We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kampong

The Kampong
4013 Douglas Road, Biscayne Bay, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)
305.442.7169
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 215 things to do in Miami
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enter the gates of this hidden oasis tucked in metropolitan Miami. See the sausage tree, named for its pendulous fruit hanging from ropelike stalks. Stand dwarfed by a hundred-year-old baobab from Tanzania that weighs almost 50 tons. Drink in the haunting fragrance of plants prized by the perfume industry. See the vibrant magenta blossoms of the pink trumpet tree as they color the horizon. Touch the hard hexagonal projections on the skins of the jakfruit, the world's largest tree fruit, or the feathery foliage of the canary yellow royal poinciana from Guyana. Discover the place that David Fairchild, the "Columbus of American Horticulture" called home.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I took my family for a walk in the Kampong and they were very excited. It is really a wonderful place to spend some time with the loved ones if you enjoy nature like we do. My daughter loves plants and was really thrilled to see so many species. The view was wonderful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    15
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jpolliver
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Historical Botany for plant lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Cool place. Great docents. Interesting history. They ask for reservations for entrance, but if you just show up at the tour times (10:30 and noon), you will likely have no trouble getting in. The tours are leisurely, but well conducted. Tidbit: the property next door was owned by the wife of Gilbert Grosvenor, the founder of National Geographic. Pair this tour with a trip to the Fairchild Gardens for a plant lovers nirvana.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jpolliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Relaxing Tour of Old Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We enjoyed the tour of these gardens and estate of the late David Fairchild. It is greatly appreciated by those who enjoy seeing variety of plants and trees and like to learn more about Miami's earlier pioneers. The estate ends with a gorgeous view of Biscayne Bay.
It is a nice place to hold a wedding or other reception.
Would definitely do it during the cooler months of December through February as it may be a bit muggy in the summer.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank acostajorge44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
649 reviews
276 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

A lovely property which makes you to discover the Coral Gables neighborhood. Call in advance because they have a lot of activities there which can make your visit imposible. Great tours to understand the concept and the founder. The garden and the house are adorable. An old garden with lots of mature, beautiful trees and not only. Don't miss the house and the view of Miami from the property shore.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Aburel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
719 reviews
218 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 435 helpful votes
“Great Garden to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

David Fairchild's home in Coconut Grove is well worth a visit. We took advantage of a Living Social special two for one deal. The tour was supposed to last one hour and after 1.5 hours we had only just entered the buildings on the property so my husband and I had to leave the tour and run down to the bay to see the view as we had to pick someone up at the airport. We were sorry not to be able to stay and finish the tour of this very historical home. The gardens and trees are quite lovely and the tour is worth doing. You even get to sample Tamarind and other exotic fruits as you go round the garden.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank mwooduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Kampong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing