We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real ❄️snow❄️ in Miami Beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jungle Island

Jungle Island
1111 Parrot Jungle Trail, Miami, FL 33132
305-400-7000
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #29 of 122 attractions in Miami
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Birdwatching, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Jungle Island is located between downtown Miami and South Beach. The park offers amazing animal exhibits, unique shows and up-close animal interactions unlike anywhere else.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Real ❄️snow❄️ in Miami Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

My kids had a blast at the Frosty Island at Winter Wonderisland, sliding down the snow in a tube and throwing snowballs at each other, I would had paid and extra session of it if I didn't have to walk back all the way to the entrance to get the tickets. It was SO MUCH FUN! The snow was soft and incredibly AMAZING for a 79F night, totally loved it!!!! Thank you Jungle Island for making real snow in Miami Beach! ❤️ What a perfect night!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Hi Heidy! Thank you so much for visiting Winter Wonder Island and for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed the experience and we will make note of your comment and make additional snow play session tickets available at the entrance to Frosty’s Island. We hope that you will visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    235
    124
    49
    75
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
1 review
“Terrible.... Save your money, this is truly disappointing!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

We drove over an hour to get
Find out at the ticket counter that it's an additional $10 for the snow. I wouldn't mind spending the money if it was worth it! Ntrudt me it wasn't worth the money. The place looks hideous the food is terrible and the employees are rude!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Blatant money grab and horrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Save your money and don't waste your time bringing your kids here. We bought a groupon for this which clearly stated in the first line of the description "snow and sledding" and upon arriving at the entrance were told that we had to purchase another pass which cost $10 per person to enter the snow area. We tried to purchase for the two kids but were told an adult had to accompany so we forked up the cash for all four of us. $40 dollars later we were given a pass to enter the snow area at 7:30pm with no indication of a time limit. We killed time by grabbing a bite to eat and walking around but really not much to see except a bunch of dark animal cages and mediocre light displays. Upon arriving at the snow area an employee advised we only get 30 minute shifts. It was 7:28pm. we then stood in a line and weren't able to enter until 7:38. When I showed the employee at the entrance the time on my phone I advised her we were promised 30 min, but her response was that it's too hard to get everybody out so they would call time 5 min before the 8pm shift. Really? Bring kids from miami to a place to see snow and give them 20 min to enjoy it before rudely ushering them out? I have never seen such a rude and more disorganized group of employees less interested in the customer experience at any children's event in my life. The only saving grace was the person at customer relations who was apologetic and offered us another 30 minutes in the snow but honestly the employees there were so rude we did not want to go back. If you have purchased this groupon and haven't used it yet try to get a refund. you don't get what you think you paid for and you will avoid a lot of frustration and disappointment.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Hi Cristy, Thank you for sharing your experience of our Winter Wonder Island event. We wanted to take a moment and address your concerns regarding our snow play area. We can assure you that even if a session does not start on time, guests are guaranteed 30 minutes in the snow play area. Additionally, each session ticket has the session start time printed on it as well as the specified amount of time in order to avoid any confusion. In order to maintain the safety of our guests, we cannot allow children to enter the play area without adult supervision. We apologize for any miscommunication or any inconvenience that you experienced and we would like to encourage you to visit us again during our day time hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Winter Wonderland is a Bad Joke”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Winter Wonderland is a big waste of money and a joke. Very disappointing experience. The "light trail" is barely lit, "candy land" is nonexistent, the "light show" seemed more like a couple of kids playing with lasers. We were never told that to go see the snow you had to pay an extra $10 per person. Based on the poor quality of the event we did not pay to access snow area because we figured we'd be throwing the money away. No Christmas music in the park, food was bad to say the least, parking was a nightmare, and the experience was overall a let-down.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to our Winter Wonder Island event. Each review is important to us so we thought we would take a moment to address your concerns. We are continuously adding activities and shows for our guests to experience in addition to the multiple trails of holiday lights and displays. While the snow play is additional fee, we can assure you that it is a once-in-a-lifetime experience and we do apologize that you did not choose to take part in the area. We’ve also developed a detailed plan to facilitate parking for our guests. With all of this in mind, we encourage you to visit us again in the future including paying us a visit during our day time park hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke pines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible attraction”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was the worst experience ever! Long line for food that was sold out, laser light show broke down, we didn't get to see any shows, the snow was so hard we couldn't walk play nothing. Very unorganized, very annoyed. We went to guest relations and the manager David has accommodated our needs and respected out request for a refund, as soon as we get that through groupon we will be good to go. Don't waste time money or energy, because my Christmas tree looks better, and I don't charge for you to come see it!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to Winter Wonder Island. We thought we would take a moment to respond to your review and address some of the issues that you had. We’ve spoken with our food and beverage team and have increased the amount of product available each night as well as additional staff to accommodate everyone. The snow play area has received a tremendous amount of added attention and the area is now fluffy and light for guests to enjoy. In terms of your refund with Groupon, please do not hesitate to contact us should you have any trouble receiving the refund from them. We will be happy to help. We do hope that you will visit us again in the future especially during our day time hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jungle Island also viewed

 

Been to Jungle Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jungle Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jungle Island to your Saves list