We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly lovely, exotic collection, some too-artificially groomed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kampong

The Kampong
4013 Douglas Road, Biscayne Bay, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)
305.442.7169
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #23 of 117 attractions in Miami
Type: Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Enter the gates of this hidden oasis tucked in metropolitan Miami. See the sausage tree, named for its pendulous fruit hanging from ropelike stalks. Stand dwarfed by a hundred-year-old baobab from Tanzania that weighs almost 50 tons. Drink in the haunting fragrance of plants prized by the perfume industry. See the vibrant magenta blossoms of the pink trumpet tree as they color the horizon. Touch the hard hexagonal projections on the skins of the jakfruit, the world's largest tree fruit, or the feathery foliage of the canary yellow royal poinciana from Guyana. Discover the place that David Fairchild, the "Columbus of American Horticulture" called home.
south Florida
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Mostly lovely, exotic collection, some too-artificially groomed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Given what we now know of the dangers of bringing in exotic species that can invade and overrun indigenous species, a botanical collection like the Kampong could not come into existence today. But this site has served a purpose for much legitimate botanical research, and the house has historical and architectural interest—most notably, a gathering of government bureaucrats planned and created Everglades National Park in this house.

Annual membership grants access earlier in the day, allowing more creative morning-light photography for those so inclined. Some docents of the guided tours are more knowledgeable than others. It seemed almost as if the guide on our recent visit spent more time telling us what she did *not* know than what she did. Still, we found it interesting, and certainly lovely. But the grounds east of the house, toward the bay, are overly groomed to the point of seeming almost artificial. And we found it odd that they would allow the dock area to remain littered (perhaps they cleaned it soon after our visit.)

If you enjoy botany and a bit of local history, it's worth the visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coral Gables, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Dont walk, Run there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Great location, beautiful views of the bay, so peaceful, so many examples of edible trees, mangos, avocados, berries, exotics, and more. Just love it here. Is where Dr Fairchild, yes of Fairchild Gardens, lived. So its his own personal collection. Is a must for me.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Paradise for people interested in botanical gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent the whole day before at the Fairchild Tropical Botanic Garden. It is truly wonderful, but was crowded. The 11 acre Kampong which was once David Fairchild's home is a different experience. Here are some of the plants that the famous explorer/horticulturalist collected. Those who love botanical gardens should not pass this one up. As we walked down the drive, I felt as if we had entered the private garden of the man himself. And we had. Magnificent!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very interesting sometimes, boring at times”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is a wonderful garden but I would say go to Fairchild first. I went there with hubby and he got bored quite quickly. I am interested by trees and fruit so I was in my element. The fact that it's a guided tour can be a problem for those who would just tour it in 30 minutes.

The guides are volunteers so they don't know everything although they try their best. Bring mosquito repellent, hats and sunscreen, and also water, since the visit lasted 2 hours and there are no fountains.

The view is wonderful and you will take nice pictures if you love to take snapshots.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cutler Bay, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quietly refreshing low key excellence in nature and habitat history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is a superb, quiet, peaceful treasure where regular glitzy tourists don't go because they don't know or probably care about educational oasi like Fairchild Gardens, Viscaya, and similar venues! This is quietly and easily accesible in Coconut Grove at the residence of the early Flrida icon, David Fairchild and wife. The history is delicious, as are their museumly preserved furnishings and structures. The Breeze on their waterfront is to like down and die in. . . .a quiet place to meet with special nature appreciating colleagues, or clients. . .or prospective clients. . . .this is the caliber of old world old money that quietly accomplishes most of what got done on the side of humanity and science. .. .but please sample their unpretentious outstanding excellence, quietly preserved for a discerning few. . . enjoy!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Kampong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kampong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.