We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“art center in Miami” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wynwood

Wynwood
Miami, FL 33127 (Wynwood - Edgewater)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 119 Attractions in Miami
Type: Neighborhoods
Activities: Nightlife
Attraction Details
Miami
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“art center in Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

new art scene in Miami with Saturday night art walks and lots of new restaurants still growing and expanding towards downtown Miami

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    85
    19
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Definitely a place to visit in Miami...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I loved walking around the Wynwood area - the street art is amazing and there is so much to see. I was visiting on my own without a car and was initially nervous about making a trip into the area after reading comments about how dangerous the area is etc. I had no luck organizing a visit with a tour group (wrong week for the monthly walk, and both tour organizations I tried to contact either didn't answer call or return email) so decided to go on my own. It was easy: I was staying in Coconut Grove so took the free Miami Trolley from Mercy Hospital to SE 14th St, transferred to the free Biscayne Route Trolley and traveled north to NE 29th St and NE 2nd Ave. From here it is an easy walk to NW 2nd Ave, turn right and Wynwood Walls is a few blocks at NW 25th St. The Walls are a great place to start - an enclosed area with lots of murals on the surrounding walls. Then wander around the surrounding streets and be amazed. You can access a map which includes the location of much (but not all) of the murals at http://www.wynwoodmap.com/. It will help you decide where to go, but even without it you won't have any trouble seeing the art. But with the map you can be sure not to miss seeing something by your favourite street artist (if it is still there!). Before you go, if you aren't familiar with street art, learn a bit about the artists (lots on the web; a great street artist/tour guide in London recommended the blog http://streetartlondon.co.uk/tours/) - it will make it more fun. When you need a break, there are a number of good places to eat or get coffee etc in the area. It is an edgy area, bordering on areas of Miami that I didn't feel so comfortable walking in on my own. But walking into the area from 29th seemed fine. Industrial/warehouse type area but lots of car traffic. I probably wouldn't go at night on my own, though.
Definitely worth a visit!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Although it seemed that perhaps the promise of Wynwood wasn't working out for galleries and shops in the area, it is definitely a cool neighborhood to walk around in during the day. A surprise around every corner (almost).

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A place to go...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

As often as possible! The budding artists, the galleries, and the buildings decorated by street artists. It's a rush of colors, creativities, and fabulous restaurants to soothe the palate. Enjoy the walking tours, the people watching, and the weather Miami has to offer. Keep track of special events...Just go!!!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Raw creativity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Each time I have visitors (I reside in Florida) I bring them to Wynwood. The mural art is powerful creative and changes all the time.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wynwood also viewed

 

Been to Wynwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wynwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;