We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for All Ages” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jungle Island

Jungle Island
1111 Parrot Jungle Trail, Miami, FL 33132
305-400-7000
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #27 of 119 Attractions in Miami
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Birdwatching, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Jungle Island is located between downtown Miami and South Beach. The park offers amazing animal exhibits, unique shows and up-close animal interactions unlike anywhere else.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great Place for All Ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a very unique place to take any and all family members and friends. The trainers really deserve the credit for the very positive, informative and entertaining way in which to learn about these animals. Seating for the various sessions is ample. There are ramps for stroller and wheelchair accessibility. There is food for sale on the premises. Water is a must as it gets quite hot walking around. Additionally, there is a fine gift store on the premises. Don't hesitate, just go! Extra bonus is that Florida residents get a discount on the entrance fee.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi there! Thank you for sharing your comments about your visit to Jungle Island. We appreciate you taking the time to not only visit but give us such a great review! We hope your travels bring you back to Miami soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    251
    142
    53
    80
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Boring.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

To be fair let me start by saying that we went to Jungle Island on a Friday so it was rather quiet and perhaps that contributed to our experience. That being said, I remember going to the then named Parrot Jungle about a decade ago and that was entertaining but this new version doesn't seem to be so. It feels like a private zoo with a few, underline the FEW, attractions like the white lions but the overall experience fell way short of expectations specially considering the admission price that averages $35 per person plus, the gull, of charging an additional $8 for parking.

Our kid was bored and did not truly enjoyed the spaced out animals as one can expect on a humid South Florida day.

If you have the time and transportation I recommend Lion Safari in Palm Beach. It may be an hour drive but it has far more variety from the zoo, the rides and the water park.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for visiting Jungle Island and for your review on Trip Advisor. The park offers a wide variety of different shows and attractions that are frequently being updated. Additionally, we will be unveiling new events and exhibits that will hope to draw you back for a repeat visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairless Hills, PA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Lots of parrots!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We went here yesterday. It was hot and rainy but for a Sat after labor day, we practically had the place to ourselves. Like any zoo, it was pricey, even with a coupon we had for 20% off I found online. When you get there, the handlers automatically put the parrots on you and take your picture. You don't have to buy them if you don't want to but of course we did. It wasn't too bad though, we got an 8x10 and 2 5x7s for $35. The lay out was nice with covered walkways if it is hot or raining. Parrots and other birds all over the place in enclosures or on open perches. You can feed the ones out in the open. Our favorite moment was in the lion enclosure, there was a huge lion right up against the glass. I got really close and it tried to bite me through the glass. I love big cats!! I would recommend this animal attraction.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi Lynne, Thanks for visiting Jungle Island and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor! We’re delighted to receive such positive feedback and hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaguanas, Trinidad
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The live shows were ok, but could have been longer. Enjoyed the reptile show. Does not compare to Disney's Animal kingdom however.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi there! Thanks for visiting us and for sharing your experience. We are continuously updating our shows and experiences so we invite you to return for a future visit. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
06090
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“What a great place for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a very long layover at Miami airport (10 hours!). My boss had mentioned this place as a way to kill some time. It was perfect! We got there at opening time. Once we got in the gate we were offered the option of getting some pictures taken of us with a baby gator, parrots, etc. We had them all taken, and ended up buying a few poses on the way out. I was surprised at how good they came out.

We were able to walk around a bit then hit every single one of the shows. The shows are SO worth making it to. We were there on the same day as a lot of summer camps, but it didn't seem crowded once we were inside, and we easily found spots for all of the shows.

My 8 year old loved all of the parrots. You could walk right up to their perches and feed them. It was great! The whole place had shade, neat walkways through the palm trees and water, amazing shows, plenty of food and drinks to choose from, and a great gift shop at the end to pick up gifts and pictures. We spent about 6 hours here and have nothing but good things to say about the place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi Lauren! Thanks for spending your layover time at Jungle Island. We are always thrilled to receive such positive feedback and are glad that you enjoyed your day in the Jungle. Hopefully your travels will bring you back to Miami and to Jungle Island again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jungle Island also viewed

 

Been to Jungle Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jungle Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.