We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jungle Island Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jungle Island

Jungle Island
1111 Parrot Jungle Trail, Miami, FL 33132
305-400-7000
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #29 of 122 attractions in Miami
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Birdwatching, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Jungle Island is located between downtown Miami and South Beach. The park offers amazing animal exhibits, unique shows and up-close animal interactions unlike anywhere else.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
“Jungle Island Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

What an amazing way to spend an afternoon in Miami! One of the few truly family friendly places that the adults can enjoy too. The birds are beautiful, the monkeys and orangutans are hilarious, and the photo op's a plenty! The petting zoo and play area are great for youngsters but my favorite were the liger and penguins. There really is something for everyone! And if you want to add on with the kangaroos or lemurs it's so worth it. Overall really love this place!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    235
    124
    48
    75
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Never rely on misconceptions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Contemplating on whether I should express my opinion on Jungle Island I looked through a number of reviews and felt that I have to. The point is that disappointment of some reviewers has the only reason: they were initially relying on a complete misconception.

Two main complaints are for high prices and lack of animal diversity. But one should understand that Jungle Island is not a state zoo. It's a private park surviving on its own without any financial support from the official structures, and people working there can afford less than they would like to. Still, they do love animals and take care of them. To give an example: when their orangutang female got cancer, they've been treating her for several months at their own vet clinic providing necessary surgery as well as chemistry and radiology - a lot of people in the world could only dream of such level of medical care. So, how can this place be cheap?

We took their VIP tour which was rather pricy and didn't feel sorry for the money. We travel over the world seeking different opportunities to interact with animals and were happy to communicate with lemurs (including the red ones less than one thousand of which left on the planet), feed kangaroos and giant tortoises, participate in a bird show, play with capuchin monkeys, and much more.

Do you know many places where you can see ligers? View a tamed cassowary? Pet a condor? We don't.

All in all, if you're not a huge fan of animals and travel on a tight budget, you probably should opt for something different like one of the big zoos. But if you are really fond of wildlife and ready to pay for some unique options - this place is for you.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hi Drunia. Thank you for visiting Jungle Island all the way from Moscow! We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the park and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. As each review is important to us, we will be sure to share your feedback with our team and our VIP Tour Guides. Thank you again for visiting and we hope that you will visit us the next time your travels bring you to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't waist your money!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I loved the old parrot jungle but the new island is a complete rip off geared towards taking every penny it can from you while giving you zero customer service and a totally flat experience. It's sad I have such fond memories as a child of the place and now was terribly disappointed taking my own son here. Beware of the picture takers and animal holders at the main entrance, they are too busy talking and texting to care that they are scaring your child with the animals and someone physically grabbed my son and forced him down the line that passes in front of the animals, don't touch my kid! and if you want to get my money on a photo at the start at least make sure that the experience is a pleasant one as it sets the tone for the rest of the day.
I will not be back.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We treat each of our reviews with the utmost respect and will be sure to share your comments with our General Manager and our photo department. The guest experience is one of our top priorities and we assure you that we will address the issue with our team. We do regret that this one instance caused you to have such a negative experience and hope that when your travels bring you back to Miami that we can show you just how great a visit to the Jungle can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Lakes, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Winter Wonderland at Jungle Island”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

If you want to waste your money this is the perfect place to do it. Terrible!!!! poor attractions, laser show a fiasco, the snow thing ugly and dirty. Everything to expensive. Poor installations, lack of information and bad attitude employees. The "beautiful" Jungle Island website is selling you a LIE.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding Winter Wonder Island. Each review is important to us so we wanted to take a moment to address your concerns. At Jungle Island, we take great strides to create amazing experiences for each our guests and regret that you did not have a positive experience. For Winter Wonder Island, we offered a wide array of activities for our guests in order to create a unique event that we hope will become a tradition for years to come. With every event in its first year, there were many things that we learned and will be applying to each of our events moving forward. We do hope that you will visit us during our day time hours so you can experience all that Jungle Island has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice place and concept but very pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Went there with the Family and had an enjoyable time. The concept and shows are entertaining but very short. The problem we found was that everything was an added cost and the costs were quite high. This is on top of a pretty high entrance fee to the park for a family of four. The park is quite small as well and can easily be done in a 2-3 hours. There is a nice playground for the children that is small but entertaining for children 6 and under.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for visiting Jungle Island. We appreciate you taking a moment to share your experience and hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jungle Island also viewed

 

Been to Jungle Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jungle Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jungle Island to your Saves list