We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience for a Botanist” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kampong

The Kampong
4013 Douglas Road, Biscayne Bay, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)
305.442.7169
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 108 Attractions in Miami
Type: Gardens, Nature & Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enter the gates of this hidden oasis tucked in metropolitan Miami. See the sausage tree, named for its pendulous fruit hanging from ropelike stalks. Stand dwarfed by a hundred-year-old baobab from Tanzania that weighs almost 50 tons. Drink in the haunting fragrance of plants prized by the perfume industry. See the vibrant magenta blossoms of the pink trumpet tree as they color the horizon. Touch the hard hexagonal projections on the skins of the jakfruit, the world's largest tree fruit, or the feathery foliage of the canary yellow royal poinciana from Guyana. Discover the place that David Fairchild, the "Columbus of American Horticulture" called home.
NYC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Great Experience for a Botanist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

So many cool specimens you rarely see in the US. Blown away with the ylang- ylang, Tiplaris, Spathodea, Adansonia! Work a trip for anyone in the industry; I would skip it if you are not. Beware of the spiders!

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    13
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Closed - except for Wednesday and Saturday (by appointment)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

We were excited about seeing these gardens and headed there one afternoon - google and tripadvisor both said they'd be open. We were so disappointed that they weren't. From the gates you could see how cool the place must be so go... Just call and schedule a visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vonore, Tennessee
Top Contributor
385 reviews 385 reviews
204 attraction reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
512 helpful votes 512 helpful votes
“Lovely serene garden with many varieties of plants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

My husband and I have driven by the red gates to Kampong Gardens many times when we visit Coconut Grove, so checked it out on its website. We saw they give public tours by appointment on Wednesday and Saturday mornings at 10:30. Since it was a Wed., we called for a reservation. There were no tours that day, but we were granted entrance (push 001 on the call box to be buzzed in), a short presentation by Anna, and a printed program for a self tour. It was a wonderful way to spend 90 minutes. The walk is around 3/4ths of a mile, not too strenuous, but on uneven ground at times, with plenty of places to sit. It was hot and humid, even on a morning in December, so take some water. Admission for the self-guided tour is $15, but does not include the museum. The guided tours are $20 per person.

The land was originally owned by the first female physician in the area in the 1880's. David Fairchild bought the land in 1906, and he and his wife (daughter of Alexander Graham Bell) built the house in 1928 as a winter retreat. Mr. Fairchild was employed by the USDA to travel the world bringing back plants. He brought wheat from Siberia, for example, and many plants from SE Asia. He died in the 1950's and his wife in 1963. Thereafter it was sold to a female botanist who expanded the home and had it placed on the Registry of National Historic Places. It now is a beautiful garden with views from the point overlooking Biscayne Bay, Brickell and Miami Beach. The place also serves as a place of serious study.

The garden includes mangroves, a number of variety of palms, an African tulip tree, fruit trees, baobab, banyan, and many more. Most are nicely tagged. We saw some water fowl as well.There is even a water distillation device that ALexander Graham Bell devised on a visit. Other visitors included Henry Ford and Thomas Edison. We enjoyed having the garden entirely to ourselves. I am sure we would have learned much more on the tour. We see there are a number of special events open to the public.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Visiting hours - does not make sense”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I've been in Miami for the past 15 years - have never been to this park because of inconvenient schedule. Why are they closed weekends?!!! Does not make any sense. Maybe more people would visit it if the thought about locals, who need to WORK DURING WEEKDAYS?

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Miami's Own Dr. Quinn Medicine Woman”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The Kampong, oozing with Miami history, is a well kept secret. Nestled along the beautiful waters of Biscayne Bay, this property leads one out of the chaos of a fast-paced Miami lifestyle into the serenity of a magical garden. Complete with countless plant varieties(well labelled), uniquely designed buildings, and tales of South Florida pioneers (dating back to the 1800s), one can't help but be impressed with this little-known gem. Dr. David Fairchild, one of the more famous residents, contributed his horticultural knowledge to create this tropical paradise. Dr. Eleanor Simmons, an equally notable character, was Miami's first woman physician who often made trips by donkey to Miccosukee tribal lands to help ailing natives. There are so many stories which could fill this review, but treat yourself instead, to a trip of your own and see what a special place this really is. Reservations are recommended (Groupons sometimes available). Walking is easy to moderate

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Kampong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kampong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.