We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kampong

The Kampong
4013 Douglas Road, Biscayne Bay, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)
305.442.7169
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 122 attractions in Miami
Type: Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Enter the gates of this hidden oasis tucked in metropolitan Miami. See the sausage tree, named for its pendulous fruit hanging from ropelike stalks. Stand dwarfed by a hundred-year-old baobab from Tanzania that weighs almost 50 tons. Drink in the haunting fragrance of plants prized by the perfume industry. See the vibrant magenta blossoms of the pink trumpet tree as they color the horizon. Touch the hard hexagonal projections on the skins of the jakfruit, the world's largest tree fruit, or the feathery foliage of the canary yellow royal poinciana from Guyana. Discover the place that David Fairchild, the "Columbus of American Horticulture" called home.
Fargo, North Dakota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I took my family for a walk in the Kampong and they were very excited. It is really a wonderful place to spend some time with the loved ones if you enjoy nature like we do. My daughter loves plants and was really thrilled to see so many species. The view was wonderful.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
jpolliver
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Historical Botany for plant lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Cool place. Great docents. Interesting history. They ask for reservations for entrance, but if you just show up at the tour times (10:30 and noon), you will likely have no trouble getting in. The tours are leisurely, but well conducted. Tidbit: the property next door was owned by the wife of Gilbert Grosvenor, the founder of National Geographic. Pair this tour with a trip to the Fairchild Gardens for a plant lovers nirvana.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Relaxing Tour of Old Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We enjoyed the tour of these gardens and estate of the late David Fairchild. It is greatly appreciated by those who enjoy seeing variety of plants and trees and like to learn more about Miami's earlier pioneers. The estate ends with a gorgeous view of Biscayne Bay.
It is a nice place to hold a wedding or other reception.
Would definitely do it during the cooler months of December through February as it may be a bit muggy in the summer.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
352 reviews 352 reviews
135 attraction reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

A lovely property which makes you to discover the Coral Gables neighborhood. Call in advance because they have a lot of activities there which can make your visit imposible. Great tours to understand the concept and the founder. The garden and the house are adorable. An old garden with lots of mature, beautiful trees and not only. Don't miss the house and the view of Miami from the property shore.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Great Garden to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

David Fairchild's home in Coconut Grove is well worth a visit. We took advantage of a Living Social special two for one deal. The tour was supposed to last one hour and after 1.5 hours we had only just entered the buildings on the property so my husband and I had to leave the tour and run down to the bay to see the view as we had to pick someone up at the airport. We were sorry not to be able to stay and finish the tour of this very historical home. The gardens and trees are quite lovely and the tour is worth doing. You even get to sample Tamarind and other exotic fruits as you go round the garden.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Kampong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kampong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Kampong to your Saves list