We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice drive to Cutler, FL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deering Estate at Cutler

Deering Estate at Cutler
16701 S. W. 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33157
305-235-1668
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #25 of 120 Attractions in Miami
Type: Historic Sites, Parks
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: An unpretentiously historic home from the 1920s.
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice drive to Cutler, FL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Really enjoyed comparing Viscaya to Deering Estate and seeing the "countryside" of Miami. The walking trail through the mangrove trees was beautiful and very wheelchair accessible ! Would enjoy a bike trip one day. Wish they had a small cafe or area to sit and enjoy the peacefulness of the restored houses and guest home. Great day and worth the drive.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    27
    10
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“NOT WORTH THE ENTRANCE FEE”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I don't know what all the fuss is about. Yes, it's nice. The view is pretty, but the house itself is nothing special. You can walk through it in five minutes or less and it won't leave an impression on you. The rooms are nearly empty, with all the original furnishing gone. Maybe if you go during a special program, you'll enjoy it more.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We went with my sister-in-laws and my three kids and they loved it the views are expectacular!!! The day we went there was an event with animals and information with activities for kid. To our surprice there was a mom manaty and its caff by the shore it was beautiful. Great for special events :)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The People's Pier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My visit was on one of the coldest mornings this winter; for Florida folks, it was very brisk; the sky was brilliant and blue and so clear. I had lived in the area before the estate grounds were open for the public, so I was very excited to see it at last. What a beautiful stretch of lawn leading from the rather modest historic cottage to Biscayne Bay. What a beautiful expanse of water and sky, blending seamlessly. In an hour or less, one could stroll the whole property, or simply sit and enjoy the view. I was not able to tour the modest historic home, (so modest in comparison with his brother's mansion further north), and yet it felt so comfortable and liveable. The important point was the strip of land to the south of the property, part of the estate but deliberately left open with a small landing/boat dock at the end. This Deering brother recognized that ordinary folks had access rights to the bay and it's environs. This Deering brother seemed to be so much morea man of the people than his brother up the road.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, beautiful historical site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Great events and great location. Enjoy a quiet walk along the water and have a great picnic on the lawn. A historical landmark that is a great for locals and visitors alike.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Deering Estate at Cutler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deering Estate at Cutler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.