We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, except for the breakfast expedition each morning” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6700 NW 7th Street, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #33 of 131 hotels in Miami
Poughkeepsie, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, except for the breakfast expedition each morning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Overall, nice hotel. Good location, nice room (with view on the lake), clean, nice pool. Breakfast was a challenge though. Breakfast area just too small for the amount of people staying there. Some items ran out well before breakfast end time. I do have to say though that breakfast issues are not always entirely to blame on the hotel, as some guests are stacking up huge amounts of food and either don't eat all of it or take it to their rooms. Also, young kids were experimenting with the waffles, so you were just standing there waiting until their games were over. The Springhill Suites chain typically offers a very good price on their nicely decorated and equipped rooms, so they have to save on something.........and that is the breakfast! So, what you could do is to just take the nice deal and pay $20-50 less than a comparable room in another hotel, forgo the free breakfast and grab a nice breakfast at Starbucks!

Room Tip: Get a room with lake view. Don't plan on scoring a good breakfast every morning inside the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    192
    48
    15
    13
See reviews for
189
94
18
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgeport, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Great place to stay for a night after arriving or leaving Miami near the airport. the rooms are very clean, large and nicely appointed with comfortable beds/sheets. I believe it was recently renovated. The free breakfast is great too with waffle maker, bagels, muffins, oatmeal, eggs, sausage, etc - great value. There is also a nice workout room with new equipment, towels and water.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSMIA, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South.

We hope to see you again very soon.


Sincerely,

Leila Aviles
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We used this hotel for a night before our cruise. It's a good hotel with clean rooms and the receptionist was nice enough to switch our rooms so I could get the lake view room. Breakfast is good with waffle maker, yogurt, eggs, sausages, fruits, cereal, bagels, bread etc. The only thing I wished was for a bigger bathroom with the sink inside the bathroom instead of outside.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011 via mobile

I've stayed many times, Parkin my car safely for free vs paying airport fees. Rates are inexpensive. Free wifi and great sevice from beginning of stay till end. There is no restaurant, bar or room service but they have a quick market for small sundries in house. Also, there's a grocery store nearbye and plenty of restaurants. Free Shuttle will even take u too an from. They also offer free airport shuttle.

The room itself is more like a mini suite. Open concept where bed blocked by half wall, other side of half wall is a trendy couch. across from that was the kitchen/work office station. The kitchen consisted of a wet bar sink, mini fridge and microwave. The entire room was decently clean and decorated in an up to date and contemporary.
Free breakfast is very well maintained and just enough for a morning traveller and definitely a hungry family.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We were in Key West, FL for a family wedding when our grandchild became ill. She was taken to Miami Childrens Hospital in the middle of the night. We searched for a hotel for hours that would be close to the hospital. No luck with everyone booked. The nurse manager and social worker at the hospital called SpringHill Suites and they found a room for us at a great rate. A big thank you to the staff at SpringHill. They went out of their way to help us during this ordeal.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Our gravely ill newborn grandson was flown to Miami Children's Hospital, an outstanding centre of excellence, on 9 November 2011, just as we flew in from UK to meet the little chap. While he was placed in the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit, my wife and I joined our daughter and her husband. The hospital recommended checking into Springhill Suites, where we ended up staying for 8 days. We were assigned two suites, one for each couple.

The staff were superb -- kind, considerate (they knew the circumstances that brought us), responsive, thoughtful and effective. Each day the front desk staff asked after our grandson.
Not knowing Miami, we had plenty of questions every day; these were answered comprehensively and helpfully.

We were delighted with the complimentary breakfast. The accommodation was clean, spacious, comfortable and well appointed.

As a place to base yourself for a visit to Miami, I emphatically recommend Springhill Suites. They are conveniently close to the airport, not far from downtown, provide what seemed very adequate parking (we had no vehicle but saw a reasonable number of unused spaces at all times) and can summon taxis from a nearby cabrank rapidly.

You need to know that there is no restaurant, so you need to cater for lunch and dinner either by eating out or using the microwave oven in each suite. There is also no bar. However a shopping mall is located conveniently within half a mile of the suites and we made use of local takeaway services a couple of times. (The front desk has a list of recommended food providers.)

Leila and Armando are but two of the names of staff I noted but frankly it is unfair to single out individuals -- all the staff who dealt with us (Reception, cleaner, breakfast attendants and management) were people Marriott can be very proud of.

Oh yes. And our grandson is alive, well and an absolute joy.

Room Tip: North side rooms face the airport -- fun for kids. South-facing accommodation looks onto a lake and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Stayed for a week.
Big plusses: free breakfast (crowded, but attentive staff replaced food that went empty), free parking, close to the airport and grocery. Free wifi was actually fast and didn't have hang-ups - BIG PLUS!
Other plusses: comfy bed, nice modern decor. Coffee maker in-room didn't work, was replaced within 5 minutes.
Slight negatives: Key cards stopped working twice in a week. Not that big a deal, but inconvenient. Would have been nice to open the window for room ventilation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South

Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Miami Airport South Hotel
Springhill Suites Miami Airport South Hotel Miami
Springhill Suites Miami
Address: 6700 NW 7th Street, Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Miami
#27 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.