We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jungle Island

Jungle Island
1111 Parrot Jungle Trail, Miami, FL 33132
305-400-7000
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #30 of 122 attractions in Miami
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Birdwatching, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Jungle Island is located between downtown Miami and South Beach. The park offers amazing animal exhibits, unique shows and up-close animal interactions unlike anywhere else.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A unique place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and I love animals and we had a lot of fun here. You can feed the parrots from your hands, and the flamingos too. We caught one of the shows and it was pretty neat. A fun day.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi Chelsey… thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Jungle Island. We’re pleased to hear that you had a good time and hope that you will be back in Miami again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    235
    125
    49
    75
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“No reason to charge such high admission”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Had been to the old Parrot Jungle years ago and decided to go this past weekend. The admission is similar to that of a Disney or Universal Studios park. When you enter the park and look at the map, it seems that there is a vast and extensive park ahead. Be careful not to walk while you are reading the map, otherwise you will miss half the park. The exhibits are small, the shows are entertaining, but not worth seeing more than once. The parking system is illogical and over priced, much like the actual park. Recommended for out of town visitors, but if you go once, you would not want to return for a long time afterwards.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi there… Thank you for visiting Jungle Island. We wanted to take a moment to address your review. The admission price for Jungle Island is comparable to other attractions in South Florida and is actually much more cost effective than admission to Disney or Universal. While our park is not as expansive as one might think, we do have many amazing shows and attractions to offer. Again, thank you for visiting and for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Liked it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Wow ! Never realized the parrots come in such a big variations. The colors, nature and overall looks are so different that you just like to see more of them. Jungle Island is actually great if you want to see birds of all kind! The shows were good except the wild encounter one - they just brought few baby cubs and milk them! But Dr Wasabi show was good - the animals they brought was not awesome but they presented it so well that you feel engaged. The bird show was amazing and the best among I have seen till date. Visited White Tiger, Liger, Lions etc and they are cool! The park is clean and well-maintained. Overall spent a good time!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi there! Thank you for visiting Jungle Island and for sharing your experience. We’re glad that you had a good time and were impressed by the amazing shows and attractions that the park as to offer. And we were glad that you learned a little bit more about the numerous types of parrots that exist. Hopefully you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Birds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Worth the price of admission because we would hope a large portion of this goes toward caring for the residents (animals!) We highly recommend a visit--my teenage son loved it!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi Jan,
Thank you for visiting us and for posting a review of your experience. We’re happy that you visited us and yes, a large portion of our admission goes towards the care of our animals! We hope that you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitmore Lake, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Kids and Adults Attraction!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

As a post activity to our recent cruise, we spent an extra night in Miami with our grandkids (6 and 10) and their parents. Took in the Jungle Island Park and very happy with our choice! The unique opportunity to see many species of animals and birds that you don't see in typical zoos was great. The three shows we saw witht he handlers and trainers were also fun. Very hot and humid that day and loads of summer camp kids and counselors but we still enjoyed the visit
They do take AAA / AARP discount for tickets so ask! Easy to get around the paved trails and lots of shade to help as well. While I agree price was still steep for 6 of us - the smiles andpictures witht he kids and the white tiger cub as well as baby alligator and many colorful parrots was worth it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
HI Tamara… Thank you so much for visiting Jungle Island and for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor readers. We’re glad to hear that you and your family had an enjoyable experience in the park. We hope your photo memories and the memories of your visit last forever. Hope to have you visit us again the next time your travels bring you to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jungle Island also viewed

 

Been to Jungle Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jungle Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jungle Island to your Saves list