We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The stay at the hotel was very good. However, I had to call...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Miami Airport

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Miami Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Miami Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7707 NW 103rd Street, Miami, FL 33016   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #86 of 129 hotels in Miami
Peterborough
1 review
“The stay at the hotel was very good. However, I had to call...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The stay at the hotel was very good. However, I had to call 4times to reserve our room. I was transferred several times with no reply. The final straw was after being transferred to the front desk someone answered and said hat she couldnt handle reservations! I finally had enough and ordered her to find someone that could Iwas thenreluctantly transferred again to a person who actually was helpful.. During this ordeal. Somebody was to call me back within one half hour. I waited two hours with no call. Mary Vasiga.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert E, General Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Miami Airport, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Mary V- Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Howard Johnson hotel. However, I apologize that it took such an effort on your part to make a reservation. I am grateful for your persistence. I have shared your comment with the reservations department and I am sure that we will get it right next time.

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    199
    211
    124
    123
See reviews for
262
184
84
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My worst deal on the Internet. The main issue is their shuttle service. I waited 1 hour and fifteen minutes before they came, made numerous calls. While waiting I saw the shuttles for most other hotels go by me twice. They know this is a problem yet they don't fix it. The shuttle and hotel are dated and worn need repair. Only positive was the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert E, General Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Miami Airport, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
JOhn_frOm_CalifOrnia--We pride ourselves in providing a great experience for our guests and are committed to exceeding their expectations on every stay. We clearly fell below your expectations and it looks like it started at the airport. I can offer no excuses for having you wait an hour at the airprot and I am sorrty that this happened, We take all reviews seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The only reason I did not rate this hotel as terrible was because front desk people that was kind nice, Hotel is; Noisy, because it is allocated next to a highway and peoples stays in hallway chatting loud vry late in the night, Filthy, because carpets, curtains, chairs and bath are stained, Uncomfortable, because mattress seems to be had a good life long years ago, they have four elevators but just one working at the lowest speed it can.

I think service room sgould be very good as you can find in the mornings tons of dishes in the rooms hallway.

It is close to the airport if almost 10 miles is nothing for you.

This is the first time I rate a hotel with such low score but it is also true it is my very first time in a hotel like this.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert E, General Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Miami Airport, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Malexrs- Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that you were satisfied with the friendliness of my staff. However, I apologize that we fell well short of your expectations on the other aspects of your stay. I have shared your comments with the appropriate departments and we will address them immediately.

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This hotel is tired, dirty and downright unwelcoming. Hallway carpets are stained, with unknown substances on the walls, lamp bases etc and other areas guest must touch. It's location to major highways makes the rooms very noisy with motorcycles, emergency vehicles and automobile sounds disrupting any sleep.

We were so disgusted after checking in and seeing our room, we cancelled the reservation, and attempted to find another hotel at 10pm at night after a long day.

This is not a good hotel and we would advise you to continue your search for a Miami hotel.

Room Tip: In order to choose a good room..find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert E, General Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Miami Airport, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
1OttawaBob1- I am very disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your stay at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel. I appreciate the feedback and I value what my guests have to say regarding their experiences. I have shared your comments with the appropriate departments and we will address the items immediately.

Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Miami Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Miami Airport

Address: 7707 NW 103rd Street, Miami, FL 33016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 129 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Miami Airport 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Miami Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miami Howard Johnson
Hialeah Gardens Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Miami Airport
Howard Johnson Hialeah Gardens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Miami Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.