We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different type of zoo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jungle Island

Jungle Island
1111 Parrot Jungle Trail, Miami, FL 33132
305-400-7000
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #29 of 120 Attractions in Miami
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Birdwatching, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Jungle Island is located between downtown Miami and South Beach. The park offers amazing animal exhibits, unique shows and up-close animal interactions unlike anywhere else.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Different type of zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Enjoyed this place as an alternative to the zoo. Don't let the name fool you, it is not just about birds. There is a liger there which is one of a kind, truly a marvel.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    247
    140
    53
    79
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rumble in the Jungle”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Jungle Island makes for a fun afternoon, no matter what age group you represent. You get to see a lot of different animals, mostly up close and the shows are entertaining and informative as well as you are roaming a small island between Miami and South Beach.
One disclaimer however, don't take it all too seriously. While there are some employees who are not only highly knowledgable but also very skilled, friendly and personably offering insightful information about the animal kingdom and its residents, the greater part (sadly) is on the island because they are clearly "Lost" when it comes to customer service.
I hope you are not afraid of animals because they are literally "thrown" at you before you can decline the photo-op. Ranging from bunny to monkey to baby alligator and parrot, it's all yours for the taking, well at least holding until the camera clicks and you are handed your receipt (to purchase it later at a horrendous price).
From the 3 shows seen, thumbs up for the flying wonders, the bird show. Very well orchestrated and a lot of fun. Another shoutout to Dr. Wasabi and his crew who also did a tremendous job for kids and adults alike with his furry friends. The one to skip is the wild animal show. Think Jerry Springer on Acid and you have misplaced the remote. Sitting in the first row was another crucial mistake as the volume brought back memories of a Foo Fighters concert. What could have been a lot of fun had people reeling once it was finally concluded. Overanimated for absolutely no reason.
Bottom line, if you can get a discount you are looking at $28 p.P. plus $8 parking, water bottles are $3 from vending machines inside, bring an apple and have lunch elsewhere.
Try this for our bid to farewell. At the "photo counter" pictures were viewed but ultimately purchase was declined hence the employee said "Enjoy your memories" and walked away.
Maybe once upon a time Jungle Island was a great attraction, it has lost it's glitter and is only upheld by the amazing animals and the few employees that truly, genuinly care.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful birds!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Before we started the tour, we were given a photo opp for a fee to hold parrots in our hands. That was my favorite part of the entire tour! Plus we have the picture which went into the Jungle Parrot frame. Not complaining at all. It is a favorite! The parrots were so soft and lightweight and cuddlyI We enjoyed our walk thru the Jungle. Unfortunately, it was a very hot and humid day and not many places to sit to rest. There is a LOT of walking. You definitely need a lot of drinking water. It was disappointing to see that the birds were in such small cages. The white tiger did look very bored and was just laying around off in the distance so no great photos of him. Kids would love this place! All in all a fun experience.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynard, MA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic!! VIP tour rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had an awesome experience at Jungle Island -we did the VIP tour and it was amazing. We played/petted so many fabulous animals and learned so much. It was fabulous sitting in the room with the Lemurs while they crawled and jumped all around. We had a photographs taken and the photographer did an amazing job. I am highly suspicious of anyone who complains about incidents with animals as I am inclined to think that they weren't watching their children, also, one should ALWAYS know that an animal can quickly change behavior and one must always be on the look out
I loved this place! Staff was excellent

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Have to go with Kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Try to go, you will really enjoy your stay.
Try to see the animal shows as well the alligators and reptiles areas.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jungle Island also viewed

 

Been to Jungle Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jungle Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.