We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The People's Pier” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deering Estate at Cutler

Deering Estate at Cutler
16701 S. W. 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33157
305-235-1668
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 122 attractions in Miami
Type: Historic Sites, Parks
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: An unpretentiously historic home from the 1920s.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The People's Pier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My visit was on one of the coldest mornings this winter; for Florida folks, it was very brisk; the sky was brilliant and blue and so clear. I had lived in the area before the estate grounds were open for the public, so I was very excited to see it at last. What a beautiful stretch of lawn leading from the rather modest historic cottage to Biscayne Bay. What a beautiful expanse of water and sky, blending seamlessly. In an hour or less, one could stroll the whole property, or simply sit and enjoy the view. I was not able to tour the modest historic home, (so modest in comparison with his brother's mansion further north), and yet it felt so comfortable and liveable. The important point was the strip of land to the south of the property, part of the estate but deliberately left open with a small landing/boat dock at the end. This Deering brother recognized that ordinary folks had access rights to the bay and it's environs. This Deering brother seemed to be so much morea man of the people than his brother up the road.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    26
    9
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, beautiful historical site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Great events and great location. Enjoy a quiet walk along the water and have a great picnic on the lawn. A historical landmark that is a great for locals and visitors alike.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I'm glad I didn't pay to get into the Deering Estate. I'm a long-time MIami resident and went here about 15 years ago. The house itself is very modest compared to Deering's brother who owned Vizcaya towards downtown Miami. What was so disappointing was that the house was virtually empty of the family's furnishings and belongings. Most of the rooms had no furniture and they just left it completely empty.

Even the artwork had nothing to do with the family. They give art classes on the premises and it looked like some of it was done by their student, however it was random material. There was no sense of how the family lived in the house. There was supposed to be a tour at 3pm, however no one showed up for it. Even the nature trails were really devoid of any educational or historical perspective. For the $12 admission price I'd recommend going elsewhere.
It is a pretty place to bring a picnic lunch and sit and read, but if you're looking for history this is not the place.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant, Michigan
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
395 helpful votes 395 helpful votes
“Nice place, interesting buildings, quick visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We took the tour earlirr this month. The place is a gem but the tour was a bit disappointing--not sure they told enough about the guy himself, where he made his money. Not too busy when we were there, not sure how popular this location is. Glad we went once, but we saw it all and one visit is enough.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Great nature tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The nature tours here are terrific. We went on the trail and learned about archeological sites, flora and fauna, as well as efforts to restore original plants, water and general nature habitat. The lecturer really cared about her subject and taught us much. Don't miss this if you want to understand the unique ecosystems in this area. I saw it with new eyes. The staff is very dedicated, knowledgeable and friendly. This was a truly relaxing, educational and fun experience.

The tour of the homes was fine. They are kept in great condition. However, the nature tours are what sets this place apart, as well as the exceptional staff. Don't go on the nature walk in the summer unless you enjoy mosquito attacks. The website is excellent. Consult it before you go.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deering Estate at Cutler also viewed

 

Been to Deering Estate at Cutler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deering Estate at Cutler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Deering Estate at Cutler to your Saves list