We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Design District

Miami Design District
3841 NE 2nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33137
13057227100
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$107*
and up
Miami Art Tour: Design District, Midtown and...
Ranked #20 of 214 things to do in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Miami Design District is a creative neighborhood and retail destination dedicated to innovative fashion, design, art, architecture and dining experiences.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Miami Design District is Wynwood and it is really worthwhile to visit and see all the modern paintings in the streets and in the galleries and shops. Great area!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maarten-Jan_Bell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“worth while”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

if you love design, art and just taking in the beautiful grafiti go and take a walk thru this district

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank amaleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Maybe in a few years, but definitely not now”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The "Design District" is an isolated area of several city blocks with a bunch of banal small commercial buildings that, incredibly enough, predominately house stores of extremely expensive luxury retail brands. The one good thing I can say is that it is, at the most basic level, pedestrian-friendly: Most buildings come up to the sidewalks and are closely spaced, which is the exception to the rule in car-centric Miami. But this is NOT the Deco District of South Beach, where interesting architecture and shops provide scores of blocks of pedestrian pleasure: this is the mainland. The areas around the Design District look like...well, like most of the rest of non-super-rich Florida: endless suburban grid of small concrete block houses and strip mall businesses. Or, in the case of the impoverished neighborhood immediately to the west of the Design District, vacant lots and cracked asphalt.

A few years ago, the "Design District" had lots of furniture stores, kitchen showrooms, and the like. "Design" referred almost entirely to the items for sale: the buildings were dull. This made some sense, insofar as such users need relatively large spaces, and the location and character of the "District" surely provided it inexpensively. It was convenient to be able to walk from showroom to showroom to compare. But most of those tenants are gone nowadays, replaced by luxury goods chain stores, selling pricey handbags and shoes and the like. There are hardly any restaurants. One gathers that wealthy visitors from South and Central America keep the Design District alive, but why such people would choose to shop in this wasteland is a mystery to me.

Apparently the owner of the Design District realizes this. Currently, literally half of the District is under renovation or reconstruction, with the goal of bringing design pizzazz to the buildings themselves, and bringing more and bigger luxury brands and (I assume) pricey eateries. The usual roster of "star architects" are under employ, from what I read. I wish the developers and architects well, and I intend to come back in 3-4 years to see if the change is meaningful. But for the time being, I have little use for the Design District. I don't need or want $10,000 watches, and if I want "design," I have the wonderland of South Beach.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Skidrowe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Doesn't live up to the hype”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Style and shelter magazines have touted this "trending" area so much lately we decided to go see it. It was early Saturday afternoon before Christmas -- few stores open and even fewer shoppers.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank razzyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Love the different designs and décor of Miami. Bought a book of Miami art deco and learned a lot more about it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami Design District also viewed

 

Been to Miami Design District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing