We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food, fab staff is a secret worth sharing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Federal Food, Wine and Provisions

The Federal Food, Wine and Provisions
5132 Biscayne Blvd., Miami, FL
305-758-9559
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #583 of 3,717 Restaurants in Miami
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Awesome food, fab staff is a secret worth sharing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I don't know where to begin. But from the moment you walk in to getting the first dish, the atmosphere is fun, great for dates as well as friends get together. Food you might have had before BUT NEVER THIS GOOD & fun. Great presentation, delicious water- served just right = room temp(if you like). We went for the Gilt "Seafood Extravaganza" OMG. We didn't even finish everything bc we wanted room for the next course. YUMMY ;) and the staff, especially the young dude who runs around and does everything needed to please the guest. FAB,FAB,FAB,FAN,FAN

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    13
    18
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

A few girlfriends and I ate here on a Sunday since one of them lives nearby. We made reservations and when we got there we were seated in a cozy little table. Shortly after we were seated we were asked to move to a vey uncomfortable picnic table in the center of the room though the entire restaurant was empty, this was very rude in my opinion. The food was excellent, I recommend the chicken and waffles and the French toast. For $16 you get unlimited mimosas which in Miami is a great deal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Hidden gem of gourmet food, great service and ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I come to this restaurant with family last week... we were searching for something new and none of us had been here before. My sister was coming in from San Francisco (famous for their great independent restaurants) so her palate is a bit sophisticated.

We read some other reviews on trip advisor and decided to check it out.

The restaurant is located in a small strip center next to dunkin donuts. The parking is very tough because there aren't that many spaces and a few of the other stores have reserved spaced. Whatever you do, don't park in a Dunkin Donuts space or else you WILL get towed. The next door shopping center (with the boxing gym) has available space but you may also get towed there.. there is additional parking behind the restaurant but it is a bit shady and could be dangerous. I would suggest parking across the street along the side street in a meter if you can't find parking in the shopping center.

When walking in, the atmosphere is a stark contrast to what's going on right outside. The inside is nicely decorated like an Old style Tavern with wooden furniture and a fireplace!!!
The lighting is perfectly lite and you won't have trouble reading the menu.
The service is excellent and well trained and the menu is something that you will need to read through. There arent the typical dishes you may be used to at your casual dining restaurant. Here you have Duck Pate, pork Bellies, fancy salads, meat and cheese plates, and other fancy items that i'm not used to. My sister on the other hand loves this place! It's now her favorite in Miami. The prices are moderate for the level of food they give you.

They also have alot of small plates and appetizers so if you just want something to snack on and drink, you can get away with spending less than $20-$30 per person. If you want a full meal with drinks.... it's closer to $30-$50 per person.

Hope this HELPS!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This restaurant is in a strip center that is not much to look at, but step inside and and you are transported to an Anthropologie catolog set. But the good news, it is not pretintious at all. Atmosphere is very laid back. The food is inventive and fresh. Great service. If you are in the area, I would recommend a visit.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Big reputation, but left underwhelmed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

A group of us were excited to head here after reading online so many raves. The parking lot is small but is manned with valet. The building inside is nicely decorated and has a good ambiance. We’d had a reservation and were seated without wait. The wait staff was very welcoming and attentive with recommendations. Their wine list was reasonable in selection and prices too. Where things fell short was the food. Whoever writes their menus is better with words than their chef is with the ingredients. The best item was the jar of duck, like a rich puree of thanksgiving and the biscuits were quite good also. The rest of the proteins were mistreated in our opinions. The beef and pork were cooked to mush, the chicken was dry and fish was overcook to structure-less. It wasn’t like a bad buffet warming to long; it seemed plated to order, but left “low and slow” without any finesse. I had a cobbler dessert which was the best of the group, everyone else felt their desserts were overly rich and cloying. The coffee options we’d gotten were excellent, much better that the coffee & espresso’s at most restaurants.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Federal Food, Wine and Provisions also viewed

 

Been to The Federal Food, Wine and Provisions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Federal Food, Wine and Provisions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.