We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but the bigger animals need more space” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jungle Island

Jungle Island
1111 Parrot Jungle Trail, Miami, FL 33132
305-400-7000
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #31 of 122 Attractions in Miami
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Birdwatching, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Jungle Island is located between downtown Miami and South Beach. The park offers amazing animal exhibits, unique shows and up-close animal interactions unlike anywhere else.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Delray Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good but the bigger animals need more space”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was an outing for wife and mother for Mothers day. We arrived early as the gates opened and there was ample covered parking ($8.00). Entrance price was fair for this type of attraction and helped with a 20% online coupon.
There was a reprieve from the heat with covered walkways, which in South Florida is always welcome. There is a nice selection of wild cats including leopard, lion, white lions and "liger" The cats do have a clear glass panel for easier viewing. As this was originally Parrot Jungle there are plenty of birds, parrots included and feeding stations to feed them (25c). The kangaroo interaction cost $5:00 and you can feed and pet them. There are also other animal petting areas with goats. There are a few shows around the park which are well timed so one does not have to rush. There are many different walkways that make for an enjoyable walk though the park.
The main restaurant is located outside the gate, but a return stamp allows easy re-entry. Food and drinks were reasonably priced. Staff members are friendly and offer lots of information. If you go early enough, you can catch the feeding of the big cats.
All in all it was a very enjoyable but hot day. I originally was going to give 4 stars for the attraction but decided to remove one star because I feel that the bigger cats and orangutans need more space and they look a bit stressed.
None the less it was enjoyable for adults, however I am sure younger children would probably enjoy it more.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hi Weary Traveler,
Thank you for visiting Jungle Island and for taking a moment to write a review about your experience. We appreciate that you gave us three stars! However we wanted to address why we missed that 4th star. All of the enclosures on Jungle Island (including the big cat and orangutan exhibits) not only meet but exceed the requirements set by Florida Fish and Wildlife and the USDA. Jungle Island strives to provide the utmost care for our animals and provides daily enrichment activities for them. Animal care is a top priority and we receive numerous remarks on how well our animals are cared for from various organizations.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope that you will take the time visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    257
    143
    57
    81
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cazu247@Hotmail.com
Top Contributor
360 reviews 360 reviews
150 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“good family activity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We went on a fieldtrip and the staff could not be friendlier or helpful. Jungle Island has beautiful view of the bay and it is a little tricky getting there. However, this place is a little expensive for the displays and attractions.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hi cazu247… Thank you for visiting Jungle Island and for taking the time to share your experience with Trip Advisor. We apologize that you had some trouble finding us. We’re doing our best to provide more signage so that the park is easier to find. We hope that you will be back to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venezuela
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Many kind of parrots here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I never had been a lot of diferent species of parrots into the park and in some of case the birds live free in the area. And It is nice that you can give something(seed) to eat to the animals.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hi AquilesZ,
Thank you for visiting Jungle Island and for taking the time to write a review for us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Loved it loved it loved it!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We absolutely loved jungle island

The park is the right size not too big not to small.

Price $74 for 2 people, but steep for us but we'll worth it.

The albino croc was very interesting, the liger, and the biggest bird I have ever seen right out Jurassic park, quite literally.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hi Paul… Thanks for visiting Jungle Island during your trip to Miami and for giving us a great review! The bird you saw is named Mama Cass and she’s a Cassowary. She’s pretty impressive and we’re glad that being able to see her resonated with you. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Take the VIP tour....awesome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Ryan was our guide and he was fantastic.....the tour is worth every penny....spring for the photographer as well...I recommend "shooter"

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hi Lesley! Thank you for visiting Jungle Island and for taking our VIP Safari Tour! We’ll be sharing your comments with Ryan so that he can continue to do an awesome job! We hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jungle Island also viewed

 

Been to Jungle Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jungle Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.