We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miami's best kept secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Carajo

El Carajo
2465 S.W. 17th Avenue, Miami, FL 33145
305.856.2424
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 3,610 restaurants in Miami
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Marshall, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Miami's best kept secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stopped for gas and found this jewel on the inside, had dinner on our last night in Miami and was not disappointed, food and atmosphere was outstanding!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    48
    30
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Yes, it really is inside the gas station”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

El Carajo (The Crow's Nest) serves wonderful tapas and offers an extraordinarily fine selection of wines. To get there, however, you really do have to go into the gas station. As you make your way through the Coconut Grove section of Miami, just a block or so off U.S. Route 1, you arrive at what looks like a perfectly ordinary gas station, with pumps and parking spaces and a convenience store. You will think that this fine and widely-praised Miami restaurant you've heard about must be behind the gas station, or around from the gas station, or somewhere other than the gas station. But disregard those little voices of doubt in your mind. Go ahead and park in one of the parking spaces for the gas station. Walk into the gas station as if all you wanted was to buy a quart of oil, or a package of Slim Jims, or a Dr. Pepper. And when you do so, you will find in the back of the restaurant -- beyond the normal appurtenances of a gas-station convenience store -- an amazing array of wines, and a bakery whose shelves fairly groan with rich and tempting dessert items, and beyond that El Carajo, the great tapas restaurant you've been looking for.

The scale of the restaurant is intimate -- just a few tables. The look is Castilian brick-and-sandstone (fabricated, admittedly, but tastefully so), and the wait staff are unfailingly prompt and courteous. The selection of wines-by-the-glass is extraordinary; my wife thoroughly enjoyed her sangria, and I had a delightful Argentine malbec. The tapas that our party enjoyed included empanada de langosta (mini-pie stuffed with lobster), sardinas de santurce (grilled sardines), pulpo a la gallega (Galician octopus -- reminded us of being in Santiago de Compostela), and chorizo al vino (sausage in wine sauce). That list should give you a good sense of the variety of tapas, and the delightful dining experience, available to you at El Carajo. All you need to do is think counterintuitively, park at the gas station, and walk into the gas station.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Amazing Tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This restaurant is a real find...when you find it. It is in the gas station and not well marked. The food is incredible with a wine list to match. There is something for everyone on the menu.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, NH
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Yes, it is in the building that previously housed gas station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Excellent service and food. We had the chorizo, fried chickpeas and meat platter. The skirt steak was excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lousiville, KY
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Delicious Food in a BP Station”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My wife and had lunch at El Carajo after visiting Vizcaya. First, the tapas were delicious. The place is very nice and the people were friendly and the service was great! Second, finding it was a little difficult. The GPS said we passed it. We returned and didn't see it. I called and the person who answered said we are in the BP. They are and they also have what looks like a great wine shop. Try it! You will like it. It may also be a good place to get gas.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Carajo also viewed

 

Been to El Carajo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Carajo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.