We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Wonderland is a Bad Joke” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jungle Island

Jungle Island
1111 Parrot Jungle Trail, Miami, FL 33132
305-400-7000
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #26 of 119 Attractions in Miami
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Birdwatching, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Jungle Island is located between downtown Miami and South Beach. The park offers amazing animal exhibits, unique shows and up-close animal interactions unlike anywhere else.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Winter Wonderland is a Bad Joke”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Winter Wonderland is a big waste of money and a joke. Very disappointing experience. The "light trail" is barely lit, "candy land" is nonexistent, the "light show" seemed more like a couple of kids playing with lasers. We were never told that to go see the snow you had to pay an extra $10 per person. Based on the poor quality of the event we did not pay to access snow area because we figured we'd be throwing the money away. No Christmas music in the park, food was bad to say the least, parking was a nightmare, and the experience was overall a let-down.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to our Winter Wonder Island event. Each review is important to us so we thought we would take a moment to address your concerns. We are continuously adding activities and shows for our guests to experience in addition to the multiple trails of holiday lights and displays. While the snow play is additional fee, we can assure you that it is a once-in-a-lifetime experience and we do apologize that you did not choose to take part in the area. We’ve also developed a detailed plan to facilitate parking for our guests. With all of this in mind, we encourage you to visit us again in the future including paying us a visit during our day time park hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    251
    142
    53
    79
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke pines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible attraction”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was the worst experience ever! Long line for food that was sold out, laser light show broke down, we didn't get to see any shows, the snow was so hard we couldn't walk play nothing. Very unorganized, very annoyed. We went to guest relations and the manager David has accommodated our needs and respected out request for a refund, as soon as we get that through groupon we will be good to go. Don't waste time money or energy, because my Christmas tree looks better, and I don't charge for you to come see it!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to Winter Wonder Island. We thought we would take a moment to respond to your review and address some of the issues that you had. We’ve spoken with our food and beverage team and have increased the amount of product available each night as well as additional staff to accommodate everyone. The snow play area has received a tremendous amount of added attention and the area is now fluffy and light for guests to enjoy. In terms of your refund with Groupon, please do not hesitate to contact us should you have any trouble receiving the refund from them. We will be happy to help. We do hope that you will visit us again in the future especially during our day time hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Winter wonderland is a scam!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

You pay almost $100 for a family of 4 Just to get in the doors... EVERYTHING inside cost more money. Literally everything. Biggest scam... The snow cost an extra $10 to play in. Whatever, it's Christmas right? Well, it's only for 20 minutes.

Avoid unless you enjoy giving money away

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for visiting Jungle Island’s Winter Wonder Island. We wanted to take a moment and address some of your concerns. While the snow play area does require an additional fee for a 30 minute session, there are several activities within the park that are complementary to our guests including arts & crafts, letters to Santa, cookie decorating, face painting, Professor Hawk’s Holiday Adventure, the Northern Lights Laser show, the Elf Village Theatre and more! We do our best to accommodate our guests with a mixture of fee based activities and activities at no charge and are dismayed that you feel there were not enough things to do at no additional cost. Again, thank you for your feedback and hopefully you will consider visiting us during our normal day time hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Winter Wonderland...so sad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We were promised snow, hot cocoa & that all of our winter dreams would come true. Hardly. Upon arrival we waited over 20 minutes for an overpriced admission and were notified that snow would be an additional $10 per person for 20 minutes, 2 and a half hours later. Initially none of the holiday lights were on and the signage was minimal at best. Candyland consisted of over priced vendors and a DJ spinning old wedding song tracks. The bird show was nice, especially the Cassowary. There were no directions to leave the elfish hell, but when we did we were asked to pay $15 for parking instead of the posted $8. Stick with the Miami Zoo.
By the way they are determined to not allow you to take your own photo, some even went so far as to put their rear in my lens.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for visiting Jungle Island’s Winter Wonder Island. Here on Jungle Island, we take each of our reviews seriously and wanted to take a moment and address some of your concerns. Since you’re visit we have taken great strides to resolve the issues that you mentioned above including notifying our parking department of the price discrepancy. Additionally, our snow time sessions are 30 minutes long and we have added more sessions to increase wait times for our guests. We have also increased the number of signs that we have in the park and have spoken with our photo department about the handling of guest photos. We do apologize that you were unsatisfied with your visit but we hope that you will visit us again in the future… especially to visit us during our day time park hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Typical scam”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Arrived at the jungle island at 6 pm and already the parking lots were full. We waited an hour and paid 15 dollars to finally gain access to a space in the on site lot. When we entered we had our groupon on our cell phones and they told us unless we had it printed out we had to get in line with tickets purchasers in order to get our tickets scanned. The line had about 200 people it. It took another 2 hours. Then when we finally got to the window we learned that there was an additional cost of 10 dollars per person for the snow park and at that time there was not any availability. When I asked the staff in guest services and a manager they told me sorry that is how it is and there is nothing they can do about it and i had to wait in line Like everyone else. they disnt have a groupon! I will never participate or even buy another groupon because of this experience. It was a total scam and any response you see from anyone from the jungle island is a lie. I left irate and ripped off. Jungle Island was definitely dishonest and disgusting with this event . I also will never go to jungle island again. They are scammers and totally dishonest.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for visiting and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We take each of our reviews seriously and wanted to take a moment to address your concerns. Unfortunately, our ticketing system is unable to scan Groupon directly off the mobile and the system provided to us by Groupon has the same issue there we have no other option than to issue printed tickets in order to process admission. We apologize for that inconvenience of having to wait in line and we encourage all Groupon users to pre-print their voucher before arriving. In addition, Jungle Island and the Frosty’s Island snow play experience do reach capacity on certain evenings and in order maintain the guest experience and integrity of the interaction, we close the attractions. These closures are communicated via our social media sites and via our web site. We apologize again for the inconvenience. We would like to speak with you directly regarding your issue, if you could please contact our Public Relations Manager via 305.400.7000. We would love the opportunity to speak with you directly and hopefully make the situation right. We look forward to hearing from you. Warmly, Jungle Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jungle Island also viewed

 

Been to Jungle Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jungle Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.