We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced dump with bad service and racist pictures on the walls.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Miami Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Miami Airport to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Miami Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7707 NW 103rd Street, Miami, FL 33016   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #96 of 129 Hotels in Miami
RICHMOND
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Overpriced dump with bad service and racist pictures on the walls.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

I would not have picked this place for myself, but I was attending a convention held at this location. For over 100 dollars a night, I expect to at least get a clean bathroom, but that was not to be. Rooms have been touched up with a lick of paint and new carpet, but the bathrooms appear to have not been updated (or cleaned) since the facility was built. Filthy, stained and cracked tile, covered in old hair, a tub I wouldn't have stood in on a bet and a sink that had leaked rust into the floor below the drain.

The wall decor consisted of caricatures of Black people toiling in orange groves, living in shacks and fishing in the river. The pictures were one of the only new things in the room, so someone apparently thought this was appropriate for 2013.

The last straw was the next morning, when we tried to go to the hotel restaurant for breakfast, only to be informed that it was closed to the public for the exclusive use of another group that was also having a function that weekend.

I don't care what is going on at this hotel in the future, I will be staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert E, General Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Miami Airport, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Mary B-- Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay. I am sorry to hear about your experience regarding room cleanliness. I have shared your comments with our housekeeping team and they are making sure best practices are in place so these issues do not surface again. I apologize that the restaurant was not open because it was reserved for a large group during your visit.

The art work in our guestrooms has a “Caribbean” theme. We have guests from many parts of the world who seem to like the decor. The print that you referenced is titled, “People carrying lots of fruit.” I apologize if you were offended by the rustic island depictions.

Thanks again and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    225
    253
    151
    150
See reviews for
298
215
94
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Excellent room in a full service hotel. Free garage parking for a 2 week cruise and free cooked to order breakfast was a real plus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert E, General Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Miami Airport, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Sandra W--Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your stay at the Howard Johnson Plaza hotel. I appreciate the kind words and I hope that you enjoyed your cruise. I look forward to having you as a guest on your next visit to Miami.

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tonawanda
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The front desk needed more help. The rooms and the entire building needs renovations. The chairs inside the room were dirty and stained. The tile in the bathroom and sinks were old. The blankets on the bed worn out. It needs major updates!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert E, General Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Miami Airport, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Aide S--Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. Let me take this opportunity to offer my sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations and for not creating a memorable stay for you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel is not fancy but is good for a short shopping trip. Taxis are very difficult to get when shopping at Walmart late. We waited over 2 hours.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Miami Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Miami Airport

Address: 7707 NW 103rd Street, Miami, FL 33016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Miami Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Miami Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miami Howard Johnson
Hialeah Gardens Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Miami Airport
Howard Johnson Hialeah Gardens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Miami Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.