We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, beautiful historical site” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deering Estate at Cutler

Deering Estate at Cutler
16701 S. W. 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33157
+1 305-235-1668
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Deering Estate at Cutler like an insider
$65*
and up
Ranked #41 of 277 things to do in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Deering Estate at Cutler is a Miami-Dade County Park and a 444-acre natural and archeological preserve and historic site listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It serves as a center for education, culture and recreation. Historic house tours are offered daily at 10:30 am and 3:00 pm. Natural areas tours are offered daily at 12:30 pm (October - May). The Historic House Tours and Natural Areas Tour are included with Estate admission: $12 for adults & $7 for children (ages 4-14).
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, beautiful historical site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Great events and great location. Enjoy a quiet walk along the water and have a great picnic on the lawn. A historical landmark that is a great for locals and visitors alike.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    35
    18
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I'm glad I didn't pay to get into the Deering Estate. I'm a long-time MIami resident and went here about 15 years ago. The house itself is very modest compared to Deering's brother who owned Vizcaya towards downtown Miami. What was so disappointing was that the house was virtually empty of the family's furnishings and belongings. Most of the rooms had no furniture and they just left it completely empty.

Even the artwork had nothing to do with the family. They give art classes on the premises and it looked like some of it was done by their student, however it was random material. There was no sense of how the family lived in the house. There was supposed to be a tour at 3pm, however no one showed up for it. Even the nature trails were really devoid of any educational or historical perspective. For the $12 admission price I'd recommend going elsewhere.
It is a pretty place to bring a picnic lunch and sit and read, but if you're looking for history this is not the place.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant, Michigan
Top Contributor
368 reviews 368 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 172 cities Reviews in 172 cities
510 helpful votes 510 helpful votes
“Nice place, interesting buildings, quick visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We took the tour earlirr this month. The place is a gem but the tour was a bit disappointing--not sure they told enough about the guy himself, where he made his money. Not too busy when we were there, not sure how popular this location is. Glad we went once, but we saw it all and one visit is enough.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Great nature tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The nature tours here are terrific. We went on the trail and learned about archeological sites, flora and fauna, as well as efforts to restore original plants, water and general nature habitat. The lecturer really cared about her subject and taught us much. Don't miss this if you want to understand the unique ecosystems in this area. I saw it with new eyes. The staff is very dedicated, knowledgeable and friendly. This was a truly relaxing, educational and fun experience.

The tour of the homes was fine. They are kept in great condition. However, the nature tours are what sets this place apart, as well as the exceptional staff. Don't go on the nature walk in the summer unless you enjoy mosquito attacks. The website is excellent. Consult it before you go.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Worth seeing on its own, but also as a comparison to Vizcaya! The old Florida is history worth keeping, and the moguls that lived here had beautiful homes!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Deering Estate at Cutler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deering Estate at Cutler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.