We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Relaxing...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deering Estate at Cutler

Deering Estate at Cutler
16701 S. W. 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33157
305-235-1668
Update attraction details
Ranked #25 of 117 attractions in Miami
Type: Historic Sites, Parks
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: An unpretentiously historic home from the 1920s.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Relaxing...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

The Deering Estate is a wonderful place to visit. I'll list 3 of my favorite things about it. 1- The natural beauty. There are wonderful flowers and birds all throughout the property. 2- The Architecture. The property is lovely with many different sections such as the Wine Cellar and the Ballroom. And 3- The Ocean. You can sit by the ocean and breathe in the ocean air. It is breathtakingly beautiful!! If you're ever in Miami I definitely recommend visiting this beautiful historical landmark..

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    24
    9
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Interesting house/hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The houses are interesting. Don't miss the wine cellar! The grounds are good for a stroll. Since much of this this is out doors, visit in the cooler months. We visited during a fair, which was fun!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Understated elegance in Miami.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I found out about the Deering Estate last year while touring Vizcaya (owned by Charles' brother James). The home while not on the same scale as Vizcaya, should not be overlooked. The home is elegant but not overdone.

The home consists of the Richmond Cottage which was once a hotel and then the stone mansion. My friend and I arrived and parked. We made our way up the beautiful palm tree and flower lined pathway. We locate the courtyard where we are to meet for the 3 o’clock tour and go on past the home to the back. Here guests are treated to sweeping and stunning views f Biscayne Bay. There is a palm tree lined bay and I could not help but notice the sign warning visitors they might encounter crocodiles. But we never did. We strolled the perfectly manicured grounds enjoying the views of the bay and the home and snapping pictures.

We make our way back to the home and wait for the 3 o’clock tour to begin. We start our tour with the 1922 Richmond Cottage and make our way to the mansion. One thing I notice is that the home is only partially furnished. When the family could no longer afford the home they sold off most of the furniture. The estate is trying to recover as much of the original furnishings as possible.

The mansion features ornate iron work and has a very protected wine cellar which is locked away behind a large locked vault. Unfortunately flooding from a hurricane destroyed the cellar. A walkway ceiling is embedding with years old fossils. After the tour we were allowed to roam back around in the houses.

While the home does not have the gilded age opulence of Vizcaya..in the ballroom there is a picture of the family castle in Spain which is quite stunning. Guests are also allowed to take pictures inside the home which is very unusual.

The home is quite a popular quincetera and wedding venue. They were preparing for wedding on the lawn while we were touring the mansion and 2 of the couples on the tour were having their wedding at the home. There is also a path that will lead you out to a fossil area but we needed to leave right afterwards so we never made it there. They do offer classes and events throughout the year. They do have restrooms but there is not a gift shop or restaurant on the grounds.

The home is well worth seeking out especially for those who have an appreciation of historic homes and architecture.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pembroke pines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Old Waterfront Mansion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I loved learning the history of the James Deering Estate built for a special woman, the love of his life. He built it using many materials and furniture pieces imported from Europe. The home faces beautiful Biscayne Bay which leads to the Atlantic ocean. The acreage is large and the grounds are beautiful. The tour helps you learn about novel plumbing, cooling and heating methods and to see the clothing and dinnerware used by the wealthy
in the 1800's.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“pretty but boring”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This place is very nice. You can sit by the bay and see the deering home which is neat but that's about it. Not a day full of fun

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deering Estate at Cutler also viewed

 

Been to Deering Estate at Cutler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deering Estate at Cutler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.