We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST DAY EVER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jungle Island

Jungle Island
1111 Parrot Jungle Trail, Miami, FL 33132
305-400-7000
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #30 of 122 attractions in Miami
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Birdwatching, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Jungle Island is located between downtown Miami and South Beach. The park offers amazing animal exhibits, unique shows and up-close animal interactions unlike anywhere else.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Coral Gables, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“THE BEST DAY EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I took a VIP tour at Jungle Island today and it was absolutely the best day I've had in Miami - and I've lived here for almost 3 years. It's a little pricey but was definitely worth the money. We got to feed the kangaroos, tortoises, a kookaburra, play with two baby capuchins, lemurs, and even pet the white collar of a condor. On top of that we just access to the park for the rest of the day. It was so amazing to get to interact with the animals in such an intimate setting. The tour guide, Ryan, is so incredibly kind and interested in the animals and you can tell he loves his job more than anything. If you ever have the opportunity to do the tour, or at least go to Jungle Island at all, I highly recommend it!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi there! Thank you so much for visiting Jungle Island and for posting your experience on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to see that you had a truly memorable experience during your trip and will be sure to share your comments with Ryan. Hopefully you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    246
    131
    52
    76
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CHICAGO
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

I was nor sure what to expect when.i came to visir here but pleasantly surprised how close you were able to get to all the attractions compared to cit zoo. Attended wild life show very informative and enterraining worth the trip out. Very fun and.family friendly.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for visiting Jungle Island! We are delighted to hear that we surpassed your expectations and hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Jungle Island.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

A wonderful experience, specially for our grandchildren. They enjoyed every moment. The attractions are very good, not so long, so that the children may enjoy them. Playing with the kangaroos was a very nice experience.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for visiting us and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor! We hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Lots of interesting animals to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

$37 per person is a bit expensive for this place but we got a two for one coupon on eBay which made this visit a great deal! There are lots of colorful parrots and many many more other animals. Overall it was a pretty good place.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for visiting Jungle Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Go for the private VIP tour, pay for the photographer, even if you have to put it on a credit card”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The private tour and interactions with the animals were amazing. I was in tears of happiness for two hours. You are a V.I.P. the entire trip. Celebrities often come here discretely with their kids for this same private tour (yes, in sun hats and big sunglasses to disguise them). The staff is very protective of the celebrities and their identities, and keeps them anonymous, which is how they continue to get their business.

During the VIP tour, Lemurs will leap on you while you feed them cheerios and bananas. I touched an Andean Condor with a huge wingspan. Fed carrots to a 900 pound tortoise. Held a giant albino boa constrictor. Held a baby alligator. Pet a Coati (like a raccoon with a long snout) as it sat on my lap and ate treat like a puppy. I got to hold and pet a baby capuchin monkey. Never again will you look at these animals the same way. You will leave even more dedicated to conserving them in the wild as you learn about each one.

During the arena show you get VIP seating. After the show, you get to meet one of the animals. Your personal guide also gives you background info on each animal that comes out for the show. The VIP tour also includes a meal and a souvenier.

Pay for the photographer. I kept thinking I could take photos myself with my iphone, but you have to keep still in may cases as not to alarm the animals. You can't reach for your camera while holding still. Pay the photographer to follow your trip, they use their zoom lens to capture amazing moments of you with the animals. You only pay for the photos you want at the end. I have photos I will treasure forever. My tour guide said a couple of families have come back and done the tour a second time just to get the photography. Do it right the first time and get the photographer.

The place is still lovely to visit as a plain old zoo experience, but the VIP tour was something so amazing that while you are there it is worth paying extra for. And the cost is not excessive considering what you get out of it - an experience you will never forget!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi Julie! We cannot thank you enough for you sharing your experience of Jungle Island on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that you had an amazing time during your VIP Tour and will be sure to share your comments with not only the tour guide, but our entire staff. Reading about experiences like yours is a source of great pride for us here at Jungle Island. Thank you again for sharing and we hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jungle Island also viewed

 

Been to Jungle Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jungle Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.