We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How I feel about Hojo” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Miami Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Miami Airport to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Miami Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7707 NW 103rd Street, Miami, FL 33016   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #96 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    225
    253
    151
    150
See reviews for
298
215
94
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We booked the Howard Johnson's at 103rd Street, Miami FL, in route to NC following our honey moon. We have stayed a several hotels in our times, but never again will be book this one.

1) The van driver was very late picking us up from the airport, then drove like a mad main in route to the hotel.

2) Walking inside the Howard Johnson, the floor in the mail lobby looked good, but OMG.... the floors on the 3rd where our room was assigned were horable. It looked like motor oil had been thrown down the halls in many locations, and the walls were in bad need of paint.

3) Our room smelled musty and the carpet was in bad condition.

4) We went back to the lobby and asked the driver to take us to the local mail. Again, he drove very poorly, and picked up late by as much as 30 minutes from the schedule he gave us.

5) It was a nice evening, and we asked the front desk if the Walmart was within walking distance. They said that it was, but had no idea how to get there. The one person who appeared knowledgable, give directions that were 4 miles out of the way.

6) The front desk agents tired to help us and looked very good, but did not understand english very well.

Never again.......

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert E, General Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Miami Airport, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
TC M- Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are sincerely concerned when situations like these occur and would like to investigate further. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional information about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is in a really good location, well positioned for shopping however it needs a significant upgrade. The lobby is clean and attractive, the restrooms on the lobby floor is very clean and looks very nice but the rooms are old and run down. What strikes you first is the carpet in the corridors - very old, spotty and dirty looking. The carpet in our room was not any better. Did not want to walk barefoot. That being said, the staff was friendly - the room attendant and particularly the gentleman at the concierge desk who seems to do dual duty as bellman. He was extremely courteous, professional, and helpful....a gem. Upgrade this hotel please ..its about time

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Located about 7 miles from the airport, the hotel's public areas are beginning to look a bit dated and tired. However, the rooms are spacious and clean, beds very comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAMI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Need internet in wall ports in some rooms. I have to buy phone cards all the time. Inconvenient. The gym room needs equipment replaced. Only the treadmill works.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Miami Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Miami Airport

Address: 7707 NW 103rd Street, Miami, FL 33016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Miami Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Miami Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miami Howard Johnson
Hialeah Gardens Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Miami Airport
Howard Johnson Hialeah Gardens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Miami Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.