We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Havana but getting too many tourists.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Calle Ocho

Calle Ocho
Eighth St., Little Havana, Miami, FL (Downtown)
305-644-8888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 122 attractions in Miami
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Neighborhoods
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Dancing
Attraction Details
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Little Havana but getting too many tourists.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I know that Florida's economy is based largely on tourists, so I do not mind that this is becoming a tourist destination. The problem in my eyes is that too many shops cater just to the tourists and are in the process of losing their Cuban authenticity. Nevertheless, there are many places to get a Cuban meal and finish it off with Cuban Coffee and a Cigar. Take the time to walk and look. I recently stopped at a bakery where no one spoke English, but the pastries were outstanding and very fairly priced. Get a few blocks away from the shops obviously catering to tourists and you will get to the heart of the Cuban spirit and culture.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    39
    30
    14
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Cuban food and music in little Havanna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I highly recommend restaurant Versailles for excellent Cuban food and best Cuban coffee,.There is also a bakery with tables if you do not want a big meal,Prices are reasonable. Then at 9 pm you can go to club Hoy Como Ayer on Sat nights and enjoy the talent of Anamaria Perera. She is a fantastic singer,piano player and composer.You will love her and enjoy the flavor of the Cuban culture

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“LOUD, HOT AND CROUDED!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Well, I expected it to be just that! The music was very good and the variety just as good but, the ambiance... the lack of courtesy and good sportsmanship among the crowds, I personally, did not agree with. The variety in food was as expected and the food was very tasty as well thou. The parking availability and the prices charged were outrageous.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Too little Cuban culture”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Guess I was waiting to hear salsa on the streets and people dancing all the time..It's just a street with some Cuban stores.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Not a place for tourists”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I enjoy going to calle 8 to the theater, as they bring plays from Latin America all the time and they have many theaters in this district. But otherwise, not much to see here.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Calle Ocho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calle Ocho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Calle Ocho to your Saves list