We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be a World Heritage Site” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wynwood

Wynwood
Miami, FL 33127 (Wynwood - Edgewater)
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #11 of 117 attractions in Miami
Type: Neighborhoods
Activities: Nightlife
Attraction Details
miami florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Should be a World Heritage Site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

If you've never heard of Tony Goldman then maybe you've never walked around Soho in New York, South Beach, or Wynnwood. All of these areas were given life by this remarkable man. Wynnwood is an area not to be missed if you visit Miami. It is a singular creation, unique in the entire world for its display of public art: murals and graffitti, much of it commissioned by Goldman and those in the community. Drive through during the day and again at night. Do not miss the Wynnwood Art Walk which is held the second Saturday of each month. This is a gigantic street party with food trucks, music, and all the galleries open. The streets are full of people and everyone is having a blast. No, it's not particularly safe at night save during art walk but, that said, it's not Baghdad either. When anyone visits me in Miami from out of town, Wynnwood is the place I always take them. It makes me proud to live in Miami.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    73
    16
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Go before its too late!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Incredible graffiti art all over. Monthly Artwalks are a must to attend. Openings and open houses in all galleries, many with free drinks. A huge party every month. The success of the district is changing it, that is why you need to go now!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Partially Abandond Ghetto! (LOTS OF CRIME!!!!!)”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Be careful, I live just outside of Wynwood (east of it) (on the right side of the tracks). Wynwood is downright scary. Yes there are some art galleries, no they are not nice store fronts. They are in dilapidated heavily graffitied warehouses. The area is surrounded on 3 sides by some of the most dangerous ghettos in Florida. Constant crime area, I would not suggest anyone walk alone, or in a group in this neighborhood (I use the term loosely). 95% warehouse and 5% crackhouse Wynwood could use a wrecking ball! Stay away!!!! Dirty, Scary, and Dangerous!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, NY
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Don't go at Night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Although the area is well lit in the evening, the area is rather scary to walk in after dark. The walls were painted very uniquely, but it would have been nice for there to be some sort of guide or description of the walls/artists. I guess I would have to visit again in the daylight to see if I felt more positive about it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Artsy side of Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Recently did the Art Walk two weeks ago and I was amazed at the variety of art available for viewing, what really amazed me was the mobs of people walking around at night. The attraction is the large number of galleries and the artist that they represent. I couldn't believe that this was Miami, usually you would expect to see something like this in NYC, in fact it reminded me of NYC's village many years ago. The atmosphere is vibrant with food trucks available for a quick bite as you take a break from walking through the gallaries. The area is developing and needs restaurants, but you could travel a little further North to the design district if your looking for some really good eats. Would suggest that you get to the area early because parking is difficult to find and parking lots are expensive ($10 for a spot in an empty field).

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wynwood also viewed

 

Been to Wynwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wynwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.