We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jungle Island

Jungle Island
1111 Parrot Jungle Trail, Miami, FL 33132
305-400-7000
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #32 of 122 Attractions in Miami
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Birdwatching, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Jungle Island is located between downtown Miami and South Beach. The park offers amazing animal exhibits, unique shows and up-close animal interactions unlike anywhere else.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Elkton, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Rude service as soon as you enter the park your kids are rushed over to the parrots to get their picture taken. They do not ask your permission. No you cannot take a picture yourself they will stand on front of you and block your view. I confronted them about the situation and they said it was in the fine print in the map. There are no signs about it on the park regulations at the ticket counter. The girl just grabbed the animals from my kids and ran away when I pushed the issue. Tourist trap that uses your kids to make money on everything they can think of.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi Wattsdan – Thank you for visiting Jungle Island. We apologize for the less than stellar experience you had during your trip to the park. We take each review of Jungle Island very seriously and have forwarded your comments to our photo department so that they can address the issue immediately. While there are certain areas within the park that we do not allow personal photography, there is a proper way for our staff to address guests during these areas and we will make sure that the issues are addressed. We do hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    254
    143
    56
    80
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Gables, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“THE BEST DAY EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I took a VIP tour at Jungle Island today and it was absolutely the best day I've had in Miami - and I've lived here for almost 3 years. It's a little pricey but was definitely worth the money. We got to feed the kangaroos, tortoises, a kookaburra, play with two baby capuchins, lemurs, and even pet the white collar of a condor. On top of that we just access to the park for the rest of the day. It was so amazing to get to interact with the animals in such an intimate setting. The tour guide, Ryan, is so incredibly kind and interested in the animals and you can tell he loves his job more than anything. If you ever have the opportunity to do the tour, or at least go to Jungle Island at all, I highly recommend it!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi there! Thank you so much for visiting Jungle Island and for posting your experience on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to see that you had a truly memorable experience during your trip and will be sure to share your comments with Ryan. Hopefully you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHICAGO
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

I was nor sure what to expect when.i came to visir here but pleasantly surprised how close you were able to get to all the attractions compared to cit zoo. Attended wild life show very informative and enterraining worth the trip out. Very fun and.family friendly.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for visiting Jungle Island! We are delighted to hear that we surpassed your expectations and hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Jungle Island.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

A wonderful experience, specially for our grandchildren. They enjoyed every moment. The attractions are very good, not so long, so that the children may enjoy them. Playing with the kangaroos was a very nice experience.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for visiting us and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor! We hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Lots of interesting animals to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

$37 per person is a bit expensive for this place but we got a two for one coupon on eBay which made this visit a great deal! There are lots of colorful parrots and many many more other animals. Overall it was a pretty good place.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for visiting Jungle Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jungle Island also viewed

 

Been to Jungle Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jungle Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.