We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great workout and awesome trails” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Virginia Key Beach Park

Virginia Key Beach Park
4020 Virginia Beach Drive, Miami, FL
305.960.4600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 122 attractions in Miami
Type: Beaches
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Located off of Miami's Rickenbacker Causeway in Key Biscayne, this beach features a vintage carousel and train ride.
miami
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great workout and awesome trails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I love riding in these trails, the views are amazing, is very clean, you can sign up for daily updates so in case of rain they can let u know if its closed or still open, I always have a great time, besides on the weekends after the workout my family does bbq's right there by the beach. It pretty much has everything!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    9
    1
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coral Gables, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“he $6 Insult”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Came this morning got to the entrance handed the guy a $5 bill he said it was six i asked when it went up he sarcastically said " like months ago" ...weeks ago i was going to come but didnt have cash only card and at that time it was $5 so i asked if he had needed a dollar for something. he said nothing. Feeling insulted i carried on to see a cop car parked in the middle of the street he approached my vehcle and asked what i was doing and where i was going in an interrogating tone(need i mind u i was not speeding or anything of the sort) asked if there were beaches there that thats where i was heading he says you can go now there were no signs and a fork in the rd so i asked him which way to go for the beaches he just looked back and said you csan go asked again which way says again you can go ahead. Got to beach it was like a ghost town all lots on the way to main area were closed off, nature trail closed off. i was wondering if the beach was opened at all. it was a ghost town even the raccoon looked sick that i saw. then i read somehing about a restoration project on a posterboard lasting till dec 2013 ...this place was a $6 insult. Do your self a favor drive a bit more south and visit bill baggs state park or crandon park. VA Key should not be open. Its very shady. Unpleasant experience to say the least. Its ashame to because you can see potential there but they shouldnt be charging their made up admission prices when nothing is open. >:(

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“terrible !!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

5 dollars to get in . rude staff. dirty beach filled with seaweed . looks like boat deck instead of beach

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodden Town, Grand Cayman
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A quiet beach experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I lived in Miami for approx 3 years while I attended graduate school. For me, the thrill of South Beath got old fast because it was quite a drive from where I lived, parking was expensive, drinking was expensive, the beach was always crowded, and there is absolutely no shade. However, Virginia Key was the opposite. I first went with some family that lived in the area and it was closer, parking inexpensive (per day, not hour), coolers are allowed, much less crowded (more families, etc), and there are trees!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“13 hour drive and worth it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Traveled here from NC for the Virginia Key Grassroots Festival of Music and Dance! Camped on the beach for several days and I must say it was very enjoyable! The attendants were pleasant, the landscape and groundskeeping was great, and the park was beautiful! And I'd like to add, for someone who loves showering, the bath house here was quite comfortable, HOT water and a friendly attendant! There are raccoons on the island that like to come out at night and crocodiles. I never personally encountered one of the two except for from afar. If you are camping, don't leave food out in the tent or you may find a creature or two joining you in the tent. But, the beaches are quiet and the view of the Miami skyline, especially at night is a must-see. Two Thumbs Up! I'll be back!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virginia Key Beach Park also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Key Beach Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virginia Key Beach Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Virginia Key Beach Park to your Saves list