We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, clean rooms, under construction” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shalimar Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Shalimar Motel to your Saves list
Shalimar Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   6200 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33138   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Iowa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice place, clean rooms, under construction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights prior to our cruise out of Miami. Here are the Pros... It was a nice hotel, the staff was very nice and accommodating. There was a city bus right outside, although we didn't use it.The owner lady was very nice and full of information.There was a sitting area with some tables outside of the office, which was a nice area to hang out. The rooms were clean and newly renovated with a small fridge, T.V. with about 20 channels, nice T.V. cabinet with some drawers, large closet area, bathroom with tub/shower, nice decor.
Now the Cons...It was not in a very good location, no gas stations, grocery stores, restaurants. There was a Starbucks about 3 blocks.There were some shady people that hung out on the streets at night. Our room was on the backside of the hotel, so our view was of the alley (not clean or attractive) there wasn't a balcony as indicated it was the walkway that you used it get to the rooms, but there was 1 chair on it. There was no pool. There was no breakfast except for a few pastries and 2 cups of coffee per room (strange I thought) otherwise the cups were $0.75 each. There were some vending machines, but nothing great. There was no ice machine..(strange again). We had 2 double beds that were low to the ground ( only one mattress, no box spring) the headboards were neat as far as Art Deco but they were shaped as the pillows would fall in between them and we were constantly hitting our heads on the metal, they needed a straight board to keep the pillows up (I know that sounds weird, but you would have to see it to know what I mean).The towels were so small and thin, my 6'4 husband had to use 2! They were renovating some rooms next to us, so they may be adding a breakfast room later on or something.
We probably wouldn't stay here again, although it may improve in a year.

Room Tip: If you want to stay here, ask for a ground floor on the front side of the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    36
    28
    15
    7
See reviews for
18
37
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gelrode, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

New big rooms, with comfortable king size bed. Bathroom rather small, but clean and functional. Staff is very friendly. Continental breakfast not that great. Coffe, tea and some croissants. But that is anywhere in Florida. Plenty of free parking space for your car. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

It was a good price,clean enough room...but so noisy that we barely slept at all. You could hear everything from the other rooms,the street, the neighbors who apparently had roosters(who sang at 3am!) and we could hear the people in the rooms next to us and above us very well.
If you're looking for a cheap/clean place fine...try to at least get a room in the back, and renovated...ours wasn't so apparently the huge gaps in the door were due to that so it was even noisier for us. When we asked to be changed to another room they said we would have to pay more since ours wasn't a renovated room and others were! And when we asked about the rooster we were told that they are everywhere and 'normal' in this 'rural' part of miami....sure...whatever. There are no refunds,you pay all upfront so you will lose money if you decide to go somewhere else.
Get some earplugs and you'll be ok.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The room was clean and staff friendly. Should be OK for 1 night stay. The main drawback is that the hotel is very noisy at night because of its location on the US 1. Also, the neighbourhood is sort of fishy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at the Shalimar 4 nights in a row and they charged us a different price every time,I asked why but I wasn't given a straight answer!
Even though there was a non-smoking sign in the room, it smelled of smoke and the bedspread had cigarette burns on it as well as the basin and there was an ashtray on the table.
Bottle water is complimentary but we only got it the first night, asked for more but claimed you get them only once.
The room had a burnt light bulb and on reporting it, I was told they din't have new bulbs but I could go and get one myself!Of course they never addressed that problem.
The wifi worked great and the free parking was very convenient.The location is very good.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The hotel is in good location, newly renovated room, and staff is very very helpful.

But maybe also because they're renovating, not everything is ready in the room when they settle the guests. Sometimes no hot shower, and sometimes no TV program.

We stayed for 2 nights. The first night we find there is no hot water for shower in bathroom, and our room is next to the big street so you can hear the cars rushing by. We told the staff the next morning and she gave us a new room in the back.

It was quiet and with hot shower, but the TV has only one channel (compared with the noisy room, which has several channels) The cleaning lady also does not change the shampoo because it's only half bottle left.

Also, the door lock is extremly difficult to open, you need to know the trick and practice several times to be able to open it.

Having said that, the staff is very very friendly and helpful. They try to provide the rooms we need and cope with our needs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shalimar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Motel

Address: 6200 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33138
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shalimar Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shalimar Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shalimar Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.