We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for pre-cruise stay, BUT..................” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6700 NW 7th Street, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #29 of 129 Hotels in Miami
NC
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great for pre-cruise stay, BUT..................”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

........do not expect excellent shuttle service with a smile.

We arrived on a Friday evening, received the free shuttle to the hotel from the airport. We arrived at the hotel, checked-in & inquired about taking the shuttle to a grocery store close by. It was around 9pm at this time. We were advised absolutely, the driver could take us 1 mile down the road to Publix. Great!! We were also advised the last shuttle leaves the hotel at 10:30 and it has to be back by 11pm because that is when it stops running. No problem.

We ran upstairs, dropped our bags, did a few things and made it back downstairs, outside waiting for the shuttle at 9:50pm. The shuttle arrived back at the hotel at 10:15pm. We asked the driver to run us down to Publix to pick up some water and sodas. This is where we got irritated.

The driver sighed, looked at us, then his watch and proceeded to inform us, yes, but he had to be off the clock by 10:45pm. I replied with, "And??. We were told the shuttle has to be back by 11pm and we had plenty of time since it's 1 mile down the road." He huffed and puffed and then felt the need to explain to us about his time, overtime and that he still had other things to do after he gets back to the hotel. I replied with "Sorry, but that's between you and the hotel, not us." It was a mess, but needless to say, he dropped us off at Publix, it took us 5 minutes to get our stuff, but we waited outside for 20 minutes for him to pick us up.

I'm not sure why he was trying to make his work hours our problem, because it certainly wasn't our problem.

The room was fine, very clean and spacious. The bathroom was clean for the most part, but had hair in the shower when we arrived, so that was gross.

Check-in was quick and easy. Breakfast was ok, nothing special.

I would like to say that we would stay here again, but due to the issues we had with the shuttle driver, I'm not sure that we would. I think next time, we'll stay closer to the port.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    264
    62
    19
    14
See reviews for
274
121
21
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Il
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 1 night here due to a 23 hour layover in Miami. It's 5 minutes from the airport. I called a couple days before arrival to ask about the shuttle and was told I just needed to call when I got my luggage and they'd send it. We arrived on Wednesday and had luggage in hand by 10:35am. I called and was told I just missed a shuttle and the next one would be there around 11:20. Since we didn't want to wait 45 minutes we just grabbed a taxi and paid the $15 fare. Upon arrival we were told our room wasn't ready since they had a full house the night before. We decided to buy a soft drink from the market and wait outside. They didn't charge for our drinks since we had to wait.
We asked about the shuttle for the morning and were told it starts at 5am. Our departing flight was at 7 so we thought that'd be fine. She told us to be in the lobby about 10 minutes to 5 to be sure to get a seat.
We got to the lobby at 4:45 and told the gentleman at the desk we were there for the shuttle. He said it leaves at 5. We got coffee (too early for free breakfast) and sat outside to wait. At approximately 5:01am, the gentleman came out and said the driver was running late but not to worry. He had called a taxi for us and the hotel would cover the fare. We made it to the airport in plenty of time.
We were very impressed with the hotel's proactiveness to provide a taxi to be sure we got to the airport on time.
As for the room, it was clean and comfortable...all that was needed for a good nights sleep.

Stayed November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSMIA, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Good Morning,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South.
We are happy to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant one. We hope you give us a chance to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Dianelys Mora
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First of all I booked this room because the airport shuttle and cruise shuttle was all supposed to be included. Well our flight arrived at 10:30 pm we waited for a shuttle till 11 then we called and were told they had stopped at 11. So we hailed a cab to the hotel get there to find out our room had a non functioning toilet so we waited another hourfor the repair man who did not show. When I went back to lobby told the front desk we were tired but were not staying in a room with 3 people and a non functioning toilet. Finally transferred us to another room. So bye the time we could get settled down for the night it was 1:30 am
In the morning we asked about the cruise port shuttle the manager said it was not on our booking # and it would be cheaper for us to take a cab. Veronica did not seem to even care that we had such a bad check in experience last night as well.
I travel a lot and have been to Miami many times. After this experience I will not return and do not recommend this hotel.
Not a great way to start our cruise vacation.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSMIA, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Good Morning,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South.

As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience. We have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel team to ensure that this was an isolated issue that is corrected moving forward.

Kind Regards,

Dianelys Mora
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed there for one night and really liked it. It's quite close from the airport and from Dolphin Mall if you want to do some shopping.
Te room is quite spacious and clean. They have parking lot. Breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSMIA, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South.
We are pleased know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully next time your travel needs bring you back to MIami you will choose to stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

Dianelys Mora
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We travelled with a family of five and spent two nights in the hotel before our cruise.

The hotel is basic, clean and spacious. The breakfast is ok. Location is good and there is enough space for the car. Nothing to complain.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSMIA, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Good Afternoon,

Thank you very much for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and the fact that you took the time to write this review. We pride ourselves in amazing customer service and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards,

Dianelys Mora
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've been staying here for over two months and have been very happy. From the front desk to the housekeepers, everyone really strives to make your stay very comfortable. And every morning, Susan or Alvinette have a wonderful breakfast spread set out! Always hot scrambled eggs, hot sausage, pastries, muffins, pound cake, fresh fruit, oatmeal with the fixings, juice, milk, yogurt, and really great coffee. Even cheese and salsa for the eggs! These ladies make sure everything is refilled and ready to go. The dining area is always sparkling clean and tidy. Just great!

Room Tip: Great location, close to the airport and in a good neighborhood. Many mid-scale restaurants nearby...
See more room tips
Green Features: Have a program for holding towels and sheets, etc.
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSMIA, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Good Afternoon,

Thank you very much for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and the fact that you took the time to write this review. We pride ourselves in amazing customer service and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards,

Dianelys Mora
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Stayed here while visiting Jackson Memorial Hospital. Location is hard to find. Parking is not free. You pay 15.00 per night. Room rates vary greatly if you call vs going on line. If you call Mariott 800# the rate are also different. There could be 3 or more prices for the same room depending where you select. Room is OK. Not too large. Towels are awful. Lack of blankets. Breakfast is adequate but not great. Its free. Overall if you are using the nearby Hospital facilities it is a good place top stay. The room rate differences is really a poor way to go. You don't know if you're paying the best price or not.

Room Tip: watch out for parking fee; get best price on line yourself.
See more room tips
Green Features: adequate nothing out of the ordinary; They can do more
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSMIA, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Good Afternoon,

I'm terribly sorry to hear about your inconvenience with parking. However, It seems that your stay was at the SpringHill Suites East Medical Center and not with us. Parking at the SpringHIll Suites Miami Airport South is free. Hopefully next time you're in Miami you'll choose to stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Dianelys Mora
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South

Address: 6700 NW 7th Street, Miami, FL 33126
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Miami
#24 Business Hotel in Miami
#31 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Miami Airport South Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.