We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Wonderland...so sad” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jungle Island

Jungle Island
1111 Parrot Jungle Trail, Miami, FL 33132
305-400-7000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$257*
and up
Jungle Island Miami VIP Safari Tour
Ranked #24 of 88 Attractions in Miami
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Dining, Viewing wildlife, Birdwatching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Jungle Island is located between downtown Miami and South Beach. The park offers amazing animal exhibits, unique shows and up-close animal interactions unlike anywhere else.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Stuart, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Winter Wonderland...so sad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We were promised snow, hot cocoa & that all of our winter dreams would come true. Hardly. Upon arrival we waited over 20 minutes for an overpriced admission and were notified that snow would be an additional $10 per person for 20 minutes, 2 and a half hours later. Initially none of the holiday lights were on and the signage was minimal at best. Candyland consisted of over priced vendors and a DJ spinning old wedding song tracks. The bird show was nice, especially the Cassowary. There were no directions to leave the elfish hell, but when we did we were asked to pay $15 for parking instead of the posted $8. Stick with the Miami Zoo.
By the way they are determined to not allow you to take your own photo, some even went so far as to put their rear in my lens.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for visiting Jungle Island’s Winter Wonder Island. Here on Jungle Island, we take each of our reviews seriously and wanted to take a moment and address some of your concerns. Since you’re visit we have taken great strides to resolve the issues that you mentioned above including notifying our parking department of the price discrepancy. Additionally, our snow time sessions are 30 minutes long and we have added more sessions to increase wait times for our guests. We have also increased the number of signs that we have in the park and have spoken with our photo department about the handling of guest photos. We do apologize that you were unsatisfied with your visit but we hope that you will visit us again in the future… especially to visit us during our day time park hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    270
    151
    58
    83
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Typical scam”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Arrived at the jungle island at 6 pm and already the parking lots were full. We waited an hour and paid 15 dollars to finally gain access to a space in the on site lot. When we entered we had our groupon on our cell phones and they told us unless we had it printed out we had to get in line with tickets purchasers in order to get our tickets scanned. The line had about 200 people it. It took another 2 hours. Then when we finally got to the window we learned that there was an additional cost of 10 dollars per person for the snow park and at that time there was not any availability. When I asked the staff in guest services and a manager they told me sorry that is how it is and there is nothing they can do about it and i had to wait in line Like everyone else. they disnt have a groupon! I will never participate or even buy another groupon because of this experience. It was a total scam and any response you see from anyone from the jungle island is a lie. I left irate and ripped off. Jungle Island was definitely dishonest and disgusting with this event . I also will never go to jungle island again. They are scammers and totally dishonest.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for visiting and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We take each of our reviews seriously and wanted to take a moment to address your concerns. Unfortunately, our ticketing system is unable to scan Groupon directly off the mobile and the system provided to us by Groupon has the same issue there we have no other option than to issue printed tickets in order to process admission. We apologize for that inconvenience of having to wait in line and we encourage all Groupon users to pre-print their voucher before arriving. In addition, Jungle Island and the Frosty’s Island snow play experience do reach capacity on certain evenings and in order maintain the guest experience and integrity of the interaction, we close the attractions. These closures are communicated via our social media sites and via our web site. We apologize again for the inconvenience. We would like to speak with you directly regarding your issue, if you could please contact our Public Relations Manager via 305.400.7000. We would love the opportunity to speak with you directly and hopefully make the situation right. We look forward to hearing from you. Warmly, Jungle Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Nice Place for Kids!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

If you come to Miami this is a must do for the Kids! They have an amazing Liger, 1100 lbs only several in the US. Worth the trip.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Winter Wonderland- Ripoff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I purchased the tickets for the Winter Wonderland through Groupon. I went on a Saturday. First of all the parking was a disaster, the garage was full and after a 20 minute going around in circles around jungle island we were told by a parking staff member to park in the children museum and that a shuttle was going to pick us up. When we get there we waited like another 15 minutes for the shuttle, then a lady that was also waiting received a phone call and then shouted out to everyone that we have to wait near the port. Everyone gets in there cars and drive to the port parking where there is construction going on and there was dirt on the ground, it was so messy. The shuttle only holds like 12-15 people and we had like 30 people in front of us so we decided to walk there. It was just a disaster! Then when we get there i walked to the end straight to the "snow play are" only to find out that they give out tickets for 30 minute sessions and they have given out all the tickets for the rest of the night!! We were so upset!!! We walked straight out of there and went straight to guest relations services for a refund. The were giving out "vouchers"to return Sunday-Thursday, but I told the staff member I wanted my money back and she told me that I have to do it through Groupon and I am not having good luck with that obviously my voucher was redeemed. Save time and money do not buy tickets to go to this. It was a complete disappointment, and there really isn't much to do other then the "snow" and you have to be there 3 hours earlier in line to get in.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Hi Steffi,
Thank you for your feedback. We take each of our reviews seriously and are dismayed that you are so dissatisfied with your visit. The response for our Winter Wonder Island event has been fantastic and as a result we are experiencing increased attendance on weekends. We've notified our parking operations department about your issue and they are working to correct the situation immediately.

In regards to your refund with Groupon, please contact our Public Relations Manager, Ashley Serrate by calling 305.400.7000. She will be happy to speak with you and coordinate the refund with Groupon directly.

Thanks,
Jungle Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

My boyfriennd and I went on the VIP tour and everything was amazing from meeting the Leamurs to feeding the tortoise, beeing feet away from a Cassowary (decendent of a velociraptor), playing with the monkeys, and much much more! Arali was our amazing VIP tour guide who knew so much about the park and the animals which made the expierence even better. Not only was the VIP tour directed towards interacting with animals but also towards teaching people to be aware of protecting the animals and our enviornment. I feel that it was money well spent and I would definatly return with family and friends to enjoy this expierence. p.s. take the photographer for the tour they take excellent photos you will always be able to look back on!

Thank you Jungle Island for such an amazing experience!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the park and hope that you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jungle Island also viewed

 

Been to Jungle Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jungle Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.