We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unbelievable Lemur experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jungle Island

Jungle Island
1111 Parrot Jungle Trail, Miami, FL 33132
305-400-7000
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #31 of 122 Attractions in Miami
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Birdwatching, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Jungle Island is located between downtown Miami and South Beach. The park offers amazing animal exhibits, unique shows and up-close animal interactions unlike anywhere else.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“An unbelievable Lemur experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Brought my family over for the lemur encounter for
My daughters birthday. It was more than we could have hoped for. What an experience. I cannot say enough about our new lemur friends and the great staff throughout the park.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    257
    143
    57
    81
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Salvador, El Salvador
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“not as great as it was a few year ago”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

1. Serpentarium
At the final of the show there was a big boa, that was hold by at least 20 people. now its not part of the show.

2. next to the serpentarium there were staff that handed out to you scorpion, snakes, zorrillos, etc etc, now they arent there anymore.

3. the lions shows, they only shows the baby tiger and lions. few years back they showed the white lion (big one).
4. parking is $8

the good.:
the best of all was the parrot show, beautiful and funny. new guy: there was a bird that looked like a dinosaur that is new.

there are new lions and tigers.

Was cheap at least for me as i bought some tickets on ebay/craiglist 3 adults and 2 child for $35 all . ticket in park is adult $34 and child $23 plux tax EACH!. do the math!

bottom line: my second time here and wont go back.
TIP: when you enter they take you pictures, which each are $20 (robbery!!) but you can also buy a CD for $60 (still expensive but if you go with friends you can take all the pictures and divide the $60 in 2 or 3) so if you go with friends take as many pictures (group, couples, individuals) as you can and at the end buy the CD. you wont regret and will thank me this!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“VIP Tour was a blast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We took the VIP tour with Ryan, and had a great time! I would recommend getting the photography package too, so you don't have to risk missing out on any of the experience by fooling with your camera. Ryan was very informative, and all of the animal interactions were so much fun! We even stayed for a couple of hours after the tour to continue visiting the different areas and to see all of the shows. I think it's a great place for a visit!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“An escape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

If you want an escape from the usual, this is a good place to go. I have an annual pass which is worth the money even if you go twice a year. You can hangout with kangaroos for an extra $5, feed birds, and see exotic animals. The shows have less or more animals depending on the time of day and the weather but they are usually the same. Winged Wonders is a must see and Dr Wasabi is cool because they let you pet the animals if youre lucky. The whole area can be seen within 2 hours. More time is needed if you want to actually spend time watching the animals.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Keys
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wildly over-priced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

$35 per person? For what?! While most of the negative reviews focus on the high price of souvenir photos or extra fees for holiday events, we we just disappointed by the sheer lack of anything to see for twice the price of similarly-themed destinations. This was a spectacular attraction 30 years and two locations ago, but now it's a shadow of its creator's original vision. Very sad. We got 20% off as members of ZooMiami and it was still over $50 for two adults. What a complete waste. Go to the Zoo. Go to Fairchild Gardens or one of Miami's many wonderful non-profit museums, but DO NOT waste your time and money at Jungle Island. Oh, and "management": please do not insult this reviewer with one of your condescending false apology responses unless you intend to make a refund (not a "return voucher") available to this extremely dissatisfied customer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jungle Island also viewed

 

Been to Jungle Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jungle Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.