We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific, unexpected find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Carajo

El Carajo
2465 S.W. 17th Avenue, Miami, FL 33145
305.856.2424
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #112 of 3,621 restaurants in Miami
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Terrific, unexpected find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 NEW

We flew into Miami airport around dinner time and looked for a place to eat. This location was recommended, so we went. WHAT A FANTASTIC MEAL!! It is a Tapas restaurant, on a corner near a highway, in the back of a BP GAS STATION AND CONVENIENCE STORE! It is actually very quaint and cozy, once you pass through the convenience portion. An absolutely huge selection of wines line several walls, and the rest is like an outdoor, plaza restaurant, only indoors. The quality of the food was not to be surpassed. We had the bacon wrapped stuffed dates - sweet dates and spanish chorizo - wrapped in smoked bacon and fried to perfection, house salad - mixed greens layered with tomatoes, cucumbers,pears, goat cheese & almonds and house dressing, shrimp in garlic olive oil sauce sprinkled with chili peppers & parsley, chorizo in speciality red wine reduction sauce, and roasted potatoes. Each thing was better and better. Great service, as well. I think we were the only English speaking people in the place, but was not a problem to be understood. We had wine, as well, and the price for all was very reasonable - not inexpensive, but not prohibitive, either. It was so unexpected with the gas pumps outside, but would recommend highly to all!! (I marked not good for large groups, only because the restaurant is not very large.)

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    49
    33
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just stopped by for a coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 NEW

Only can rate the coffee and the pastries. It is worth stopping there. We stopped here to buy some soda but after I smelled the coffee we changed our decision. Will come next time to test the tapas.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Local Secret”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

As most other reviews are stating this one is located in the strangest place. At a gas station of all places, but that's how creative minds make the most of every space in Miami. Don't worry because once inside you will lose yourself in the Spanish themed interior and then be totally wowed by the menu and how great everything tastes.
Going here you need to commit to paying for great food. If you are into pulling up to fancy restaurants and handing your keys to a valet parker then this is not the place for you.
If you are into great food and good wine selection then this is a great spot.
Now I have to mention the details about the wines. They are all priced around 10% to 15% less than retail. Works great if you walk in, buy it and take it home. If you decide to open a bottle there with your meal then be ready to pay a $10 corking fee.
I also noticed that they still add the gratuity to your bill at 18% automatically. First of all I believe there was a law passed which prohibits this, but I don't know if it applies to all restaurants. Then again this is a gas station.
Sad because the service was great and I normally tip at 20%, so when they do this I leave it alone.
All in all. Great place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun....Different....Good Food....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Fun....Different.....Good Food.....lot's of tapas and wine selection in a very unusual place. El Carajo is a Spanish Restaurant extremely unique.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unusual location, great fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

It took me years to warm up to the idea to eat at El Carajo. For years I used to fill up my tank at the gas station where this restaurant is located and never ventured inside the restaurant. However as the lines became progressively longer and the wine selection progressively greater I gave it a shot. It became one of my favorite tapas bar in Miami and my first recommendation for tourist when they want something good and unusual. The wine selection is great, so is the cheese tray and many tapas selections. The place is small so make reservations! Yes is noisy, yes is crowded, yes it has no view, but after a long day or when you are tired of the same old restaurant give El Carajo a go. You will leave happy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Carajo also viewed

 

Been to El Carajo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Carajo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.