We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant quiet location on a lagoon five minutes from airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6700 NW 7th Street, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #33 of 131 hotels in Miami
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant quiet location on a lagoon five minutes from airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

What a find! we have stayed at the Mariott Hotel & Mariott Courtyard hotels near Miami airport before; the SpringHill Suites are part of the Mariott chain - with HUGE rooms & kitchenette, a view over a calm lagoon and you don't hear any airplanes. The breakfast is adequate; typically american with huge hoards of people 'dining' each morning. Most of whom are guests who are going on or coming from a cruise. The hotel has a small fitness room and outside pool (not heated!). The reception staff are simply lovely. Nothing is too much for them. As everywhere in Miami, it's best if you speak Spanish. Free parking and a shuttle takes you pretty much anywhere you want to be including car rental & airport.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSMIA, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
We read your review and are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay at the SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South. We hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Leila Aviles
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    192
    48
    15
    13
See reviews for
188
94
18
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, ON
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

I remember the excellent customer service from the Front Desk Staff including German, who was never too busy to share a laugh with me and offer recommendations for local eateries.

Thank you for welcoming us to Miami with open arms!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSMIA, Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South. We are happy to read that the Front Desk staff and specially German provide great service. We hope to see you again very soon and demonstrating our commitment to delivering outstanding service and value.

Sincerely,

Leila Aviles
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

We stayed here after a flight got cancelled. They gave us a distress rate and that is the only reason it was ok. We booked it for $159 which it would not have been worth. Paid about half of that. Stains on couch and carpet. Stains on toilet handle. Bed was comfortable. Huge TV that could be seen from couch or bed. Not near anything to eat. Ordered pizza from place that was recommended from front desk, it wasn't good. They do have airport shuttle, takes about 20 minutes to get to airport. Free breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSMIA, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback. We have taken additional steps to ensure that similar situations do not occur in the future.

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We look forward to seeing you in the future, and demonstrating our commitment to delivering outstanding service and value.

Sincerely,

Leila Aviles
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011 via mobile

Moved to this hotel after, leaving that horrible Fairfield Inn doral/west airport. This hotel is fantastic large rooms, great breakfast, nice pool and gym has free weights. Service is very good also great location. The rooms are nice it make you want to spend a couple extra hrs in it. My only complain is bathroom was small but other than that a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSMIA, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South. We hope to see you again very soon and demonstrating our commitment to delivering outstanding service and value.

Sincerely,

Leila Aviles
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

Hotel had good accommodations except for the spider hiding in the phone. Service and breakfast was adequate . Went on a 7 day cruise with the intent of returning from a lovely vacation free of stress . Parked the Van in FRONT of the hotel ,full view of the security camera and security staff . Upon return from the cruise, the static LCD TV was stolen out of the van . Police called and came after 15 min, report made to police and the hotel. The hotel staff stated one did not fill out a parking package which was never offered to our traveling party .No one saw any thing, the alarm on the van was not heard supposedly. (even though they have full security ) . Visible tampering was seen on the back door of the Van in regards to a lock being tampered with. Hotel management stated they are not responsible for any loss and one was not allowed to look at the surveillance cameras. Hotel management, Ms Aviles at time , was not sympathetic and did not offer any type of compensatory coupons or discount for damages rendered on the property.
All those who plan on staying for an extended time period , beware of parking in this area .Take all measures necessary to protect your vehicle and avoid the 850 dollars we needed to fix damages.
We will next time park at the port of Miami and hopefully it will be much safer.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSMIA, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
Dear Guest:

We are sorry to hear about this unfortunate incident during your recent stay. At the SpringHill Suites by Marriott, the safety and welling being of our guests is our greatest concern. Our hotels parking lot is well-lit and secure. We also work closely with local authorities to ensure that similar incidents like the one you experienced do not happen again.

We value your business and hope that you will give us a change to regain your confidence. If travel should bring you back to Miami, please contact me so that I may personally handle your reservation.



Sincerely,

Leila Aviles
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

I booked this hotel for my pre-cruise group. Jennifer was wonderful to check us all in and offer restaurant ideas. Omar was the shuttle driver and he was fantastic. He took us where we wanted to go and especially to La Rosa Cuban Restaurant. It was a fantastic treat, they served our group and paid a lot of attention to our requests. The chicken ws to die for! Anyway, my sister's husband who was in a wheelchair but was denied boarding for our ship for improper documentation and he insisted that we go on the cruise without him. I called ahead and explained to Jennifer the situation and she gave him the same room and assured me no problem they would take care of him while we cruised. We hated to leave and cruise without him but was sure that he would be okay. Omar spent a lot of time seeing that my brother-in-law went out to eat or to the store by taking him wherever he needed to go. I thought that was beyond the call of duty and so wonderful of the him. Some of the group went back to stay at the hotel when their flights were cancelled due a snow storm in chicago. I highly recommend anyone to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSMIA, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South, responded to this review, December 28, 2010
Dear Guest:

We were delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South. We are happy to hear that Jennifer and specially Omar took good care of your family member. We hope to see you again very soon and demonstrating our commitment to delivering outstanding service and value.

Sincerely,

Leila Aviles
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

We chose this hotel based on comments from this site.
Confirm most positive opinions.
The one thing that we found very disturbing and certainly more so for an airport hotel where guests may sleep at odd hours were the noisy conversations in the corridors from the hotel employees. They even shouted at each other there at 7,45 am.
The location of our room (105) may be the cause.
Another remarkable detail : the client's evaluation form can not be sealed nor deposited in a letterbox. it has to be handed over to the receptionist (with comments on quality of same inside). Big difference in friendliness reception between man in the afternoon and very helpful young girl in the morning !

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSMIA, Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South, responded to this review, December 17, 2010
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback. . I would like you to know that we regret the inconvenience you due to the loud staff . Please be assured that we have taken the necessary steps to ensure that similar situations do not occur in the future.

We value your business and hope you will give us a chance to regain your confidence in the near future and demonstrating our commitment to delivering outstanding service and value.

Sincerely,

Leila Aviles
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South

Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Miami Airport South Hotel
Springhill Suites Miami Airport South Hotel Miami
Springhill Suites Miami
Address: 6700 NW 7th Street, Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Miami
#27 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.