcomed with the true spirit of hospitality and service.

Is it expensive? Relative to the quality and experience, I would have to say it is a fair value. If you don't want to pay for quality, and a unique culinary art experience, then you should dine elsewhere. There is a reason you pay more at Naoe and it is justified.

Does it require a commitment of time? Yes and it is time well-spent. Again, it is not just a meal, it is an experience and one that is meant to be slowly savored, reflected upon and discussed. Share it with someone whose company you enjoy and with whom you want to share a unique experience and I cannot imagine your being disappointed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best dinner experience EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My girlfriend and I came here for Valentines dinner and we still talk about this place regularly. This was by far the best sushi experience I have ever had and probably the best meal. The staff was unbelievable and the food was out of this world. I am still waiting to make our next reservation....waiting only because of the price which I feel is still worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Possibly the best meal I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Chef Kevin Corey and his manager Wendy deserve a James Beard combo award if there were such a thing.
I feel honored to say I have dined at Naoe. The food is beyond my descriptive talent. It should be noted that this venue is not for beginners looking for a American style Japanese experience. It is authentic and unique all at the same time.
The family brewed sake is worthy of world class recognition.
Go.
Eight seats, two seatings per night.
There is a reason people fly in to eat here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Naoe Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naoe Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.