We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shalimar Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Shalimar Motel to your Saves list
Shalimar Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   6200 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33138   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 115 Hotels in Miami
Gelrode, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

New big rooms, with comfortable king size bed. Bathroom rather small, but clean and functional. Staff is very friendly. Continental breakfast not that great. Coffe, tea and some croissants. But that is anywhere in Florida. Plenty of free parking space for your car. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    54
    40
    18
    11
See reviews for
30
54
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

It was a good price,clean enough room...but so noisy that we barely slept at all. You could hear everything from the other rooms,the street, the neighbors who apparently had roosters(who sang at 3am!) and we could hear the people in the rooms next to us and above us very well.
If you're looking for a cheap/clean place fine...try to at least get a room in the back, and renovated...ours wasn't so apparently the huge gaps in the door were due to that so it was even noisier for us. When we asked to be changed to another room they said we would have to pay more since ours wasn't a renovated room and others were! And when we asked about the rooster we were told that they are everywhere and 'normal' in this 'rural' part of miami....sure...whatever. There are no refunds,you pay all upfront so you will lose money if you decide to go somewhere else.
Get some earplugs and you'll be ok.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The room was clean and staff friendly. Should be OK for 1 night stay. The main drawback is that the hotel is very noisy at night because of its location on the US 1. Also, the neighbourhood is sort of fishy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at the Shalimar 4 nights in a row and they charged us a different price every time,I asked why but I wasn't given a straight answer!
Even though there was a non-smoking sign in the room, it smelled of smoke and the bedspread had cigarette burns on it as well as the basin and there was an ashtray on the table.
Bottle water is complimentary but we only got it the first night, asked for more but claimed you get them only once.
The room had a burnt light bulb and on reporting it, I was told they din't have new bulbs but I could go and get one myself!Of course they never addressed that problem.
The wifi worked great and the free parking was very convenient.The location is very good.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The hotel is in good location, newly renovated room, and staff is very very helpful.

But maybe also because they're renovating, not everything is ready in the room when they settle the guests. Sometimes no hot shower, and sometimes no TV program.

We stayed for 2 nights. The first night we find there is no hot water for shower in bathroom, and our room is next to the big street so you can hear the cars rushing by. We told the staff the next morning and she gave us a new room in the back.

It was quiet and with hot shower, but the TV has only one channel (compared with the noisy room, which has several channels) The cleaning lady also does not change the shampoo because it's only half bottle left.

Also, the door lock is extremly difficult to open, you need to know the trick and practice several times to be able to open it.

Having said that, the staff is very very friendly and helpful. They try to provide the rooms we need and cope with our needs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
0.2 mi away
New Yorker Boutique Hotel
6.6 mi away
Rodeway inn Miami
Rodeway inn Miami
#76 of 115 in Miami
3.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
9.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Miami-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Quality Inn Miami Airport Hotel
6.1 mi away
Ramada Miami Springs / Miami International Airport
16.8 mi away
Quality Inn South at the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalimar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Motel

Address: 6200 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33138
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 115 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shalimar Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Shalimar Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shalimar Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.