We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family fun!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jungle Island

Jungle Island
1111 Parrot Jungle Trail, Miami, FL 33132
305-400-7000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$257*
and up
Jungle Island Miami VIP Safari Tour
Ranked #24 of 88 Attractions in Miami
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Dining, Viewing wildlife, Birdwatching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Jungle Island is located between downtown Miami and South Beach. The park offers amazing animal exhibits, unique shows and up-close animal interactions unlike anywhere else.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Wrentham, Massachusetts
1 review
“Good family fun!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The "jungle" is very well kept, and there are lots of shows to keep the family entertained, including a star named Pinky the cockatoo, who delighted my granddaughter with his bike riding on a wire! Pinky has a picture of himself with Winston Churchill, near his perch. The parrots are colorful and entertaining! There are tigers as well, monkeys and also a show boasting penguins and other exotics. There is a petting zoo, and a kangaroo pen where people can feed the animals grapes and kangaroo chow, be sure to get a picture with your child and a kangaroo!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    272
    151
    59
    84
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Incredible VIP tour!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

If you would like to do an unforgettable Zoo experience you must do the Jungle Island VIP Tour. The price is $240 for adults and $120 for children from 3 to 10 years old; I would not recommend it for smaller children. It includes Lunch of your choice at the Lakeside Cafe, including one non-alcoholic beverage. A souvenir t-shirt for each guest, park admission for the rest of the day and a 10% discount in the gift shop. I got to play with the lemurs, feed the baby kangaroos, see how gorillas get trained in sign language, and pet the Galapagos turtles among many other adventures. Our guide was very informative. I have never had such an interactive experience with the animal kingdom and this would be a gift to your family that they will never forget.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Different type of zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Enjoyed this place as an alternative to the zoo. Don't let the name fool you, it is not just about birds. There is a liger there which is one of a kind, truly a marvel.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rumble in the Jungle”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Jungle Island makes for a fun afternoon, no matter what age group you represent. You get to see a lot of different animals, mostly up close and the shows are entertaining and informative as well as you are roaming a small island between Miami and South Beach.
One disclaimer however, don't take it all too seriously. While there are some employees who are not only highly knowledgable but also very skilled, friendly and personably offering insightful information about the animal kingdom and its residents, the greater part (sadly) is on the island because they are clearly "Lost" when it comes to customer service.
I hope you are not afraid of animals because they are literally "thrown" at you before you can decline the photo-op. Ranging from bunny to monkey to baby alligator and parrot, it's all yours for the taking, well at least holding until the camera clicks and you are handed your receipt (to purchase it later at a horrendous price).
From the 3 shows seen, thumbs up for the flying wonders, the bird show. Very well orchestrated and a lot of fun. Another shoutout to Dr. Wasabi and his crew who also did a tremendous job for kids and adults alike with his furry friends. The one to skip is the wild animal show. Think Jerry Springer on Acid and you have misplaced the remote. Sitting in the first row was another crucial mistake as the volume brought back memories of a Foo Fighters concert. What could have been a lot of fun had people reeling once it was finally concluded. Overanimated for absolutely no reason.
Bottom line, if you can get a discount you are looking at $28 p.P. plus $8 parking, water bottles are $3 from vending machines inside, bring an apple and have lunch elsewhere.
Try this for our bid to farewell. At the "photo counter" pictures were viewed but ultimately purchase was declined hence the employee said "Enjoy your memories" and walked away.
Maybe once upon a time Jungle Island was a great attraction, it has lost it's glitter and is only upheld by the amazing animals and the few employees that truly, genuinly care.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful birds!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Before we started the tour, we were given a photo opp for a fee to hold parrots in our hands. That was my favorite part of the entire tour! Plus we have the picture which went into the Jungle Parrot frame. Not complaining at all. It is a favorite! The parrots were so soft and lightweight and cuddlyI We enjoyed our walk thru the Jungle. Unfortunately, it was a very hot and humid day and not many places to sit to rest. There is a LOT of walking. You definitely need a lot of drinking water. It was disappointing to see that the birds were in such small cages. The white tiger did look very bored and was just laying around off in the distance so no great photos of him. Kids would love this place! All in all a fun experience.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jungle Island also viewed

 

Been to Jungle Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jungle Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.