We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not like it used to be” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Virginia Key Beach Park

Virginia Key Beach Park
4020 Virginia Beach Drive, Miami, FL
305.960.4600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 122 Attractions in Miami
Type: Beaches
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Located off of Miami's Rickenbacker Causeway in Key Biscayne, this beach features a vintage carousel and train ride.
metro area Washington, DC
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Not like it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We drove around the Miami Marine Stadium, which is on Virginia Key, to see it again because I used to go to the boat races there in the 70's--what great fun they were!! Then we drove over to Virginia Key Beach, near the Marine Stadium. The beach is nothing like it used to be. Virginia Key Beach was THE beach in the 70's. Everybody went there. South Beach didn't exist. It was lined with old dilapated hotels filled with elderly people sitting around. It was known for that. The art deco hotel transformations came in the 80's. Virginia Key Beach was the main beach and it was beautiful. Palm trees studded the beach and other tropical vegetation You could cook out on the beach, picnic, and it was a major family beach. I still have photos of the way it was. The zoo was in Crandon Park on Key Biscayne--the Crandon Park Zoo. After the beach we would go to the zoo, it was close by. Everything was free. The beach was closed for a time, then it was decided to renovate it, which they are doing now. Unfortunately, it will never be like the old beach. The beaches on Key Biscayne are better, especially Cape Florida Bill Bagg's State Park. If you go to the end you can look out over the water and see Stiltsville, or see a manatee, or, go to the lighthouse area which is very pretty. We've seen weddings there.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    10
    3
    0
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spent a Sunday morning riding in Key Biscayne and decided to cross the bridge to Virginia Key. Since we came by bike we were not charged the $6 / car entrance fee. This fee seems very small if you plan to spend a family day at the beach. We were surprised by how well laid out the whole park area is. It was an easy ride through the main road and some side roads. I remember coming to this beach in the 80's and even though it was quiet and serene, it had fallen into disrepair. At the northern end we found excellent mountain trails maintained by volunteers. At first we were a little hesitant, but were so glad we tried out the "novice" trail that had picture perfect views of downtown Miami and Miami Beach. The volunteer crew even lent us a couple of helmets which we had not brought. There are many areas undergoing restoration which will hopefully restore the native hammocks and beach areas. Will return to try out the biking trails again and also try out the hiking trails.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Hiking the biking trIls.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Dont miss this oppertunity to enjoy 3 plus mils of hiking, just have to look back every so often for bikers. 1.75 to enter Key Biscayne & 6.00 to enter the trails. Well worth it. Best trail to hike Highway to hell. More elevation than you might think. Start out following the trail signs and always take the more difficult trails when asked. The trail is a loop back to the parking.You wont be sorry this is the best in Miami.mwhen done head over to Wiskey Joe's for a cold one.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very close but far away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I was recently at Virginia Key Beach Park. Just across from Miami Sea Aquarium. The section of beach I visited did not have lifeguards. It was a Friday morning and the park/beach was eerily quiet for a place so close to a metropolis like Miami. The section of beach/park I was at seemed to have no official presence. There was a sign that said no swimming, but there really wasn't anybody to stop you if you wanted. If you want peace and solitude on a beach, on a weekday by all means go here.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great workout and awesome trails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I love riding in these trails, the views are amazing, is very clean, you can sign up for daily updates so in case of rain they can let u know if its closed or still open, I always have a great time, besides on the weekends after the workout my family does bbq's right there by the beach. It pretty much has everything!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virginia Key Beach Park also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Key Beach Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virginia Key Beach Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.