We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The other side of town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shalimar Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Shalimar Motel to your Saves list
Shalimar Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   6200 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33138   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 112 Hotels in Miami
Brampton, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The other side of town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

we stayed here one night after vacationing in orlando we came down to miami for a over night stay,as it was our first time visiting Miami we didn't know our way around and figured we would just find a chain Hotel to spend the night , everything was expensive and parking was extra,we found out you could go broke in miami paying for parking.we drove around for a good 45minutes and went to a couple others along Biscayne before we found the Shalimar ,the guy at the desk was friendly ( white dread) the room was clean and we got extra towels,the crossant and coffee was o.k.base on the price we paid for the room which included the parking . the location was convinient to the curise port ,downtown Miami and south beach.A typical Motel room nothing fancy,a bit noisy as it was close to the street, a bit scary but so is that entire strech lots of weird people hanging out on the streets and people cussing in the middle of the night.It was worth the one night but the neigbourhood is not the best, nothing to do with the Hotel just where it is.

Room Tip: the rooms facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiki G, Manager at Shalimar Motel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive review of the Shalimar. We appreciate your business and your feedback. The MiMo area (the neighborhood we are located in) is in the midst of being revitalized, and we are excited to be a part of the growth process. We love the fact that there are so many restaurants and cafes within walking distance!
We always strive to provide clean, quality rooms and exceptional customer service at an affordable price.
If your travel plans bring you to Miami again, please contact us directly via email/phone to guarantee the best rate.
Thanks again for your time and your review.

All the best,
Andrew Mendosa
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    50
    36
    18
    11
See reviews for
27
51
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port-au-Prince, Haiti
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Good alternative to New Yorker motel when travelling. Free parking and clean rooms! Good option when you don't need a lot of comfort and you don't want to spend a lot. Close to most place of interest: SOBE, dowtown, MIA airport, malls, etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanata, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed here with a friend for one night, pre-cruise (January 25, 2013). The guy at the front desk (dreadlocked guy from Wisconsin) was very helpful - helped us navigate to a shoe store, liquor store, brought us extra water and towels as we asked. Not in the greatest part of town... Biscayne Blvd - scary, don't walk down the street alone after dark. It was relatively clean, bed comfortable, but it is NOISY. The road noise is constant. The A/C unit helped drown out some of the noise but the gap under the door was almost 2 inches - didn't help keep out the noise. It was a 27$ cab ride from Miami International Airport and 20$ to the Port of Miami. There were 2 great restaurants up the street a couple of blocks - one for dinner (Devita's) one for breakfast (Liva Lounge). It is a few blocks from Biscayne Plaza (Payless, Liquor Mart, Subway, Rainbow Shoes).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

As the clerk at the "desk" stated- you are not in a very good neighborhood. If you want coffee you better drive a couple of miles. Which also made sense because the "continental breakfast" they offer on booking.com does not exist! It's so bad they don't even have an ice machine because it would get stolen according to the young man at the window (yes bullet-proof glass window).
Don' t make the mistake we did based on location relative to the Port of Miami - you would do better to stay out of this neighborhood and away from the Shalimar no-tell motel.

Room Tip: there is no pool and if there was I am sure it would have been full of who knows what. no fitness c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Booked off of Red Tag,good price.
Taxi told us it was not a good area,but has improved.
Room was large and clean.
Pretty empty, not a lot items. Had to ask for A/C to be turned on at front desk.
Had pasteries and good coffee in in the "lobby" till 9am.
Was no shuttle to cruise terminal, got a cab for 30$
Good for one night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights prior to our cruise out of Miami. Here are the Pros... It was a nice hotel, the staff was very nice and accommodating. There was a city bus right outside, although we didn't use it.The owner lady was very nice and full of information.There was a sitting area with some tables outside of the office, which was a nice area to hang out. The rooms were clean and newly renovated with a small fridge, T.V. with about 20 channels, nice T.V. cabinet with some drawers, large closet area, bathroom with tub/shower, nice decor.
Now the Cons...It was not in a very good location, no gas stations, grocery stores, restaurants. There was a Starbucks about 3 blocks.There were some shady people that hung out on the streets at night. Our room was on the backside of the hotel, so our view was of the alley (not clean or attractive) there wasn't a balcony as indicated it was the walkway that you used it get to the rooms, but there was 1 chair on it. There was no pool. There was no breakfast except for a few pastries and 2 cups of coffee per room (strange I thought) otherwise the cups were $0.75 each. There were some vending machines, but nothing great. There was no ice machine..(strange again). We had 2 double beds that were low to the ground ( only one mattress, no box spring) the headboards were neat as far as Art Deco but they were shaped as the pillows would fall in between them and we were constantly hitting our heads on the metal, they needed a straight board to keep the pillows up (I know that sounds weird, but you would have to see it to know what I mean).The towels were so small and thin, my 6'4 husband had to use 2! They were renovating some rooms next to us, so they may be adding a breakfast room later on or something.
We probably wouldn't stay here again, although it may improve in a year.

Room Tip: If you want to stay here, ask for a ground floor on the front side of the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Shalimar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Motel

Address: 6200 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33138
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 112 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shalimar Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Shalimar Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shalimar Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.