We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice story” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pollos & Jarras

Pollos & Jarras
115 NE 3rd Ave, Miami, FL (Downtown)
786.567.4940
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 3,717 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a nice story”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

To be honest...I didn't want to go there. From the outside it looks like a cheap restaurant...and from the street you can even see part of the kitchen. Not my style..but one of the guys in the kitchen "invited us" to dinner there. He was kind of beggin...so for our last night in Miami I said "ok, poor man, let's try it"...With our stroller we came in..."oh no place only high chairs like in a bar" with a 2 years old baby, no way..."but, no, you can take the elevator"...and since that moment...magic. Even the elevator is nice decorated...and when we got into...it was nice...We sat down with my husband...and then the waiter came, he explained everything in a nice way...and been patient with our little one....then a little soup and the meal...oh my God, I can not remember the name, but mine was like peruvian sushi...amazing. Their limonade...great...and even the manager came to discuss with us. If one day I go to Miami again, for sure I will go there

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    35
    8
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor service waiter”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We were there last night for the first time. Our waiter was not that great at all. He forgot to put an order of the chicken gizzards so when we ask him where is the order? His response was that he figured that we had order alot of food and he decided to not put the order of the chicken gizzards. he didnt ask us "the ones paying" if we wanted to cancel the order! First time we come across a waiter that decides that a customer should not order an additional plate because he feels the customer ordered too much. At the begining He forgot to get a drink where we had to remind him 2x about it. So we concluded that he forgot to put the order of the chicken gizzards but would rather lie about it and throw it on us that we had order too much! I guess the owner will be short 12 dollars thanks to the waitress
The food tasted ok. Nothing to die for. We will not be returning. Poor service!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Unique Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Pollos y Jarras specializes in Peruvian-style rotisserie chicken, which I'd never tasted before. It was a bit on the salty side, but was yummy. My wife had an excellent ceviche and we had some interesting fresh juices (including one made from peppercorns). Kids really enjoyed the food and atomsphere.

Would definitely return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Something a bit different downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Came here after a heat match and was impressed. They have a really wide selection of Lebanese food which is very tasty and something a bit different. They also have a good choice of cocktails.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Biscayne, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

great food and service. walk from work for lunch at least once a week. have a very diverse menu, prices are good

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pollos & Jarras also viewed

 

Been to Pollos & Jarras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pollos & Jarras, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.