We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The People's Pier” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deering Estate at Cutler

Deering Estate at Cutler
16701 S. W. 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33157
+1 305-235-1668
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$65*
and up
Ranked #37 of 296 things to do in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Deering Estate is a Miami-Dade County Park and a 444-acre natural and archeological preserve and historic site listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It serves as a center for education, culture and recreation. Historic house tours are offered daily at 10:30 am and 3:00 pm. Natural areas tours are offered daily at 12:30 pm (October - May). The Historic House Tours and Natural Areas Tour are included with Estate admission: $12 for adults & $7 for children (ages 4-14).
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The People's Pier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My visit was on one of the coldest mornings this winter; for Florida folks, it was very brisk; the sky was brilliant and blue and so clear. I had lived in the area before the estate grounds were open for the public, so I was very excited to see it at last. What a beautiful stretch of lawn leading from the rather modest historic cottage to Biscayne Bay. What a beautiful expanse of water and sky, blending seamlessly. In an hour or less, one could stroll the whole property, or simply sit and enjoy the view. I was not able to tour the modest historic home, (so modest in comparison with his brother's mansion further north), and yet it felt so comfortable and liveable. The important point was the strip of land to the south of the property, part of the estate but deliberately left open with a small landing/boat dock at the end. This Deering brother recognized that ordinary folks had access rights to the bay and it's environs. This Deering brother seemed to be so much morea man of the people than his brother up the road.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    42
    19
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, beautiful historical site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Great events and great location. Enjoy a quiet walk along the water and have a great picnic on the lawn. A historical landmark that is a great for locals and visitors alike.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I'm glad I didn't pay to get into the Deering Estate. I'm a long-time MIami resident and went here about 15 years ago. The house itself is very modest compared to Deering's brother who owned Vizcaya towards downtown Miami. What was so disappointing was that the house was virtually empty of the family's furnishings and belongings. Most of the rooms had no furniture and they just left it completely empty.

Even the artwork had nothing to do with the family. They give art classes on the premises and it looked like some of it was done by their student, however it was random material. There was no sense of how the family lived in the house. There was supposed to be a tour at 3pm, however no one showed up for it. Even the nature trails were really devoid of any educational or historical perspective. For the $12 admission price I'd recommend going elsewhere.
It is a pretty place to bring a picnic lunch and sit and read, but if you're looking for history this is not the place.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant, Michigan
Level Contributor
411 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 527 helpful votes
“Nice place, interesting buildings, quick visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We took the tour earlirr this month. The place is a gem but the tour was a bit disappointing--not sure they told enough about the guy himself, where he made his money. Not too busy when we were there, not sure how popular this location is. Glad we went once, but we saw it all and one visit is enough.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Great nature tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The nature tours here are terrific. We went on the trail and learned about archeological sites, flora and fauna, as well as efforts to restore original plants, water and general nature habitat. The lecturer really cared about her subject and taught us much. Don't miss this if you want to understand the unique ecosystems in this area. I saw it with new eyes. The staff is very dedicated, knowledgeable and friendly. This was a truly relaxing, educational and fun experience.

The tour of the homes was fine. They are kept in great condition. However, the nature tours are what sets this place apart, as well as the exceptional staff. Don't go on the nature walk in the summer unless you enjoy mosquito attacks. The website is excellent. Consult it before you go.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Deering Estate at Cutler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deering Estate at Cutler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.