We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten path” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wings Over Miami Air Museum

Wings Over Miami Air Museum
14710 SW 128th Street, Kendall - Tamiami Executive Airport, Miami, FL 33196
305-233-5197
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #59 of 117 attractions in Miami
Type: Specialty Museums, Military Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Wings Over Miami Air Museum serves as a tribute to those veterans and aviators who pioneered civilian and military aviation. With this goal in mind, the museum both displays and flies military and classic aircraft to share the rich history of flight. It provides an operating legacy of aircraft with an insight to the legends of the pilots who flew them.This is a charming little museum that provides an opportunity for a close-up look at classic and war bird aircraft. They have many enclosed cases filled with models and other memorabilia. Often a visitor will see plane restoration in process and on weekends, people may chat with the pilots of the planes if they are in the hangar.While visitors can't climb on the planes, cameras are welcomed and the staff is very friendly.
Southern Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Although still rebuilding after hurricaine Andrew there are nifty little planes to see. Just having the sea plane on display was reason enough for us to go.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very little to see”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I am a lifelong pilot and love all things aviation but this 'museum' was pitiful at best. The staff was fantastic and very helpful but the displays are just pathetic. They have a handful of general aviation relics, a pair of WWII trainers a weather beaten PBY and an F-14.

The only thing I really enjoyed was the cutaway of a giant piston engine that you can crank at the press of a button. If Tamiami was a busy airport one could enjoy walking on the ramp and watching the general aviation but KTMB just isn't that busy.

The gift shop is in serious need of a renovation and their souvenirs are uninspiring. You can see the entire museum in 20 minutes and you will leave feeling uninspired.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great location and experience....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

great place to introduce flight history to children, I take my son every weekend to tour the hangar. great collection of scale models and very helpful staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond, bc
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“not much worth seeing for $10 admission”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I had high hopes for this museum since it was rated at 4??!! But I was quite disappointed...
For $10 you get to see this small hangar with 10 planes. The highlight was the F14... But then everything is roped off, you can't even get close enough to touch the planes and definitely not to get inside. Nothing interactive...
I really don't understand how anyone can give a good rating for this place. IMO, $10 is a bit much.
We are from the west coast and I can definitely brag that we have been to almost every air musuem around in the northwest -- Vancouver/Langley, Seattle, Oregon, etc. but everyone had more to offer and some were even free!
The other thing which annoyed me was the older gentleman at the desk was quite rude and asked for our money for entrance right away... He didn't really care to show us anything, he seemed like he only wanted our money... The younger guy later was much more accomodating and more friendly.
Nonetheless, I wouldn't recommend this "attraction" for $10. My kids were 14 and 12 so they were all charged adult rate... $40 for 20 min of walk around??!! Come on...

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
406 helpful votes 406 helpful votes
“Interesting Air Museum that honours military and civilian aviation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Hello
we decided to go and see this museum during our 4 day stay in Florida City. The museum is located on an Airport. It is located at Kendall-Tamiami Airport in Miami-Dade County. You can just drive into the airport and the museum is clearly sign posted. There was plenty of parking outside the museum building. We entered through the gift shop and paid $20 for 2 adults( kids were $6 and pensioners were $7). The place opens from 10am to 5pm Wed- Sat and Sunday 12pm to 5pm. It is closed on Monday and Tuesdays.

After we had paid we went into a door that took us into a museum. There were lot's about the 2nd world war and military stuff and tents and history about the war. Pilots helmets and an engine cut in half which you could actually see working. We then went into another huge hanger where all the planes were kept. Going back a few years , a pilot called Kermit Weeks had an Aviation Museum here but as his collection grew and grew he needed more space and moved everything away. People in the area missed the museum so some people decided to open their own up.

Four military and classic plane enthusiasts got together and decided to change the existing hanger into “Wings Over Miami Air Museum”. The museum’s new founders were Walter Orth, Larry Ploucha, Vincent Tirado and Tom Righetti and they dreamed of a flying museum. They worked with Kermit Weeks who helped them get everything together.

We went into the large hanger and saw loads of classic and military planes that had been beautifully restored. There were some men working on some of the planes and we spoke to some of them. One man said that the helmet in the museum near the entrance was actually his. Most of the planes are still flown and are taken out now and then. There were jet planes and older propeller planes and a few newer modern planes. Such as a 1945 North American SNJ-6 and a 1968 Aero L29-R Delfin Jet and a 1995 Yakovlev Yak 52. All the planes were so clean and shiny they looked new. Clearly the people who have restored these planes loved doing so. There were bout 15 planes inside the hanger and 1 large plane outdoors. Each plane had a description of what it was and what it could do etc. Height, speed etc. People were about so you could ask any questions too.

We then went outdoors and looked at the large black plane. It was a seaplane which needed restoring. We spent about 1 hour and 15 minutes looking round the museum and really enjoyed it. Thought the entrance fee was sensible. As you exit you go back through the gift shop which has rest rooms which we used. When we were at the museum we were the only visitors there which was quite a surprise. Maybe because it was January and most people had gone back to work. I am glad I went here as it was very interesting. As we were leaving we saw the men pulling a plane outdoors that they were going to fly that day. I think this place is more for adults as kids may get abit bored after a while. If you are into flying and planes and the history of planes you will love it all. I am not that into it but I really enjoyed it( hubby is more into planes etc than me). Well worth going to . They also hold events during the year that maybe worth going to.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wings Over Miami Air Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wings Over Miami Air Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.